Record Breaking Bid for NEW Tampines DBSS 2

Ivan_06

its funny how people relate people staying in tamp as rich. then what about those in D9, 10, 11,12?

Rich sillyporean stay in new town like Tampines, Woodland, Yishun, Jurong West, ...

Richer sillyporean stay in new town like Bishan, Toa Payoh, Ang Mo Kio,....

Richest sillyporean stay in D9, D10, D11 and new town like Queentown, 'Pinnacle'.... [lipsrsealed]

:D[laugh]

I think you need to understand the sg govt of today work like any other pte co. or inc. where the only measureable are the money that is rolling in.

Also, by not choosing the higher bid but the "best" bid. There will bound to be be thousand and one question

why that particular bidders is choosen and based on what criteria. I wonder which civil servant will want to put his head on the copping board to make the decision. I knowing coming from the western culture people tend to argue and agree or disagree unfortunately this is not so in the case of this country

Obviously the easy way out is to take the higher bidder which serve dual purpose and enjoy their life.

No one will question why that bidder is selected and at the same time max. the revenue collected.

I understand only too well. My reply is of course - why so afraid of questions?

Look I understand fully, max price is a very simple, straightforward and transparent way of making the decision, and not neccessarily wrong as it does maximise the value of the land that SG citizens receive (i.e it is sg land selling so duty of govt is to max price for sg citizens)

Am just trying to suggest that max price not the only way, perhaps "total benefit" may be higher if a more holistic approach were taken, and the bid quality was evaluated along with price (or perhaps both? using a double blind system)

There is nothing inherently wrong with a subjective decision, of course you won't be right all the time, but also if you get it wrong is not the end of the world...its something that I see much more in this part of the world where people are more afraid of being wrong than I remember from my early working life (this of course is more than just subjective, it is coloured by poor memories), which is part of the reason for my signature

...... But as long as have govt controlling market this way, people will have vested interest to cheat system, cannot get around that.

This one I agree, sillyporean are born to beat (not cheat) the system [rolleyes]

Jurong got more than 3 <_<

just JW ext alone -> 1 sheng siong, 1 medical center, 1 stadium, 1 safra, 2 small shopping malls, 1 big shopping mall, 1 library...

many coffeeshops, at least 2x 24/7 coffeeshop... 2 mrt stns... and many more...

these 'ulu' town suddenly become damn crowded... <_< ergg.......

FYI: my sis sold off her 5 rm flat @JW ext > 450k ... price getting ridiculous and there are more than 1 bidders... i was like huh!!! so exp also want!!!

Edited by Itsec

i think alot of people took bank loans.. if oversupply... prices drop then people will have trouble paying their loans because the valuation of their flat is different then from at time of loan....

it is a very dangerous game

but most borrow from HDB, so they dont have to exercise clawback on negative equity wat... wat dangerous.. the danger is the garmen policy itself.. the public is at its mercy, not the economy

if wat u say is wat garmen worry of, then its complete & utter manipulation of valuations such that it gives the public false hope of ever increasing home equity & false sense of cashflow security... it is like forever support value.. in the stock market, this is known as market manipulation

the garmen then doesnt want to be caught in a rock n tight spot, so just keep prices higher & higher... current policy makers cant foresee beyond a few years. in future if anything happens due to this, not his/her taiji anymore rite...

Edited by Duckduck

Queentown, is it at New Zealand? [confused]

Yep, and please dun talk about what FT did to the price of property there...it is totally atrocious, they drove the price up completely out of the reach of locals.

It is also super expensive to live there because of transport costs - everything must be trucked in from far far away, and the road is really bad (comparatively) for trucks....

just JW ext alone -> 1 sheng siong, 1 medical center, 1 stadium, 1 safra, 2 small shopping malls, 1 big shopping mall, 1 library...

many coffeeshops, at least 2x 24/7 coffeeshop... 2 mrt stns... and many more...

these 'ulu' town suddenly become damn crowded... <_< ergg.......

FYI: my sis sold off her 5 rm flat @JW ext > 450k ... price getting ridiculous and there are more than 1 bidders... i was like huh!!! so exp also want!!!

jurong so little 24/7 coffeeshops? [laugh]

i tot bedok/joo chiat... even worse... ahhaaa

i had been living in JW ext more than 20 yrs... it used to be so 'peaceful'... :)

He got the number wrong liao. in boon lay (part of JW) already got 2 24 hours liao.

but most of the Kopi tiam open till 3am close and open at 5am [hur]

i had been living in JW ext more than 20 yrs... it used to be so 'peaceful'... :)

it is still peaceful lah. [laugh]

He got the number wrong liao. in boon lay (part of JW) already got 2 24 hours liao.

So little ah [:p]

but most borrow from HDB, so they dont have to exercise clawback on negative equity wat... wat dangerous.. the danger is the garmen policy itself.. the public is at its mercy, not the economy

those that borrow from HDB is if they can have the grant....

if not.. i think many are taking from the bank.. especially for resale flats...

then you looking at the wrong places..... close 1 eye.. every 5mins.. you will reach i 24/7 coffeeshop.... wanna bet? [:p]

ehhee... i only know 1 @ 905 and 1 @651... ahhaaa

hmm... boon lay considered part of JW ??? [;)]

those that borrow from HDB is if they can have the grant....

if not.. i think many are taking from the bank.. especially for resale flats...

DBS is garmen investment linked, ocbc & uob tightly monitored by MAS, wat is not really garmen u tell me? if market drops & say uob/ocbc exercise clawback, all the hdb owners will go crying & complaining to minister say economy bad etc etc... if ministar dun help, next erection how? its all linked la

Edited by Duckduck

So little ah [:p]

U damn evil la... but.... hahaha... wad we have on our side easily 2 or 3 times more. [:p]