And so they own the road..

Green_carnation

Why is it that I am not surprised with this group of road users?

From my observation in life.....especially young kids of 3-4 year old.....if they think they are the chosen ones.....that everyone owes them a living.....that them have a superior guardian to protect them....they tend to be very overly confident of their actions.

Seems like i always like to post my encounter on the roads..

Days back, i came to a stop at a traffic light pedestrian crossing.. a group of malay teens ranging from about 14-18 were crossing the road when green man.. most carrying guitar cases.. talked joked laughed.. About 6 of them crossed, and left with 3 still crossing. The green man was blinking and the seconds counting down from 3s..

They stopped and continued laughing playing tickling one another.. This time the red man came on, and green light for me to proceed.. The cars in lane 2 and 3 drove on.. These kids still laugh and fooled around.. I sensed probably they were too engrossed in joking with one another and didnt realise they should quickly complete the crossing.. I tapped on my horn. Mind you, it's just a tap, and came a short honk.

Then the 3 completely stopped, either shocked or unhappy. One turned to stare at me, showed gestures like 'what u want?'. The other two sensing his arrogance, showed support and stood beside him facing me.. like waiting to create a scene. I pointed at the red man.. They not happy.. shouted and cursed.. and made their way to the island. This time the others who had crossed the road walked back to them.. trying to show their unity.. All like ready to come overturn my car..

I ignored and proceeded.. then the whole gang started shouting louder than earlier.. raising their arms.. and showing whatever gestures they could think of..

Sigh, why should they behave like that? Just cos with a big group they feel they can just act so aggressively and anticipating some arguments or fights? I see these are the kinda pp who dun think of their future and will in any time whack pp and create all sorts of troubles..

aiya bro

it's like that, this mad rock thing since my school days some 30 years ago till now never change. alone cannot do anything, 2 they will play chess, 3 they start to play guitar, 4 will start to make noise all night long. when alot they will be very aggressive, do things without thinking, but when 1 of them fall, all will run for their life like a chicken. it was like that, it is like that, and it will always be like that. [:p]

how I know, because school days we always fight with them, when we are alone, and they 1 gang they will come with their guitar, drum stick and belts swing in the air. but 5 of us can out perform 8-9 of them, because we always do 5 to 1, 1 down and the rest suddenly all gone. Army time same same [laugh]

relax lor, don't take it too hard, you will feel better. cheers!

haha what i meant is that their behavior is similar to those bangala/china worker who takes their time in crossing the road like they own it...

i assume u are on lane 1... i wun have let them across and hope they are still laughing/tickling each other and didnt notice the cement mixer coming towards them on lane 2/3 [:p]

hahhahaha.. i had to let them pass.. yeah i was in lane 1, they stopped in front of me.. Imagine they were run down flat by the cement mixer.. wonder what the rest of the group will do?

no worries sir. :D

i just happen to have a partner who's a social worker thats all. heard too many stories and tales that its really hard to pin a single, cause. but i suppose thats another story for another day.

I too had worked with many social workers in my younger days as a volunteer. I knew what all these encompasses and it entails a whole lot of complications that can bewilder one's mind and drain your energies, physical and emotional. And it is a thankless task.

aiya bro

it's like that, this mad rock thing since my school days some 30 years ago till now never change. alone cannot do anything, 2 they will play chess, 3 they start to play guitar, 4 will start to make noise all night long. when alot they will be very aggressive, do things without thinking, but when 1 of them fall, all will run for their life like a chicken. it was like that, it is like that, and it will always be like that. [:p]

how I know, because school days we always fight with them, when we are alone, and they 1 gang they will come with their guitar, drum stick and belts swing in the air. but 5 of us can out perform 8-9 of them, because we always do 5 to 1, 1 down and the rest suddenly all gone. Army time same same [laugh]

yo bro...in my school diff ley....its the ah bengs that will do these shits.....guess im in a school full of bengs.....one whole gang come dwn for gangfight n one shout CiD...all will run gone in 60secs...haha those were the days....

I don't think it is nice to wish fatality to anyone - no matter how bad the other person is! They could be the sole breadwinner for the family. On a slightly different note was so sad to see a motorcyclist dead on the road in West Coast Highway towards Jurong side on Saturday evening.

While i agree with you to a certain extend, I feel that some pp hv to be well aware of what they are doing.. if things like hell riding and eventually causing fatalities, no one are to be blamed except themselves. If they are the breadwinners, i guess they may be mature enough to think what's not to be done..

Har har. . . brudder, you very patient liao lor. I had a field day last Sat . . . . me bad!

First was a couple of women, crossed the 2 lane road without even checking for traffic, I had to look out for them instead!

Took their own sweet time to cross, blabbing away gesturing left right up down pulling their shopping trolley behind them.

One looked up at me when she heard my car inching forward, I was just being patient but they took me for granted and contnued at a snail's pace, still on the road and totally boh charp. Okay, here goes . . . "POOORHHH!!!" 3 sec honk and they almost jumped right out of their skin . . . LMAO!! They turned round and gestured "What is this? What??" I gave them the thumbs up sign.

2nd incident that very same day, Ah Tiong cycling on the pavement talking on his h/p (cycling with one hand!) . . . I was going to turn at the traffic junction when I saw him speed up about to chiong although already red man . . . "POOOORHH!!" he e-brake and lost his balance, fell on the pavement and dropped his h/p. Wah lao . . . drama leh you. heh heh hee . . . serve you right a***hole!

bang them lah... u scared of the repercussions ah? get angry then complain non stop.... eventually wat happens? u still get on with ur life...

so y bother? go find out abt the 90/10 principle. JUST in case u dun bother, click this link :

oh my oh my...............................I love the video.

thanks for sharing, very very good indeed.

just reminds me of what happen yesterday, was at the causeway in the morning coming back, there was this blue suzuki cutting from 1 lane to the other lane from the malaysia custom after chopping passport, trying very hard to advance his position when all lanes were jam. 1st time he cut in, I wave them through, giving way to him, than he cut to the right lane and than try to come back again, this time I just move forward, he try again and cut right infornt of me and showed me his middle finger, as if not enough, he open his door and pui on the floor to show me his unhappiness.

what did I do? I laugh in my car! [laugh]

just move on but try to keep to his side after he change lane again. until we clear the bottle neck, he just went to join the motorcycle lane at least 20-30 cars away, I took the right side, empty and me zoom zoom away, when I pass him, I just wave bye bye to him and drive on [wave]

come to think of it, I still laughing as I type this. [laugh]

and yesterdays was a good day to me!

its the herding mentality. being able to hide behind group dynamics, regardless of race.

true about the upbringing though, you really cannot blame these products of whatever circumstance.

we should instead FEEL BLESSED that by NO MERIT OF OURS WHATSOEVER that we were brought into this world with decent enough upbringing to not end up like them.

why decent enough? cos if it were any more decent, some of us keyboard jockeys wouldn't being wishing fatalities upon others behind their screens. [crazy]

hahahaa yeah i indeed feel blessed i dun end up like that.. hmm relax bro abt the cursing.. as much as we talk abt cursing, i m sure we didnt really mean it that they die.. it's just that at times some behaviours just get on the nerves of pp.. After all all are human with emotions.. just some ways of expressing anger and frustration..

Edited by Green_carnation

Seems like i always like to post my encounter on the roads..

Days back, i came to a stop at a traffic light pedestrian crossing.. a group of malay teens ranging from about 14-18 were crossing the road when green man.. most carrying guitar cases.. talked joked laughed.. About 6 of them crossed, and left with 3 still crossing. The green man was blinking and the seconds counting down from 3s..

They stopped and continued laughing playing tickling one another.. This time the red man came on, and green light for me to proceed.. The cars in lane 2 and 3 drove on.. These kids still laugh and fooled around.. I sensed probably they were too engrossed in joking with one another and didnt realise they should quickly complete the crossing.. I tapped on my horn. Mind you, it's just a tap, and came a short honk.

Then the 3 completely stopped, either shocked or unhappy. One turned to stare at me, showed gestures like 'what u want?'. The other two sensing his arrogance, showed support and stood beside him facing me.. like waiting to create a scene. I pointed at the red man.. They not happy.. shouted and cursed.. and made their way to the island. This time the others who had crossed the road walked back to them.. trying to show their unity.. All like ready to come overturn my car..

I ignored and proceeded.. then the whole gang started shouting louder than earlier.. raising their arms.. and showing whatever gestures they could think of..

Sigh, why should they behave like that? Just cos with a big group they feel they can just act so aggressively and anticipating some arguments or fights? I see these are the kinda pp who dun think of their future and will in any time whack pp and create all sorts of troubles..

After all these years...its still call the Herd Mentality...never changed

yo johnson(if thats ur name if i can recall),

relax la bro.....u shud see the bugis area traffic lights....even its red man ppl there still crossing w/o care if theres car coming towards them.....

if i were u i wud juz move abit front roaring the engine n brake pretending to hit them....they sure move aside......i ever did this to a grp of polytechnics boys....haha..u shud see their shocked face...totally priceless :)

good memory nasir!

i did not wanna inch forward and roar the engine.. wat if i lose control.. instead of stepping on the brake i hit on the accelerator.. i dun wanna be involved in such situation..

We can't judge them by the cover by a mere minute or two incident.

However, if they present themselves, or any other human being for that matter poses, a potential danger hazard or liability toward you or your property, we should know the best recourse to take to prevent further injury to ourselves or damage to our property. [:p]

Agree.. that's why i m cool abt it.. hurhurhur...

aiya bro

thanks bro.. and yeah this 'culture' has been around for as long as i can remember.. i have schoolmates with such 'culture'.. those who realised what's not right early are now happy men as husbands and fathers.. sadly some end up in the wrong side of law..

yo bro...in my school diff ley....its the ah bengs that will do these shits.....guess im in a school full of bengs.....one whole gang come dwn for gangfight n one shout CiD...all will run gone in 60secs...haha those were the days....

your school chinese school? or all boys school?

in fact every school, if it is a mix school will usually have all the mad rocks gang, the ah beng numbers gangs and the good good boys, it depends on who you mix with lah, I happen to mix with all, so I know lor. Was the vice head prefect, study in express class, but smoke with gang in the toilet during breaks.............. [cool] really 无间道!

anyway, even old ah beng also scare of CID one, talking about those young ah beng, no need to see, hear only leg soft liao! LOL............................

anyway, my school worst, at least 4-5 flags in the school, everyday got show to see 1. some time got girls 1 to 1 some more. so fun!