Joseph22 Turbocharged August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 On 8/3/2010 at 7:35 AM, Beehive3783 said: Many accidents happened downslope in the past because of the speed camera.. Idiots jam brake to slow down, other people can't brake in time and bang into them. I clearly remember the speed camera warning signs on the bridge and they removed it a few years back. Never seen those camera warning signs since KPE opened. And I clearly remember seeing the big black round lens facing AYE direction. Facing Changi direction is only the main grey metal frame of the speed cam itself NVM lah.. no point discussing this one. i check then we can be more sure, its better to be safe than sorry. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Endure201 Clutched August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 Agreed with bro beehive....removed few years liao, had checked many times when i passed by..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 On 8/3/2010 at 7:39 AM, Joseph22 said: NVM lah.. no point discussing this one. i check then we can be more sure, its better to be safe than sorry. I think you are the only one who is not sure. I am sure of what I see, so I am safe. Are you one of those who jam brake just before the camera just because you are not sure that the camera is no longer pointing towards Changi even though the speed camera warning signs have been removed from Sheares Bridge? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 On 8/3/2010 at 7:39 AM, Joseph22 said: NVM lah.. no point discussing this one. i check then we can be more sure, its better to be safe than sorry. Confirm there is no cam for those travel towards the airport. It was removed almost 2 years ago...together with the speed cam warning signs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 (edited) On 8/3/2010 at 7:44 AM, Beehive3783 said: I think you are the only one who is not sure. I am sure of what I see, so I am safe. Are you one of those who jam brake just before the camera just because you are not sure that the camera is no longer pointing towards Changi even though the speed camera warning signs have been removed from Sheares Bridge? no i dont jam brake. i maintance my car speed through out the down slop. hack i am one of those who like to accelerate when turning at lane 1 around Sheare bridge. whike keeping lane (still dont understand how anyone can drive out of lane) yeah i think i am the one not sure, cause i still can see the cam hole leh plus got see flash before. however, i do remember one saying, our eyes can decieve us too. Edited August 3, 2010 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 On 8/3/2010 at 7:49 AM, Joseph22 said: no i dont jam brake. i maintance my car speed through out the down slop. hack i am one of those who like to accelerate when turning at lane 1 around Sheare bridge. whike keeping lane (still dont understand how anyone can drive out of lane) yeah i think i am the one not sure, cause i still can see the cam hole leh plus got see flash before. however, i do remember one saying, our eyes can decieve us too. Yes, your eyes are deceiving you.. Mine are still working fine.. Go and check the place again.. There is still a hole in the camera frame, but that hole is not the lens itself. It's left over when they removed the actual lens from the frame pointing towards Changi bound direction. As to why people drive out of lane when they are on lane 1 where there is a concrete 1M high divider, I can only say they are not confident of their car's dimensions and hence are lousy drivers. This has nothing to do with the performance of the car itself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 On 8/3/2010 at 7:57 AM, Beehive3783 said: Yes, your eyes are deceiving you.. Mine are still working fine.. Go and check the place again.. There is still a hole in the camera frame, but that hole is not the lens itself. It's left over when they removed the actual lens from the frame pointing towards Changi bound direction. As to why people drive out of lane when they are on lane 1 where there is a concrete 1M high divider, I can only say they are not confident of their car's dimensions and hence are lousy drivers. This has nothing to do with the performance of the car itself yeah i agree. ever saw one Copen going out of lane before. the only time i drove out of lane is when i am tired. and the moment i notice it, i shift to lane 2 and drive slowly liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrlancergtx 5th Gear August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 I think the real fun will start when the YOG vehicles start plying on this stretch... all vehicles are expected to give way and more and more traffic jam especially at the sheares bridge area...oh yeah oh yeah...bring it on!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 On 8/3/2010 at 8:03 AM, Mrlancergtx said: I think the real fun will start when the YOG vehicles start plying on this stretch... all vehicles are expected to give way and more and more traffic jam especially at the sheares bridge area...oh yeah oh yeah...bring it on!!! Sheare bridge have 5 lane right? YOG vehicles take up 2nd lane from the left. technically shouldn't affect land 1 and 2. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericongy 3rd Gear August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 On 8/3/2010 at 7:35 AM, Beehive3783 said: Many accidents happened downslope in the past because of the speed camera.. Idiots jam brake to slow down, other people can't brake in time and bang into them. I clearly remember the speed camera warning signs on the bridge and they removed it a few years back. Never seen those camera warning signs since KPE opened. And I clearly remember seeing the big black round lens facing AYE direction. Facing Changi direction is only the main grey metal frame of the speed cam itself camera remove or not i really not sure leh, but i everyday use ecp to kpe, still jam up to the supposed camera area.. knn like red like camera like tat, everyone seems to 'stop' on the 'line'.. so far down the slope i only saw 1 accident this year, on the left lane going into kpe ... juz right infront of me, lexus bang BMW, heng i brake in time... i tink now the accident prone area r the bends before the ERP gantry towards changi... 1 week at least 3 accidents during evening peak, usually not serious, but they cause me to pay erp to jam.... den last week go home at 12am n saw a jia lat one, i tink the car lost control and crash into n drag along the center divider before it sway out n bang a small bus... the car 'chui chui' liao, the bus i can only see the left side, everything still intact, right side i cannot see, but from the look of the car, i tink quite jia lat also... to be honest, when there is not many cars, i also tend to step on the accelerator when negotiating those bends... its quite fun, hope i not next victim... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 On 8/3/2010 at 8:06 AM, Ericongy said: camera remove or not i really not sure leh, but i everyday use ecp to kpe, still jam up to the supposed camera area.. knn like red like camera like tat, everyone seems to 'stop' on the 'line'.. so far down the slope i only saw 1 accident this year, on the left lane going into kpe ... juz right infront of me, lexus bang BMW, heng i brake in time... i tink now the accident prone area r the bends before the ERP gantry towards changi... 1 week at least 3 accidents during evening peak, usually not serious, but they cause me to pay erp to jam.... den last week go home at 12am n saw a jia lat one, i tink the car lost control and crash into n drag along the center divider before it sway out n bang a small bus... the car 'chui chui' liao, the bus i can only see the left side, everything still intact, right side i cannot see, but from the look of the car, i tink quite jia lat also... to be honest, when there is not many cars, i also tend to step on the accelerator when negotiating those bends... its quite fun, hope i not next victim... Confirm the camera is no longer pointing towards Changi direction. I suppose there are still plenty of ppl who think the camera is still facing Changi direction. The camera towards AYE is still active though so be careful. Apart from accidents, I have seen many many near misses, the cars behind barely managing to brake in time. I myself encountered a near miss incident as well. Since then I told myself to stay away from lane 1 when descending the bridge cos some idiot will confirm jam brake at the base of the bridge and cause a chain reaction behind. Whether an accident happens from there is entirely up to luck and brakes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericongy 3rd Gear August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 On 8/3/2010 at 8:11 AM, Beehive3783 said: Confirm the camera is no longer pointing towards Changi direction. I suppose there are still plenty of ppl who think the camera is still facing Changi direction. The camera towards AYE is still active though so be careful. Apart from accidents, I have seen many many near misses, the cars behind barely managing to brake in time. I myself encountered a near miss incident as well. Since then I told myself to stay away from lane 1 when descending the bridge cos some idiot will confirm jam brake at the base of the bridge and cause a chain reaction behind. Whether an accident happens from there is entirely up to luck and brakes. ok noted what r they thinking when they put a camera on a downslope??? maybe all the car workshop have a say in where to put a speed camera to create accidents.. but the speed limit is still 70kph after the slope rite?? i remember a 70kpm road sign juz before the camera. i tink it should be remove it and increase the speed limit to at least 80kpm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 On 8/3/2010 at 8:30 AM, Ericongy said: ok noted what r they thinking when they put a camera on a downslope??? maybe all the car workshop have a say in where to put a speed camera to create accidents.. but the speed limit is still 70kph after the slope rite?? i remember a 70kpm road sign juz before the camera. i tink it should be remove it and increase the speed limit to at least 80kpm. funny thing is after the camera (when it was still there) the speed limit is 90 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whisper_2000 Clutched August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 On 8/2/2010 at 5:33 AM, Beehive3783 said: ya lor.. and one more thing.. the speed camera faces up the bridge, towards AYE and not towards Changi. Don't be a chao ah kua and jam brake to 80kph when descending the bridge!!! Isn't the camera 2 way? I tot expressway camera all 2 way? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 On 8/3/2010 at 8:30 AM, Ericongy said: ok noted what r they thinking when they put a camera on a downslope??? maybe all the car workshop have a say in where to put a speed camera to create accidents.. but the speed limit is still 70kph after the slope rite?? i remember a 70kpm road sign juz before the camera. i tink it should be remove it and increase the speed limit to at least 80kpm. yes, it's 70.. my mistake in my very first post in this thread when i stated the speed limit was 80.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 On 8/3/2010 at 8:45 AM, Whisper_2000 said: Isn't the camera 2 way? I tot expressway camera all 2 way? Read the whole thread first then ask questions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 These "scary" driver should just fix rollers like those on a tamiya car on both front and back bumpers... so they can glide their cars along the high concrete barrier with no fear... Just recently on Lornie Rd one such driver overtake me at high speed on the 1st lane and quickly cut into my lane after overtaking... if so scare y overtake so fast on 1st lane... can just do it on 3rd lane.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 anyone knows this kuku? ask him to visit MCF often! =================================== The Straits Times www.straitstimes.com ST Forum Home > ST Forum > Online Story Aug 14, 2010 Anti-speeding camera puzzle THE Traffic Police have installed numerous speed cameras across the island. I refer to the one on the East Coast Parkway, near the Benjamin Sheares Bridge. At the bottom of the bridge (in the downward ramp) towards the direction of Changi Airport, the speed limit is 70kmh. Yet vehicles always exceed the limit, some going as fast as 90kmh to 100kmh. This is because they notice that the speed camera focuses on one direction, that of the opposite direction (from Changi Airport). So many believe it is safe to speed on this side of the expressway. I am curious why this is so when there are other cameras that are trained on both directions of other expressways, thus forcing motorists to conform to the authorised speed limit. Tay Soo Wan ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...