Cklasse 1st Gear August 2, 2010 Share August 2, 2010 If that's what you want to do with a computer, then the Sony certainly fits your bill, the iPad won't. I am not looking at doing words and excel or photoshop, I do these on my 27" iMac. What I am looking for is a good enough screen size computer that I can just pick up, turn on and surf the net immediately, in the toilet, on the bed, in Starbucks while waiting to pick up my wife. Sometimes maybe show some photos to friends. Who knows, I may start to read books in future. In essence, it's a piece of "metal and glass" for play, not work. And most important, it doesn't runs on Windows and it sync properly and integrate nicely without giving me any headache. So for my application, the iPad fits my bill. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged August 2, 2010 Share August 2, 2010 On 8/2/2010 at 1:12 PM, Booboon said: no need pm lah. Google dealextreme. Got my 7" tablet with android 1.6, less than sgd150. Free shipping to sg. Looks interesting...especially at this price. Care to share your experience with this gadget? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dragos 1st Gear August 2, 2010 Share August 2, 2010 i still comtemplating...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 2, 2010 Share August 2, 2010 i saw youtube apad like buay pai leh..lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched August 2, 2010 Share August 2, 2010 On 8/2/2010 at 9:00 AM, Cklasse said: It is the integration of hardware and software among Apple products that makes it attractive and fuss free to use. Yes yes yes. Since this is a car forum. Identify this part. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 On 8/2/2010 at 2:12 PM, Albeniz said: Looks interesting...especially at this price. Care to share your experience with this gadget? item have not reach me yet. Will review once I got it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MadDog70 2nd Gear August 30, 2010 Author Share August 30, 2010 Saw from Apple forum that iPad has many WiFi issues, like the unit cannot remember the password, so whenever you using WiFi the unit will ask for password. Do you guys have this problem in this country? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 30, 2010 Share August 30, 2010 On 8/30/2010 at 10:26 AM, MadDog70 said: Saw from Apple forum that iPad has many WiFi issues, like the unit cannot remember the password, so whenever you using WiFi the unit will ask for password. Do you guys have this problem in this country? for home or wirelessSG? for home and private network, after I enter the SSID and password for the first time, it will be auto sign in. but wireless SG still have problem for remembering he password unlike iPhone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GadgetFan Neutral Newbie November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 Would you rent an iPad? If you are tempted to get an iPad but not 100% convinced yet, would you rent one to try it out first? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 Are Ipads available for rent? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
H0ndakid Neutral Newbie November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 compare iPad and the Samsung galaxy, which one better? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutsack Clutched November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 I read a lot. My wifi-only iPad is perfect. It's pretty mobile without needing a 3G plan cos I tether it to my iphone which already comes with a data plan. It's definitely good if u read a lot and u have lotsa PDFs and ebooks. I have a print subscription to The Economist for instance. And i can read it on my ipad using the economist app. Im waiting for Time to update their ipad app so i can read my time subscriptions on my ipad too. On 8/1/2010 at 7:22 AM, MadDog70 said: Very eager to get a iPad when it first launced in US, but when it arrives in Singapore and I have a test run on the demo set, I found it is EXACTLY the same as a iPhone except no phone feature and screen is much bigger. Not thinking of getting it after that. Then I happen to see a little girl learning ABC, 123 from the iPad, it looks educational which I would like my child to get a hands-on too. It looks like it's good for all the kids applications. Now, there is this WiFi and WiFi+3G configurations that is bothering me. Which one should I get? I remember seeing the carriers selling Micro SIM card for no-contract plan for 3G version. This plan has a life of 1 month with a capacity. Does it mean I can only use this plan for 1 month as long as I din finish the capacity? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asd78 Clutched November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 ipad or tab better for presentation? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 What is the purpose to jailbreak the pad? I read that one is to run cydia or something to access those apps not available on the market. Is that all? Can those familiar kindly advise. Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...