Poll  

175 members have voted

1. 1. % of net income saved monthly

• <10%
    • 10 - 20%
    • 21 - 30%
    • 31 - 40%
    • >40%

Was having a discussion with collegues in the office and i'm quite amazed to see that people who seems to have not much family committments saving less than 20% of their take home pay!

For the purpose of this poll, the percentage of one's income saved is inclusive of money used to invest (securities, units trusts etc.) [thumbsup]

Was having a discussion with collegues in the office and i'm quite amazed to see that people who seems to have not much family committments saving less than 20% of their take home pay!

For the purpose of this poll, the percentage of one's income saved is inclusive of money used to invest (securities, units trusts etc.) [thumbsup]

What about monies paid for housing loans?

Nope, excluded unless u r talking about a 2nd property for the sole purpose of investments.

Wow for those saving more than 40%...how much you gotta earn in order to be able to save that much? [dizzy]

Half of it is how much they're earning. The other half is how much they're not spending.

Young and swinging singles are living for the moment, so whatever income they have is spend, spend and spent.

not a big surprise at all. sgp median income is $3000. but see so many ppl buying 'branded' goods. got hear entry-level staff brag abt buying expensive watch. but i still like my $60 casio illuminator. got blue-ish green light one ok?

Mine is a kenneth cole. Free. From bank. Some deal about saving so much money in their account.

Risk free, no strings attach, so...........

my end of month income not fix...

but usually i spend 10-20% makan n insurance as avarage till now

other than that just pump into saving

Singapore nothing to spend much beside food..keke

depends on lifestyle also. if concentrate only on needs and not wants, then 40% is possible.

but then life will be a little dull, agree?

Mine is a kenneth cole. Free. From bank. Some deal about saving so much money in their account.

Risk free, no strings attach, so...........

wah sei...KC. now i feel so paiseh. maybe dis weekend i splurge on a Citizen watch.

hmm...i buy a bigger stonehenge.....i use sun to tell time wat [laugh] [laugh]

When I was saving up for my marriage, easily can sav 60% of my salary.. now border around 30-40%..

hmm...i buy a bigger stonehenge.....i use sun to tell time wat [laugh] [laugh]

eh, wrong watch for u. hantu onli come out at night - got sun meh?

[:p] this one modded wan lah..moondial

dun OT la. [smash]

back to topic: if one observes those ATM slips left all over the place, you'll be quite shocked at how little savings $$ balance there are in most of the slips.