Some SJT 318i tried to race me...

Cerano

looking at it this way. its seems like we did not move at all [laugh]

In fact, a very long way. The current BMW 320d, with its safety equipment and extra weight. Out performs a car with similar output 20 years ago, is much cheaper and more fuel efficient. But becoz the nature of a car is mechanical nature, improvement tend to be in little steps than quantum leap like we are used to in the IT sector.

Edited by Bavarian

The power vs consumption vs cost conundrum has been the bane of every car mfg since the dawn of time. Everyone claims they have achieved the holy grail but you have to look at the performance vs consumption vs cost changes over the last 20 years to get an idea how far we have came.

Ferraris and Rolls Royce are not 6+ litres for the sake of it. Not every 2L car throws out 250hp for a good reason. Something gonna give. The question is always about balance and requirement.

catch 22.

yes. keep your mini and get a jag, AM or Range Rover. [laugh]

the LRX is sweet.

I don't have so much money to keep one extra car. Have to dump either my 07 mini cooper s r53 jcw or a 4 month old scirocco 1.4. Both first owner... Mini better drive but scirocco got better fuel economy. Mini almost fully done up, while scirocco is totally stock. Only plus points of the roc is that it's a new model (easier to offload and might even make money since i booked during the low coe period) and is cheaper to maintain.. The mini is an old model liao but i love the mini more though my whole family including my gf hates it.

Any thoughts? Which should i dump

Is it?

Looking at the BHP/0-100 specs:

1.2 TSI (105 BHP) - 10.6 secs

1.4 TSI (122 BHP) - 9.5 secs

1.4 Sport TSI (160 BHP) - 8 secs

None can go down to 7 secs or below. Need the GTI.

So how to say these are fast one?

To match: Stage 1/2 1.4 Sport TSI. Then we can talk. Come on in!

Even my zc31 can anytime win the above mentioned 3. Exclude the Gti.. :D

I don't have so much money to keep one extra car. Have to dump either my 07 mini cooper s r53 jcw or a 4 month old scirocco 1.4. Both first owner... Mini better drive but scirocco got better fuel economy. Mini almost fully done up, while scirocco is totally stock. Only plus points of the roc is that it's a new model (easier to offload and might even make money since i booked during the low coe period) and is cheaper to maintain.. The mini is an old model liao but i love the mini more though my whole family including my gf hates it.

The gf.

why? he driving lancer, easy to catch but still, why do u wan to catch 22?

[bigcry][bigcry] scary only asking question also kenna catch....

he not gay hor?? :huh:

BTW why is this situation call Catch 22??

Edited by Joseph22

maybe earn is not the word. no depreciation perhaps? but if really earn then kudos. my car i booked with low COE price but got high COE in the end also. we can drink to that. [laugh]

my thoughts? yes the roc is a fuel sipper but it's just not that driveable at low speeds. the gearbox can't make up it's mind. i'm not sure whether did u experience that or not.

my next query will be: Is your JCW manual?

if so and if i were u, i'll dump the roc. so many on the roads now also. [laugh] A R53 JCW is rare now and i love that.

[bigcry][bigcry] scary only asking question also kenna catch....

he not gay hor?? :huh:

BTW why is this situation call Catch 22??

I dunno, its like asking why are you called Joseph 22. :huh:

i see... maybe i google and see what is the answer and post back here.

Wah this woman driving sibei hiong.

Was at the traffic light den she WOT so i WOT also she fly in the dust [laugh]

but she caught up at the next traffic light so round 2

but she damn power, the light still red she chiong off alr [laugh] machiam headstart in race. in the end still win la [laugh]

Uncle in merc C180 also challenge me before at traffic lite for century sprint. I pretend gonna race with him. When light turn green, i slam throttle hard for a few sec & let him pass. I no stupid 1 le. NA vs SC [hur]

why? he driving lancer, easy to catch but still, why do u wan to catch 22?

who care what he drive? i toking cars in general lah. there's hardly one car that can do everything.

an ideal garage will be 2 cars. one with speed, power and poise and one with decent comfort, economy and practicality.

catch 2 can liao

maybe earn is not the word. no depreciation perhaps? but if really earn then kudos. my car i booked with low COE price but got high COE in the end also. we can drink to that. [laugh]

my thoughts? yes the roc is a fuel sipper but it's just not that driveable at low speeds. the gearbox can't make up it's mind. i'm not sure whether did u experience that or not.

my next query will be: Is your JCW manual?

if so and if i were u, i'll dump the roc. so many on the roads now also. [laugh] A R53 JCW is rare now and i love that.

Mine's a manual.. My dealer mentioned the same thing abt the JCW mini being rare. Some sort like a keeper. But if i keep the mini, i'll probable go for either the merc or the bmw.

True. The roc is a pretty boring car. Even my 50 year old mum and almost 70 year old dad thinks so when they tried the car. haha. There's that annoying lag when you move off. Frankly, i hate the pedal shift.. Seven gears is too confusing for a simple man like me.