Best_ctzn Clutched July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 After going through my experience to enrol my kids in P1 in Tao Nan, I always gave this advise to my colleagues and friends that the number one thing they need to do to get a good chance is to move house to within 1 km of the school. I happen to pass by the school general office while running an errand and was shocked by the information about this year P1 registration. Now even those kiasu parents who stay within 1km also have no guarantee for a place under phase 2B! Prior to 2008 exercise: less than 1km and less than 2km no need to go through ballot. 2008: less than 2kn need to ballot - only 8 places for about 30 applicants 2009: no idea 2010: even those less than 1km need to ballot - 63 places for 94 applicants! (Every year there are only about 60 places for phase 2B.) So if you are still serious about it, moving to within 1km is a MUST, else please consider other schools nearby as got no chance at all. There are simply too many landed being redeveloped into condos and apts in Telok Kurau area. How sad that the situation in TNS is now the same as other elite schools. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 since when staying near got guarantee one, unless parents were from the same sch before. I stay across a road also need to ballot if demand more than supply! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 This applies for other popular schools as well......... within 1 km is no guarantee. If you even think about volunteering to increase your chance, you gotta start 2 years b4 your kids enrol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoongf 4th Gear July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 http://www.taonan.moe.edu.sg/ Total no. of available places for 2010: 360 Phase 1: 159 applications (1 withdrawal); Phase 2A1 : 18 applications; Phase 2A2 : 60 applications (Day 1 and Day 2); Phase 2B : 63 Vacancies (1 applicant withdrawn from 2A1); 114 applications; within 1km = 94 ; within 1-2km = 8 ; outside 2km = 12 ; 94 applicants living within 1 km will be balloting for 63 places on 28 July (Wed), 2pm, Lecture Theatre; Phase 2C: 62 vacancies Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 That school got gold to give out is it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 (edited) The way its evolving is disturbing. First it was the housing shortage. I think no parents dare to claim that primary schools also shortage, due to many FT with young childrens, for fear of kena marked by MOE?? Who knows, popular school might just demand all potential parents will have to commit 5 hours per week to teach in the school in those after-school enrichment courses. Maybe in money management, art class, tek-kwan-do, pianos etc. Just so to increase the chances for kids to study there. Like this the school can save a lot of money. Edited July 27, 2010 by SimonTan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 That school got gold to give out is it? I rather send to _an Chiau.....sure got stigma wan [laugh] [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 of course got Gold rah! oresle why year in year out popular school always kena ballot like crazy ? very different mentality from the MCF bros here tho.........beri the strange. That school got gold to give out is it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 Actually hor...many of the neighbourhood school was helped by the FT kids who excel and bring up the school name. I see jurong got few famous schools too. Maybe places where alot FT stays helps boost the school rankings? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 Rulang for eg? they are good traditionally Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 I rather send to _an Chiau.....sure got stigma wan [laugh] [laugh] hahah.. i stay 200m from _an Chiau leh... also must ballot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 I rather send to _an Chiau.....sure got stigma wan [laugh] [laugh] hey, you don't insult my pri school ok :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 hey, you don't insult my pri school ok :angry: ooooops...that explains it all... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 i was from ai tong.. kids will be enrolling under 2A2 in the future.. no need to ballot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 ooooops...that explains it all... [laugh] my pri school actually a sister school to Tao Nan ok.... under the Hokkien clan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 my pri school actually a sister school to Tao Nan ok.... under the Hokkien clan my pri school also sister school. Chong Fu. so many school mate here anyway Chong Fu not a good name. in chinese sound like repeat. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...