Oil Traders

Ethene

Hi am just curious and just wanna find out more about oil traders. I've heard a lot but its still a bit grey to me. Best if there's someone here who is an oil trader can shed some light.

1. To get a job is strictly based on 'connection' with people you know inside ?

2. Very well paid?

3. Once you're in you can stay in there forever?

4. Based in oversea?

Hi am just curious and just wanna find out more about oil traders. I've heard a lot but its still a bit grey to me. Best if there's someone here who is an oil trader can shed some light.

2. Very well paid?

4. Based in oversea?

Im not an oil trader but i do know some.

1. yes connection gets u to the job. they dun advertise openly

2. very well paid? lets just say 1 i know is single stays alone in a semi-D in tanah merah owns 3 cars(all not cheap) the other stays in seletar hill area with wife and kids 3 cars also. 1 disclose that normal months his take home is 50k? gd active months he can bring back 200k? record was 600k 1 mth if i didnt remember wrongly

3.yes u can stay forever but do u have the heart for it as its a highly stressful environment. working hrs are odd but short though. 1 mistake u're history.

4. no they are based locally.

That is some crazy figures.

And qualifications?

ermm... i guess a finance degree.. at least thats e ones i know possess.

i know of another who works as a ops manager for a co thats owns oil tankers. his mthly is around 50k. travels around the world whereever his tankers are he gets to go there. this one quite tight lipped. so cannot ask too much...

Qualification?

Actually, if through connections, 'O' level good enough liao. This type of job requires street-smart rather than academic.

Qualification?

Actually, if through connections, 'O' level good enough liao. This type of job requires street-smart rather than academic.

I've heard of that leh. But that 'connection' but be solid connection eg. Optics fibre.

Else they will still prefer degree eh?

wah 600k/m

if 10 years consitent like that,isnt they top 50 richest here?

so shiok man...easily overtake many PL CEOs here in annual pay

but u must think also. low months? initial start? their pay is very variable like remeisiers.

So they r top tier pay or average?

Remisers also got top tiers like ladt time the 2 famous cousins who run thier own now

i think the ones i know are more to the middle upper tier trader.

ermm... i guess a finance degree.. at least thats e ones i know possess.

i know of another who works as a ops manager for a co thats owns oil tankers. his mthly is around 50k. travels around the world whereever his tankers are he gets to go there. this one quite tight lipped. so cannot ask too much...

i think rather impossible for ops manager to get that salary..chtrg manager easier to believe although really really rare species....

2. Very well paid?

4. Based in oversea?

1. ) Nope , alot of companies do recruits outsiders by advertising on shipping mags or website ( not much on mainstream papers though ).

2) Think alot depends on what kind of oil trader ?? Crude oil trader ?? Bunker Trader ?? Swap Trader ?? Paper Trader ?? Cargo Trader ?? Lubs Oil Trader ?? Big range on the salary , alot depending on what you trade or how good you are ?? Alot of people call themsleves Oil Trader these days , and they may only make say 5 k per month .

3 ) Normally yes , cos if you can stay long enough , normally would mean that you are not bad thus makes a decent salary which alot of other industries cannot match esp for those without degrees .

4 ) Singapore is the biggest bunkering Port in the whole world and so most if not all Oil trading company will already have an office or branch in Singapore .

Hope it helps ....

Alot of people call themsleves Oil Trader these days , and they may only make say 5 k per month .

oh, how true

Edited by Throttle2

Only CK-level remisiers can generate that kind of money, bcos they churn and they also take position themselves (which by the way is capital gains). Otherwise, how can their retail clients possibly trade sufficiently to generate that kind of income... They really need a lot of high net worth who also want to trade (many rich folks i know just buy and hold), really jip and sell millions on a daily basis, then their comms can hit the mid 5-figure range reliably.

Ck remisers r scary man...

The cousins held dun noe alot percent of china counters last time

v scary...

Y these CK remisers not worth at least 50mil?No liquidity cannot b in forbes list one ah?lol

I think more than that sia