Basic sound system setup costs

Mockngbrd

Just checking with you ICE folk, how much $$$ wld i be looking at if i just want to redo up my ICE setup.

I'll be using a Nakamichi CD500 for the HU

What i need are, decent speakers that fit into the OEM speaker enclosures and most importantly, very good and neat wiring. I'm just using it for daily driving listening, no need anything powerful

saw in mazda forum..they marketing this brand..TRANS.

I listen b4..sound is really good..

can check in jdm.com.sg

Package 1 @ $2xx.00

1 x 2 Channel Amp

1 x set of Tweeters

1 x 12" Subwoofer w/box

Wiring, Fuse + Installation

Package 2 @ $4xx.00

1 x 4 Channel Amp

1 x set Component Speakers

1 x set Mid Bass Speakers

Package 3 @ $5xx.00

1 x 4 Channel Amp

1 x 12" Subwoofer w/box

Package 4 @ $6xx.00

1 x 4 Channel Amp

1 x 2 Channel Amp

1 x 12" Subwoofer w/box

since you are re-using your headunit. that's around $3-500 saved.

speakers depends if they are powered by headunit or via amps.

each amps are around $2-400. typically you will need two.

one for front speakers, and the other for the woofer or rear speakers (acting as woofer. will require 8")

the speakers will cost anywhere from $3-800.

add wiring, cabling, and labor of say $80-200 for 2-6 hours job.

you would be looking at approx $1.2K thereabout. (minus the headunit)

that's the basic sound system. or if you want to have sound only, half the price will get you there for sure.

$6xx?

thats pretty cheap....even if its low end brand.

Package 4 @ $6xx.00

1 x 4 Channel Amp

1 x 2 Channel Amp

1 x 12" Subwoofer w/box

  On 7/22/2010 at 8:22 AM, Mockngbrd said:

Just checking with you ICE folk, how much $$$ wld i be looking at if i just want to redo up my ICE setup.

I'll be using a Nakamichi CD500 for the HU

What i need are, decent speakers that fit into the OEM speaker enclosures and most importantly, very good and neat wiring. I'm just using it for daily driving listening, no need anything powerful

You can go to sgsoundsystem website. A lot of stuff there.

A set of entry front speakers and a good HU would be fine for daily driving. [:p]

Edited by Yuan

  On 7/28/2010 at 9:00 AM, Mockngbrd said:

dun think i'm gonna go with brands i'm not aware of. no offense

for front, i tink CDT shld suit u fine. Super value for money...

rear, i tink a simple 2-way shld suffice.. no need expensive ones. Ask ur installer to recommend u.

Sub.. get an active sub since u dun wan amps... but theres only so much an active sub can do.... but since u just require basic, i tink can oredi. Recommend Pioneer.

If i dun like those very very heavy bass, this one is sufficient right?

Package 2 @ $4xx.00

1 x 4 Channel Amp

Mostly listen to live concert leh...

On 7/28/2010 at 9:07 AM, Yuan said:

You can go to sgsoundsystem website. A lot of stuff there.

A set of entry front speakers and a good HU would be fine for daily driving. [:p]

yup. have signed up there but everything there sibeh cheem

On 7/28/2010 at 11:02 AM, Mockngbrd said:

yup. have signed up there but everything there sibeh cheem

For entry speakers, I find lanzar and helix dark blue not bad. Okay....You can start from there....Audio shop I recommend Foon Audio or Autoimage. [:p]

On 7/28/2010 at 10:14 AM, Diftersiaokid said:

wow thanks. I have check out thew website. Good stuff !

Don't indulge too much time over there. Very poisonous.....Your wallet will get lighter over time. Don't say I never warn you. [laugh]

On 7/28/2010 at 8:33 AM, Mockngbrd said:

i'm thinking i will probably omit the amps.

you mentioned decent speakers.

usually those will require more power and the headunit usually wouldn't be able to support or push it as hard (without creating more heat for itself)

that's why the amps are there to offload the power requirement of the speakers from the headunit. it's however not a must if you are only running the stock sized speakers. usually under 4-6".

the CD500 has 47W x 4.

via : http://www.nakamichi.com/pdf/CD%20500%20Br...20-%20Final.pdf

anyone been to New Generation before?

actually most impt for me is the wiring. i wan the entire system rewired cos the previous owner botched up the wiring

*Yup, i wld like to put back in stock sized speakers and use back my stock speaker enclosures*

Edited by Mockngbrd

On 7/29/2010 at 3:36 AM, Mockngbrd said:

anyone been to New Generation before?

actually most impt for me is the wiring. i wan the entire system rewired cos the previous owner botched up the wiring

*Yup, i wld like to put back in stock sized speakers and use back my stock speaker enclosures*

better get an amp. you may think you dun want an amp, but as time goes by, you will find that you will need one.