Am I sensitive or is this stupid?

Darryn

On 7/22/2010 at 5:03 AM, Soya said:

hantu still considered human meh? [:p]

oops....EX-human [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

  On 7/22/2010 at 4:59 AM, Picnic06 said:

MOE just want to make sure that your daughter able to take & cope with Chinese as second language due to PSLE. PSLE needs 4 subjects aggregate scores to go to Sec school and if she is struggling in 2nd language, she only left with 3 subjects aggregate score to enter a good school.

Huh? got such policy meh?

So those students that are not academically inclined can choose to drop mother tongue? Dun tink so right?

And if MOE say Chinese is "too hard" for the half angmolish, then she study what as a second language? (I really really want her to study 2nd language, regardless of MOE policy)

On 7/22/2010 at 4:50 AM, Darryn said:

registration complete already. Now wait to hear if got balloting or not. This will only matter when comes time to assign mother tongue..so I don't have to sort it our right now :D

It is only a formality becoz some goondu set this up....If they ask again why you like your children to study

chinese.....just say becoz in the newspaper advertisement for employment...they always state BI-LINGUAL..

...and it means mandarin and english... :D

  On 7/22/2010 at 4:57 AM, Chewbacca said:

Oh. Darryn is an...ang moh? Ah neh? Either way, a non-chinese, I guess.

hahaha don't know how to address other races properly but somehow suddenly grow a brain and know how to say chinese correctly.... [laugh]

Edited by Blackwind

  On 7/22/2010 at 5:01 AM, RadX said:

Sex - infrequently [laugh] [laugh]

Wah...you married too? You know, I asked the chemist how come they sell condom in packet of two...he say that is for married men, they get to have sex twice a year, once on birthday and once at christmas.... [:p]

On 7/22/2010 at 5:01 AM, RadX said:

Race - i normally put human

Sex - infrequently [laugh]

Location - anyywhere also can (referring to sex) [laugh]

hur............ like that ......

might as well write like this:

Race - F1 or Super Sport Saloon

Sex - Paris Hilton or Lohan

Location - anywhere also can (mouth, front or back)

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 7/22/2010 at 5:08 AM, Darryn said:

Wah...you married too? You know, I asked the chemist how come they sell condom in packet of two...he say that is for married men, they get to have sex twice a year, once on birthday and once at christmas.... [:p]

acherlee....must be married to have sex??? [laugh]

the other is marital status...i put depressed

  On 7/22/2010 at 5:07 AM, Kezg1 said:

It is only a formality becoz some goondu set this up....

Yeah, but to see the problem with "formality" just go and look up that mega thread about a certain distributor that did not secure COE a while back....see what can happen with formality that is not formality?

On 7/22/2010 at 5:06 AM, Darryn said:

Huh? got such policy meh?

So those students that are not academically inclined can choose to drop mother tongue? Dun tink so right?

And if MOE say Chinese is "too hard" for the half angmolish, then she study what as a second language? (I really really want her to study 2nd language, regardless of MOE policy)

Nope.... only for those mix races only.......

For locate Chinese family, then 2nd language must be Chinese. Same for Malay & Indian family.

Some Indian families from India that I do know of take up Chinese as 2nd language for their children.......

On 7/22/2010 at 5:10 AM, RadX said:

acherlee....must be married to have sex??? [laugh]

Wahhhhhhhhh............. you so gentleman har............. [lipsrsealed]

only after married (from the wedding night onwards) then only starts sex life ........ [sly]

On 7/22/2010 at 5:17 AM, Picnic06 said:

Wahhhhhhhhh............. you so gentleman har............. [lipsrsealed]

only after married (from the wedding night onwards) then only starts sex life ........ [sly]

eh not like u..animal, flower, tree all kena before you married [laugh] [laugh]

On 7/22/2010 at 5:10 AM, Darryn said:

Yeah, but to see the problem with "formality" just go and look up that mega thread about a certain distributor that did not secure COE a while back....see what can happen with formality that is not formality?

that is the problem you all ang moh from the 1st world have when come to 3rd world countries.

Ask to fill up, just fill lah, talk so much, didn't you see we are still busy coping with the flood [:p]

take English as mother tongue.... problem solved.... hahah

this is all part of social engineering by the government....

some rules are old and stupid... but nobody dare to raise out or change them....

Edited by Ngck

On 7/22/2010 at 5:18 AM, RadX said:

eh not like u..animal, flower, tree all kena before you married [laugh] [laugh]

Then................. those girls who cried during your wedding day, what had you done to them ....... oops... [lipsrsealed]

[:p][:p]

I doubt the policy is a form of formality. I feel that MOE wants to see the level of commitment the child's parents want/going to put their child thru learning Chinese. There must be cases of ppl giving it up half way or take up Chinese just to "play play one" or "test water" and see how well/bad their child is when it come to learning Chinese.

If TS & wife are committed, I think there's no cause for big concern.

  On 7/22/2010 at 5:27 AM, Watwheels said:

I doubt the policy is a form formality. I feel that MOE wants to see the level of commitment the child's parents want/going to put their child thru learning Chinese. There must be cases of ppl giving it up half way or take up Chinese just to "play play one" or "test water" and see how well/bad their child is when it come to learning Chinese.

If TS & wife are committed, I think there's no cause for big concern.

Just to be clear, I am not in the least worried that my kid will be able to study chinese - and no more worried that she will pass than any other household in Singapore (does that make sense?)

What I am annoyed about is that some beaurocrat sees fit to sit in judgement on whether or not my kid is fit to study chinese. That I musty "appeal" or otherwise satisfy some sort of criteria to study chinese. Full stop, nothing else.

Commitment or otherwise should not enter into the agreement. So what, all those people that hated chinese at school, under your policy would not have to study it?

I hate that decisisons on what my kid is "supposed" to be studying at school are being based on my skin colour.

Edited by Darryn

On 7/22/2010 at 4:27 AM, Darryn said:

To all...

1) No wife not present, but her IC was (race is recorded as chinese)

2) My wife's race is recorded as Chinese on kid's birth cert

3) why have to record a race for my kid at all, beyond homo sapiens sapiens?

4) Why do I need to apply to MOE to "allow" my kid to study chinese?

the real question is, if she does not study chinese, what is she to study?

If we "self identify" such that we want our kid to study chinese as a mother tongue, who the fark has any right to say otherwise? Why do I even need to ask for MOE "approval" at all?

I cannot answer all your questions but for 3), it is so that next time for racial harmony they can allow a certain quota of races in one community (HDB Flat). [laugh]