Timex1441 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 I am thankful that justice is served. To me it's a no-brainer... Whether it is reversing or coming head out, whatever the reason, the one in the lot should look out for oncoming traffic before exiting. And in a carpark context, as a TP has told me before, the arrows of direction are not important. Traffic can be both ways, going forward or reversing. Until now I cannot understand why do some ppl like to park head in in SG's narrow lots. There's so much risk in reversing out. Good for u the trajet went into ur side. My case was a bit cheem coz both kena right at the corner. I can only say glad I took the gamble to go the insurance route. Maybe they are not that unfair after all. Becos some ppl got their licence converted fr a foreign one, and they didn't learn reverse parking properly. i know at least 2 foreigners who always park head-in even though it takes "forever" to get the job done when parking or leaving. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pltang Clutched November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 that's coz their car plate is on the butt of the car, which is why they parked head in.... they dont even have to learn reverse parking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 Update: Today I just learnt that my insurer admitted a 10% liability and paid out only $174 to the Latio driver's insurer. Technically he has lost the case I suppose. Although no one has seemed to give me a concrete answer yet, it seems that my NCD might not be affected after all. My workshop is apparently still fighting with Glad to know outcome in your favour and hope the ws will be successful to win the remaining 10% liability issue. Had similar case before with 90% compensation which I rejected without being assured that it will not affect my NCD. Cannot quite remember the outcome except that my NCD remained intact. The 10% liability is apparently between insurers to settle amicably than having to go to court and incur more expenses. Have a nice day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 Until now I cannot understand why do some ppl like to park head in in SG's narrow lots. There's so much risk in reversing out. I sometimes park head in too... but only when its easier to get out (eg: just reverse straight out of the lot) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched November 23, 2010 Author Share November 23, 2010 I'm not sure how the NCD thingie works, but ppl are telling me if 20% liability and below, can cham siong with insurer to retain NCD. Or worst case is pay insurer whatever they've paid out to retain NCD, in this case $174. My workshop said the remaining battle should not have any effect on my insurance n NCD already coz it is a 3rd party claim and does not involve claiming from my insurer. The claim for Latio's damages has been settled by my insurer ($174). Now ws is claiming for my repair costs from Latio's insurer. Whether how much is claimed will only concern the ws and not me or my insurer. I asked about NCD, insurer has not given any firm answer. She said to obtain discharge form first. I also blur blur now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched November 23, 2010 Author Share November 23, 2010 I sometimes park head in too... but only when its easier to get out (eg: just reverse straight out of the lot) Yup, some lots are meant to park head in. Eg the diagonal lots at KKH. But I see some ppl reverse park there n wonder.... :X Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 Yup, some lots are meant to park head in. Eg the diagonal lots at KKH. But I see some ppl reverse park there n wonder.... :X check out this thread: http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2656859 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vodaboy Neutral Newbie November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 check out this thread: http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2656859 That person who park like that is confirm stupid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelisa10 Neutral Newbie January 31, 2011 Share January 31, 2011 (edited) Dear members, for your information, the lancer female driver already filed a false accident report. She drew a diagram which is a totally different scene and she claimed that my Latio car had bang into her Lancer car in her accident report. I believe all members should have right to know the truth. This Lancer driver reversed to my car in high speed while my car was stationary. After this happened, she did admitted her Lancer car had bang to my Latio car due to blind spot and she can't see my car while she was reversing. She even said "Do you know what is blind spot? Blind spot cannot be seen one!". I have drived for 10 years and never see a driver who do wrongly because of her carelessness and yet still come down from the car and scold the victim loudly. During the whole argument, I am the only one who calmed down and did not raise up my voice, she as a careless driver did not admit her fault yet filed a false accident report, which is not fair to me. Her Husband even try to beat me during that time. I initially wanted to forgive her because she was pregnant during that time and there were kids in the lancer car and I could understand pregnant lady may have mood strings sometimes but this is too much when I saw the false report and the post she had put for this accident in this forum. Whoever were at the scence and witnessed above case, please stand up to be our witness to let this lady know that it was her fault. I will not give up and try my best to let everyone know the facts for this accident. The person who filed a false report will be caught sooner or later. Car involved: Nissan Latio SGA 975Z (Gold), Mitsubishi Lancer SGB 5096Y (White) I am the car owner of vehicle no SGA 975Z. If you were at the scene on above stated date/time and place and witnessed above White Mitsubishi Lancer car reversing and banging into a stationary Gold Nissan Latio car, Please contact me at my HP: 81252261. I need your help to stand up to testify and tell the truth. Thanks. Edited January 31, 2011 by Kelisa10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nikamura Neutral Newbie January 31, 2011 Share January 31, 2011 Dear members, for your information, the lancer female driver already filed a false accident report. She drew a diagram which is a totally different scene and she claimed that my Latio car had bang into her Lancer car in her accident report. I believe all members should have right to know the truth. This Lancer driver reversed to my car in high speed while my car was stationary. After this happened, she did admitted her Lancer car had bang to my Latio car due to blind spot and she can't see my car while she was reversing. She even said "Do you know what is blind spot? Blind spot cannot be seen one!". I have drived for 10 years and never see a driver who do wrongly because of her carelessness and yet still come down from the car and scold the victim loudly. During the whole argument, I am the only one who calmed down and did not raise up my voice, she as a careless driver did not admit her fault yet filed a false accident report, which is not fair to me. Her Husband even try to beat me during that time. I initially wanted to forgive her because she was pregnant during that time and there were kids in the lancer car and I could understand pregnant lady may have mood strings sometimes but this is too much when I saw the false report and the post she had put for this accident in this forum. Whoever were at the scence and witnessed above case, please stand up to be our witness to let this lady know that it was her fault. I will not give up and try my best to let everyone know the facts for this accident. The person who filed a false report will be caught sooner or later. Car involved: Nissan Latio SGA 975Z (Gold), Mitsubishi Lancer SGB 5096Y (White) I am the car owner of vehicle no SGA 975Z. If you were at the scene on above stated date/time and place and witnessed above White Mitsubishi Lancer car reversing and banging into a stationary Gold Nissan Latio car, Please contact me at my HP: 81252261. I need your help to stand up to testify and tell the truth. Thanks. bro i think with your picture.. its already good enough.. go fight in court she sure wont get a single cent. end up have to even pay ur damage. from the pic.. its IMPOSSIBLE for you to langa her at this angle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ff7adventchild 1st Gear January 31, 2011 Share January 31, 2011 oooooooo interesting.. the latio party is posting his stories now.. lets see if the crowd will start to support the latio .. typical .. when 1 person post. .every 1 support him .. now maybe we can have a fair and true verdict eh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 31, 2011 Share January 31, 2011 Unfortunately from the picture, it seems that you reverse into the Latio. Meaning the Latio was " out " and you reverse to bang into it. Not sure how / what they are going to say in their accident report so it may be to your disadvantage 100% agree, the photographs showed the latio was hit by TS instead. TS may benefit fron attending refresher driving lessons (especially how to park/reverse) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 31, 2011 Share January 31, 2011 Yesterday I had an accident at Rivervale Mall carpark. This Latio was two cars in front of me and was parking. After he had parked fully into his lot, the car in front of me passed him and I put on my hazard lights to signal my intention to park in the empty lot opposite the Latio. With hazard lights on, I slowed down and stopped just past the lot I was going to park in. Upon checking my rear and seeing that the car behind me had stopped a distance away to allow me to park, I proceeded to reverse into the lot. Traffic behind me was clear and the Latio was fully in its lot. I wasn't going fast at all, just normal parking speed and had been reversing for about 2-3 seconds. Was just making the full-lock turn into the lot when without warning, the Latio dashed straight out of its lot then I felt and heard impact at my rear left corner. Hubby was in my passenger seat and witnessed everything. We got out of the car, immediately the Latio driver said, "I was already here, how can you reverse into me?" Was damn hot when I heard that! Obviously they were trying to push blame to me! The Latio driver's wife who was a shrieky office-lady san bat por type even shouted at me, "Do you know how to drive or not? How long have you been driving?" I was too busy arguing with her hubby to retort back to her. My hubby was busy calling ppl to seek advice on the situation. I said to the Latio driver, "Didn't you see me reversing? I already signalled my intention to park long ago, even the car behind me stopped far away to wait for me to park already. How can you just chiong out like that? What are you trying to do?" Which apparently, the Latio driver was trying to adjust his parking. Probably wanted to shift his car nearer to the pillar, scared car beside knock his car door. He claimed that he needed to adjust his car and that it was straddling two lots. Photos tell that he was already well within his lot boundaries. And he showed no sign beforehand that he needed to adjust his parking. No head out or anything. At no point did he horn too. I was the second car to pass the Latio when it was already parked fully into its lot. And his defence and retort: "You are reversing, you have to check what." I scolded the Latio driver, "You want to adjust your car you don't have to look out for traffic on the main road ah? I was already reversing. I did signal and the car behind me already stopped. Who said I didn't check? You were already parked in your lot when I started to reverse. How can you not know that I'm parking? You didn't see me reversing meh?" To which he answered, "Got." "And then you still chiong out?!" His only retort, "You are reversing, you must check ma." His stupid wife was shrieking away. At one point she pissed my hubby off and my hubby scolded vulgar language. She then shouted at her hubby in Chinese, "Eh, he scold you vulgar language leh, quick! Pai xia lai! (Take video) I want to report police!" The hubby told me he wants to call TP down, which I said, "Don't bother, TP won't come if there is no personal injury." I had not even brought up the issue of damages but from their attitude, it's damn clear they are not intending to compensate me and expecting me to compensate them instead. I got damn fed up and told them , "Forget it la, no point arguing already. Call your insurance. Just make report and let them fight lor." My hubby was not very keen at first, coz he heard that this kind of case is difficult and we have 40% NCD. I said, "Then? What kind of private settlement? They are obviously not going to pay us. I am not going to pay them for sure!" Hubby did not insist either because he witnessed everything and knew that it was the Latio driver who chut stunt. So exchanged particulars and I began taking photos of the scene and damage. At that point of time, was so caught up in the situation that we neglected the fact that the car waiting for us to park was there watching all the time and was a witness to the accident. By the time I'd remembered, that car had already gone elsewhere to park and it was just a common silver car which I could not pinpoint. If this driver happens to come across this, I hope you can step forward as a witness that I was already reversing when the Latio came out of its lot without warning, and not that the Latio driver came out before I started to reverse. As seen from photos, swipe marks at the side of the Latio's front bumper and a dent at the corner of its fender. My ride had swipe marks from just beside the corner of the rear bumper to the rear. And my rear light had a swipe mark too. Anybody got caught in a case like this before? How was the outcome? I feel indignant that the NCD thingie could've caused my hubby to even consider negotiating a private settlement for the sake of not losing NCD. Although he has his valid concern. If I'd been in the wrong and drove recklessly or whatever, I would've just said sorry and settled privately. It's not that ex since the repairs are minor. But it is way ridiculous that I have to pay the Latio driver who is the one who chut stunt. Esp when the couple and esp the wife showed the kind of attitude they did. Going to make report at IDAC later. To avoid repeating similar accidents, both drivers should attend refresher driving lessons (especially on parking). TS can benefit from lessons on signalling (she used misleading signalling) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 31, 2011 Share January 31, 2011 Bro, you are really unlucky. You reverse, the other move. By right, you should be more careful but when this angle of reversing, you are likely to check your ride mirror to avoid the pillar so unable to see the latio. What you can do is to "lie" to the insurance that you are moving forward to exit the carpark then the latio hit you as you are waiting for other car infront to move off. Otherwise, claims is against you even you are right. Well done, if anyone believe such story (TS in the wrong it seems) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 31, 2011 Share January 31, 2011 well... from my understanding is u have the right of way. as the latio is considered as exiting the lot therefore he has to wait till all clear before coming outta the lot. the pics yes it somewad shows the u reversed into the lot but i also see clearly that the latio is otw outta the lot. my take just go claim the bugger. u should win. I believe you can read the mistakes TS made (likely to loose claim) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 31, 2011 Share January 31, 2011 From pix....TS looks to be at fault...tho I fully understand what TS said could really happen (I have a few such close shaves). Best is see if there are witness in that carpark eg. those waiting for TS to park, etc... TS appears to in the wrong even before the collission (misleading signalling) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 31, 2011 Share January 31, 2011 from the pic i see, ur car only suffer scratches?? Latio got dent. But if based on what you said, you are the right party than the Latio. But if both of you write the incident and report to insurance, Latio will write his version and you write your version... In this case end up 50-50 liao. Coz he can say you never signal la, all nonsense to support that you are wrong... Since during driving lesson, we learnt to check before parking and check and check which you mention that you did, then come out an idiot shoot out... a bit sianz... One bad thing that you forget is to get hold of that witness... if that's the case, there is no witness so pictures are the best witness for you liao... But still, is a a bit tricky... Latio insurance is it NTUC? if yes, damn sian la.. NTUC got a lot of pattern to siam all this kind of 50-50 accidents. When did it happen? But like what your hubby said is right, he is more concerned about NCD. So by settling outside will it be cheaper than losing the NCD?? have to think of the worst case scenario.. She confessed using misleading signalling? How? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 31, 2011 Share January 31, 2011 from the pic i see, ur car only suffer scratches?? Latio got dent. But if based on what you said, you are the right party than the Latio. But if both of you write the incident and report to insurance, Latio will write his version and you write your version... In this case end up 50-50 liao. Coz he can say you never signal la, all nonsense to support that you are wrong... Since during driving lesson, we learnt to check before parking and check and check which you mention that you did, then come out an idiot shoot out... a bit sianz... One bad thing that you forget is to get hold of that witness... if that's the case, there is no witness so pictures are the best witness for you liao... But still, is a a bit tricky... Latio insurance is it NTUC? if yes, damn sian la.. NTUC got a lot of pattern to siam all this kind of 50-50 accidents. When did it happen? But like what your hubby said is right, he is more concerned about NCD. So by settling outside will it be cheaper than losing the NCD?? have to think of the worst case scenario.. She confessed using misleading signalling? How? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...