N3ver Neutral Newbie July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 had something like this not too long ago... driving out of a parking lot when a car crashed into my frt bumper... Workshop advised i'll lose out if claim insurance... in the end...juz report... It's more 50/50 case in the carpark... Quote We got out of the car, immediately the Latio driver said, "I was already here, how can you reverse into me?" Was damn hot when I heard that! Obviously they were trying to push blame to me! The Latio driver's wife who was a shrieky office-lady san bat por type even shouted at me, "Do you know how to drive or not? How long have you been driving?" I was too busy arguing with her hubby to retort back to her. My hubby was busy calling ppl to seek advice on the situation. As i learned from my fren...Even if you are in the wrong...just shoot yr mouth off first...u'll win in word terms... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theddeus Neutral Newbie July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 On 7/21/2010 at 2:49 AM, Ruzhyo said: Hate people like u. On hazard lights to park.....which driving school teach u to do that ah? God knows where u wanna go or park ah? Yeah, I guess hazard lights on means YOU are the hazard. IMHO, you deserve it. pls think before u said anything ,u stop yr car to wait for parking lot u on yr hazard right , so when u got a change to park i don think u off yr hazard light n turn yr signal right or left to park in to the lot right ,ls said somthing good n don just comment too much . :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
N3ver Neutral Newbie July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 On 7/21/2010 at 2:49 AM, Ruzhyo said: Hate people like u. On hazard lights to park.....which driving school teach u to do that ah? God knows where u wanna go or park ah? Yeah, I guess hazard lights on means YOU are the hazard. IMHO, you deserve it. when u meet with this kind of accident nxt time...u'll be cursing at yrself for this comment you made... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 Check in box first. Why paying for own accident repair is so cheap? Insurance repair easily 4 figures for minor dents. Must report insurance and looks like you have to do own claim. The other party sure will report to their insurance. Hope I not busybody. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear August 2, 2010 Share August 2, 2010 (edited) I think parking in shopping mall car park quite a risk. Even though you parked your car and go shopping your car could get damaged. Like yesterday, I saw in one of the carpark in a mall in Orchard Rd, 4 parked cars were wrecked by another car who was probably leaving/entering car park. From the way the cars were damaged, it seems the car was driving very fast in the car park. From now I better park in secluded corners. Edited August 2, 2010 by Jj5599 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear August 2, 2010 Share August 2, 2010 On 8/2/2010 at 4:38 AM, Jj5599 said: I think parking in shopping mall car park quite a risk. Even though you parked your car and go shopping your car could get damaged. Like yesterday, I saw in one of the carpark in a mall in Orchard Rd, 4 parked cars were wrecked by another car who was probably leaving/entering car park. From the way the cars were damaged, it seems the car was driving very fast in the car park. From now I better park in secluded corners. Don't know why, some people here like to drive like they going to meet their maker. Even in carparks. Last Saturaday, almost got knock down by an MPV which I was walking beside the road. Apparentluy there was on curb & the car just put 2 wheels in the cement where I was walking, to park in forunf to out her grocery, which her maid carries. Illegal parking of course. I was thinking of going forwad to contront her dangerous driving, & tol dher what if it was a small kid instead, or old people that cannot react fast enough!!! But I didn't as I am on a rush. Thinking back I should have, as maybe there is a chance she will "buck up", & drive more safely in future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear August 2, 2010 Share August 2, 2010 If you confront her I think the situation will end up ugly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knightsljx Neutral Newbie August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 50/50 if lancer check left mirror, will have saw that Latio was out already and stop. Latio was head out so he should have seen the reverse light and horn to warn but didn't. means he damn blur or both of you were moving too fast for either party to react. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chsteve Neutral Newbie August 3, 2010 Share August 3, 2010 Hi, I'm a Car Insurance broker for the past 8 years. But Sad to say, for such situation whereby there is no eye witness. Likelihood to be 50% 50% at fault basis. By looking at the damage, Normally I would suggest to settle privately. Just consider unlucky and forget about it. But, I'm angry for you. Judging the distance of that latio was, he should be able to horn you as a warning. I can say he is a damn lousy driver. can't he see your car coming meh.. Unless your reverse light is spoil otherwise his eye got problem. Anyway, once both party file in to claim, both NCD will be affected. And I believe his NCD is 50% since his plate is SGA Likelihood he got NCD protector because most insurer offer this feature when they have 50% NCD. Sorry to say that You are at a losing side. Yours is Mit Lancer, generally insurance premium is higher compare to Latio So, if possible. sort it out with him privately. Just a little advice. Take care. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TakomiSan Neutral Newbie October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 On 7/21/2010 at 2:49 AM, Ruzhyo said: Hate people like u. On hazard lights to park.....which driving school teach u to do that ah? God knows where u wanna go or park ah? Yeah, I guess hazard lights on means YOU are the hazard. IMHO, you deserve it. C'mon, i think it is quite standard in singapore that once i switch on my hazard light, next/near the slot that i want to park, It totally meant i want to park in that slot. How would you know which way i want to go? Obviously i want to go in my rear directions. People whom YOU should look out for are people who doesn't even signal and reverse into the parking slot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 What's the super long thread about hazard lights? The way I see it. There's only 2 solutions. 1) Lie. - U were turning out of the lot when the latio dashed out and turned into your rear bumper when you stopped for a pedestrian. Since they want to sng siao you also no need to be gentlemanly, or lady-ly in your case. 2) Are there cameras in the car park by any chance? Did you check with the rivervale sercurity? You can look for the FCC room. There is normally cameras installed in newer carparks nowadays. If there's aren't, refer back to point (1). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched November 22, 2010 Author Share November 22, 2010 Update: Today I just learnt that my insurer admitted a 10% liability and paid out only $174 to the Latio driver's insurer. Technically he has lost the case I suppose. Although no one has seemed to give me a concrete answer yet, it seems that my NCD might not be affected after all. My workshop is apparently still fighting with his insurer over the liability they should bear. But the workshop says that was their concern and not ours anymore. Maybe there is such thing as justice after all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched November 22, 2010 Author Share November 22, 2010 Update: Today I just learnt that my insurer admitted a 10% liability and paid out only $174 to the Latio driver's insurer. Technically he has lost the case I suppose. Although no one has seemed to give me a concrete answer yet, it seems that my NCD might not be affected after all. My workshop is apparently still fighting with Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 time to install front/back camera. A Video shows a millions words.....dont need to argue until no tomorrow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 Congrats, I kinda feel you were truthful in what you said, and I think the photos do proves that. What a waste of time for you and your hubby. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 Hope the latio driver learnt his lesson. The hard way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 This is speaking from true experience. I was in a car park reversing into a lot next to a Hyundai Trajet that was parked facing inwards. When I was about to enter, suddenly the reversing lights came on and he came out of his lot in reverse (And I was in his f*cking way!) Hit already, came out of car claiming why I continued to reverse when he was coming out! After I fought with that moron, stating the obvious.. If I was the one who hit him, why are there NO scratch marks on my car? (technically, I did stop when I saw the reverse lights, so I was stationary). Pure simple logic, if I was the one who HIT him, I would have scratches over my panel right? In the end I won 100% and that guy had to pay me for denting my car. Unfortunately, until today my bumper can't be aligned properly.. Here are two images of my car after that accident.. Through my own experience, I believe that the !@#ker in the Latio hit you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched November 22, 2010 Author Share November 22, 2010 I am thankful that justice is served. To me it's a no-brainer... Whether it is reversing or coming head out, whatever the reason, the one in the lot should look out for oncoming traffic before exiting. And in a carpark context, as a TP has told me before, the arrows of direction are not important. Traffic can be both ways, going forward or reversing. Until now I cannot understand why do some ppl like to park head in in SG's narrow lots. There's so much risk in reversing out. Good for u the trajet went into ur side. My case was a bit cheem coz both kena right at the corner. I can only say glad I took the gamble to go the insurance route. Maybe they are not that unfair after all. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...