Ericongy 3rd Gear July 22, 2010 Share July 22, 2010 Your hubby statement not valid leh... Spend so much money to prove you are not at fault is not worth it. What are the chances that you will meet that bugger again?? Learn to hold your heads and let go bah. Since there is no turning back now liao, clam down and think... what would you gain after all this? i kind of have to agreed wif wad u say... i will be very TL to pay for the damage... but wad to do? claim insurance maybe have to pay more, ncd bye bye, and need to waste time n energy to monitor the situation... very siong leh.. must as well use the time n energy to earn more $ or juz have a peaceful mind.. TS, if i in your position, i probably call up the latio driver n ask if he is willing to pte settle (pay for own repair and sign pte settlement document). coz after a few days, he probably has cool down n realise tat he may actually chiong out of his lot suddenly and partially responsible for the mishap... give him a ring, admit tat u may be careless but also highlight tat he come out of his lot too fast etc, tell him the advantage of pte settlement and the hassle and ncd problem if claiming an insurance... if he still KL, den bo bian fight wif him lor... but imo really not worth the time n $. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear July 22, 2010 Share July 22, 2010 Bro, Never go down and ask her whether she is alright or not? Then maybe can get her hp no. Hehehe.. i was in equal shock myself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched July 22, 2010 Author Share July 22, 2010 Your hubby statement not valid leh... Spend so much money to prove you are not at fault is not worth it. What are the chances that you will meet that bugger again?? Learn to hold your heads and let go bah. Since there is no turning back now liao, clam down and think... what would you gain after all this? I know from the start once I told the bugger "Forget it, go and make report" it will never be monetarily worth it. Like I said, maybe I am stubborn, or just haven't met enough chao kar yet to be able to forget my own principles and just swallow everything for the sake of convenience...that hopefully one day I will be able to learn from the older drivers who've seen enough of these.... For this stupid thing that the other driver caused, not only I had to bear damage to my own vehicle and he expected me to compensate him. (His wife said in Chinese some more, "So you don't want to pay la!" ) Just because his backside itchy park swee swee already and suddenly decide to adjust his car nearer to the pillar when there was no other car beside him some more! This kind of accident, if he had parked crooked, obviously wanted to shift his car and I was the one who squeezed in front of him, I really LL leh. Aiya sua and pay up la. But now for no reason, I get inconvenienced, car get damaged and get accused wrongly and have to lose my NCD for nothing some more! Add to that their attitude, really cannot stomach it! Luckily my hubby was there to witness because not that he will be a legal witness but then good that he saw everything, I don't have to spend time and effort to explain to him coz after all the photos do show me in a disadvantageous position, that's normal reaction for anyone. And because he was there, he saw their pattern for himself and knows why I am risking our NCD. Monetarily I don't gain anything. But I am very adamant about the fact that I did not do anything to cause the accident, unless ppl are telling me I should not even park there. So I should just find a deserted corner to park my car next time? I didn't stop too far away from the lot I was gonna park in. My stopping position was more or less about the position my car was in. From photos can see the angle, usually when we wanna reverse park, pass the lot, we will turn out left so that we don't have to reverse such a long distance to enter the lot right? Stop already, shift into reverse, full-lock to right. I did not stop there and dilly dally before going into reverse...there were cars waiting behind me ma... Latio parked fully, with headlights already turned off, car after Latio passed normally...no one squeezed past or pressured the Latio into parking... The angle of the Latio clearly shows it was not straddling two lots as the driver claimed. (His reason for wanting to adjust his car) I signalled even before I passed the Latio (and the lot I was gonna park in) to give the cars behind advance notice of my intention. I don't for a moment believe that the Latio could not see my car from his position inside the lot. Exactly, inside sheltered carpark after 7pm, my hazard lights on, reverse lights on, tail lights on, and possible that Latio cannot see? Worst thing is, he said he saw! But he didn't horn! Only possibility is because he dashed out and could not react in time. He could not brake in time, he could not horn in time. Latio's wheel is not even turned which a driver would have if he had already gone out, been there and preparing to reverse back into his lot. Shows that he just came out. I am very very sure his car was still fully in the lot at the point I started reversing because I could see the back of the Latio at the back of its lot, meaning it was still fully parked. Honestly if I can afford it, I will hire lawyer to fight and fight the case until I get a 100% win, and make him pay, pay and pay. Pay for my time, pay for my inconvenience, pay for my damage and all costs. But I can't, so let insurers fight it out then. But I will never be able to stomach paying him off for the sake of convenience and saving my NCD when the fault lies with him. Sorry...sorry...this is my own ranting and feelings towards this stupid accident already.... I really do appreciate the well-meaning advice from MCFers here who asked me to consider or try private settlement. It is actually the most practical and objective advice and it's the best kind of advice ppl can get when they are seeking advice here. Not only myself but other MCFers will benefit too. Learnt a lot from MCFers here in relation to this incident too. I have some idea of what to expect and honest opinions from ppl other than just workshop ppl. The various views of the photos also give me some confidence that it is not totally hopeless for me to fight. At least I try rather than not trying at all and kena eat for nothing. Although I really cannot bring myself to forget what is right and just take the most beneficial (or rather, lugi-lesser) option in this case...Maybe next time...hope dun have next time too haha...I will keep in mind all these good advice and try to keep my cool and lead the situation into my favour from the start. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged July 22, 2010 Share July 22, 2010 I know from the start once I told the bugger "Forget it, go and make report" it will never be monetarily worth it. Like I said, maybe I am stubborn, or just haven't met enough chao kar yet to be able to forget my own principles and just swallow everything for the sake of convenience...that hopefully one day I will be able to learn from the older drivers who've seen enough of these.... For this stupid thing that the other driver caused, not only I had to bear damage to my own vehicle and he expected me to compensate him. (His wife said in Chinese some more, "So you don't want to pay la!" ) Just because his backside itchy park swee swee already and suddenly decide to adjust his car nearer to the pillar when there was no other car beside him some more! This kind of accident, if he had parked crooked, obviously wanted to shift his car and I was the one who squeezed in front of him, I really LL leh. Aiya sua and pay up la. But now for no reason, I get inconvenienced, car get damaged and get accused wrongly and have to lose my NCD for nothing some more! Add to that their attitude, really cannot stomach it! Luckily my hubby was there to witness because not that he will be a legal witness but then good that he saw everything, I don't have to spend time and effort to explain to him coz after all the photos do show me in a disadvantageous position, that's normal reaction for anyone. And because he was there, he saw their pattern for himself and knows why I am risking our NCD. Monetarily I don't gain anything. But I am very adamant about the fact that I did not do anything to cause the accident, unless ppl are telling me I should not even park there. So I should just find a deserted corner to park my car next time? I didn't stop too far away from the lot I was gonna park in. My stopping position was more or less about the position my car was in. From photos can see the angle, usually when we wanna reverse park, pass the lot, we will turn out left so that we don't have to reverse such a long distance to enter the lot right? Stop already, shift into reverse, full-lock to right. I did not stop there and dilly dally before going into reverse...there were cars waiting behind me ma... Latio parked fully, with headlights already turned off, car after Latio passed normally...no one squeezed past or pressured the Latio into parking... The angle of the Latio clearly shows it was not straddling two lots as the driver claimed. (His reason for wanting to adjust his car) I signalled even before I passed the Latio (and the lot I was gonna park in) to give the cars behind advance notice of my intention. I don't for a moment believe that the Latio could not see my car from his position inside the lot. Exactly, inside sheltered carpark after 7pm, my hazard lights on, reverse lights on, tail lights on, and possible that Latio cannot see? Worst thing is, he said he saw! But he didn't horn! Only possibility is because he dashed out and could not react in time. He could not brake in time, he could not horn in time. Latio's wheel is not even turned which a driver would have if he had already gone out, been there and preparing to reverse back into his lot. Shows that he just came out. I am very very sure his car was still fully in the lot at the point I started reversing because I could see the back of the Latio at the back of its lot, meaning it was still fully parked. Honestly if I can afford it, I will hire lawyer to fight and fight the case until I get a 100% win, and make him pay, pay and pay. Pay for my time, pay for my inconvenience, pay for my damage and all costs. But I can't, so let insurers fight it out then. But I will never be able to stomach paying him off for the sake of convenience and saving my NCD when the fault lies with him. Sorry...sorry...this is my own ranting and feelings towards this stupid accident already.... I really do appreciate the well-meaning advice from MCFers here who asked me to consider or try private settlement. It is actually the most practical and objective advice and it's the best kind of advice ppl can get when they are seeking advice here. Not only myself but other MCFers will benefit too. Learnt a lot from MCFers here in relation to this incident too. I have some idea of what to expect and honest opinions from ppl other than just workshop ppl. The various views of the photos also give me some confidence that it is not totally hopeless for me to fight. At least I try rather than not trying at all and kena eat for nothing. Although I really cannot bring myself to forget what is right and just take the most beneficial (or rather, lugi-lesser) option in this case...Maybe next time...hope dun have next time too haha...I will keep in mind all these good advice and try to keep my cool and lead the situation into my favour from the start. I salute you for your conviction and sense of justice. Sometimes doing the right thing involves sacrifices. You are doing the right thing. You need to stand for something or else you will stand for nothing ........... Good Luck! The claim process will take at least 6 months though ............ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 22, 2010 Share July 22, 2010 That is true too. So main thing is give way when going down but don't EXPECT the one coming down to give way when you are the one going up... if unsure juz gif way lor. if not both parties stand to lose. usually if i see anyone coming down or up the ramp, i will slow down to gif way. i try to go slow in mscp and flick my high beam once or twice to alert any speedsters. mscp ramps should haf mirrors installed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 22, 2010 Share July 22, 2010 sad to say sis, ur hubby's statement will not be a strong case at all. i believe its a 50-50 case. both of u probably foot ur own damages. sometimes its juz suay la. who will expect a car tats parked nicely already will suddenly moved out? at the same time the latio driver probably didnt see ur intention as well. its normal to be defensive when such things happened. i believe the other fellow must be squeezing his balls nw to go insurance cuz he also noe its not sure win for either party. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 22, 2010 Share July 22, 2010 ur incident also reminds me of wat happened to me previously. at audio shop waiting to install my HU kanna langar by a fellow reversing. i stood outside smoke and saw him reverse and reverse and BOOMZ! tat time juz collect car from 2nd hand dealer 1 day nia. lucky only number plate crack. the fellow tried to brush it off seeing not much damages from my side. but lucky i saw him sipping from a can of carlsberg in the shop (plus i noe the shop's pple) so managed to get some compensation. hehe. juz let insurance handle lah. dun nid to lose any sleep over it. i've got an worst encounter then this..share wif u over the pm. relax, life goes on. let insurance handle. cheers! :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whisper_2000 Clutched July 22, 2010 Share July 22, 2010 I salute you for your conviction and sense of justice. Sometimes doing the right thing involves sacrifices. You are doing the right thing. You need to stand for something or else you will stand for nothing ........... Good Luck! The claim process will take at least 6 months though ............ Wahahaha steady lar. Let her be the heroine that she wants. Come in periodically & update us good liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kr_toy 1st Gear July 22, 2010 Share July 22, 2010 But sometimes when you signal, people may confuse whether you want park or turn left/right when your parking lot is so near the turn. This cause hazards too. I also experienced so many times that whenever i use signal light to signal my intention to park, the cars behind still continue to follow closely. Using hazard light solve this problem completely cos the cars behind will be prepared to stop to let me park. It is simply the driver here are too selfish and not gracious enough, they think carpark like highway, when someone turn signal they will close the gap rather than give way. When people turn signal and brake, driver behind should just also prepare to stop and give way and not just follow closer. Simple logic but not many people understand and gracious. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kr_toy 1st Gear July 22, 2010 Share July 22, 2010 Actually you have chance to win 80-20 or 70-30 based on the photo, but definitely can not win 100%. However it also depends on how the other write the story. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched July 22, 2010 Author Share July 22, 2010 Wahahaha steady lar. Let her be the heroine that she wants. Come in periodically & update us good liao. what about ur case? U mentioned u were in a similar situation right? Which position were u at? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched July 22, 2010 Author Share July 22, 2010 Actually you have chance to win 80-20 or 70-30 based on the photo, but definitely can not win 100%. However it also depends on how the other write the story. At the moment, the situation is that I had a folder of photos of the vehicles, scene and surroundings. He has nothing except for some photos of the vehicle damage. I am making a 3rd party claim direct. His workshop got him to make an OD claim with the intention to counter claim from my insurer later, as checked by my workshop. Don't know how he wrote his statement. Cross my fingers now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frenzzsg Clutched July 22, 2010 Share July 22, 2010 Hate people like u. On hazard lights to park.....which driving school teach u to do that ah? God knows where u wanna go or park ah? Yeah, I guess hazard lights on means YOU are the hazard. IMHO, you deserve it. I dont see what's wrong with the hazard light on to park. And i always believe in karma, especially when u wanna comment someone "deserve it" for something like this. What goes around, comes around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched July 23, 2010 Author Share July 23, 2010 sad to say sis, ur hubby's statement will not be a strong case at all. i believe its a 50-50 case. both of u probably foot ur own damages. sometimes its juz suay la. who will expect a car tats parked nicely already will suddenly moved out? at the same time the latio driver probably didnt see ur intention as well. its normal to be defensive when such things happened. i believe the other fellow must be squeezing his balls nw to go insurance cuz he also noe its not sure win for either party. Ya...damn suay...damn s**tty... I don't believe that the Latio driver could not see my ride from the angle and position that I took for parking. He should have been able to see at least my rear bumper even from his parked position. I was going at full-lock, meaning my car had not been moving much but rather pivoting at that position. Which he admitted he saw me reversing, remember? And he never denied that he dashed out during our argument. His only defence was that I was reversing so I'm at fault. But whatever we argue cannot be stated in the statement. The problem doesn't lie with him moving out though. It's because he moved out too fast that resulted in the collision. Leg cramp, poor accelerator control, did not exercise caution, whatever... He definitely deserves to be squeezing his balls.... Thanks for the consolation and encouragement! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 How many ppl in this forum will give two shxt about such ppl 1) says got principle won't settle but she was the person at fault....in the first place 2) says anybody who come across her doing something wrong, should ,in this case... a) honk her to alert her or b) do anything possible, just NOT to allow her to hit the other person's car! No wonder many have said, those who post on the Complaint thread as starters, complaining on some issue, should complain about themselves instead. How true ..how true... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kkttt 1st Gear July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 Do you have evidence of him admitting it? Like recorded it using handphone? There're many cases of people admitting its their fault right after the accident but change the whole story when writing their statements. Anyway, from the photos, from the photos of the latio's wheels, seems that it was going straight when it got hit by your car's back. Doesn't seem advantageous to you... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subarugt Neutral Newbie July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 best advise... settle outside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched July 23, 2010 Author Share July 23, 2010 Do you have evidence of him admitting it? Like recorded it using handphone? There're many cases of people admitting its their fault right after the accident but change the whole story when writing their statements. Anyway, from the photos, from the photos of the latio's wheels, seems that it was going straight when it got hit by your car's back. Doesn't seem advantageous to you... No... I think if I had the mind then to record video of his words I would have stopped the driver behind waiting for me to park and ask him to be a witness. Then don't even need to dispute. I'm sorry to admit that it is not easy to keep a calm head when he was the one who clearly dashed out and yet point fingers at me the moment they alighted and saw that kena their fender plus their attitude. Who hit who first, honestly I don't know, just that end position appears disadvantageous to me. If Latio was stopped and I kena it direct, is it normal to have so many long scratch marks? Most tell-tale at the front side of it's bumper? At the end position my bumper was not in contact with those marks yet and I was reversing at full-lock, not reversing straight back in. Photos show Latio with wheels straight but slightly slanted to the left in my direction too. Hard to say... I also believe in what goes round comes around. One day that driver will end up in my position. And it will happen to those who are gloating in this forum too. I'd like to see how they avert the accident when some bugger does it to them. Well, anyone who's a driver should be able to picture the situation when it happened. Those who insist I caused the accident, I don't owe them any explanation unless they are my insurer's reps. If that's the case, I will probably change insurer... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...