Laworder17 1st Gear July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 Most likely this case would be a 50-50 case base on the insurance guideline. As for TS, she is reversing into the lot. So even if she is in the "main road", she must have extra cautious while reversing. As for the Latio, he is also in wrong, he also should be cautious while moving out of the lot into the main road even it is just doing minor adjustment. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ruzhyo Clutched July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 Yesterday I had an accident at Rivervale Mall carpark. This Latio was two cars in front of me and was parking. After he had parked fully into his lot, the car in front of me passed him and I put on my hazard lights to signal my intention to park in the empty lot opposite the Latio. With hazard lights on, I slowed down and stopped just past the lot I was going to park in. Upon checking my rear and seeing that the car behind me had stopped a distance away to allow me to park, I proceeded to reverse into the lot. Traffic behind me was clear and the Latio was fully in its lot. I wasn't going fast at all, just normal parking speed and had been reversing for about 2-3 seconds. Was just making the full-lock turn into the lot when without warning, the Latio dashed straight out of its lot then I felt and heard impact at my rear left corner. Hubby was in my passenger seat and witnessed everything. We got out of the car, immediately the Latio driver said, "I was already here, how can you reverse into me?" Was damn hot when I heard that! Obviously they were trying to push blame to me! The Latio driver's wife who was a shrieky office-lady san bat por type even shouted at me, "Do you know how to drive or not? How long have you been driving?" I was too busy arguing with her hubby to retort back to her. My hubby was busy calling ppl to seek advice on the situation. I said to the Latio driver, "Didn't you see me reversing? I already signalled my intention to park long ago, even the car behind me stopped far away to wait for me to park already. How can you just chiong out like that? What are you trying to do?" Which apparently, the Latio driver was trying to adjust his parking. Probably wanted to shift his car nearer to the pillar, scared car beside knock his car door. He claimed that he needed to adjust his car and that it was straddling two lots. Photos tell that he was already well within his lot boundaries. And he showed no sign beforehand that he needed to adjust his parking. No head out or anything. At no point did he horn too. I was the second car to pass the Latio when it was already parked fully into its lot. And his defence and retort: "You are reversing, you have to check what." I scolded the Latio driver, "You want to adjust your car you don't have to look out for traffic on the main road ah? I was already reversing. I did signal and the car behind me already stopped. Who said I didn't check? You were already parked in your lot when I started to reverse. How can you not know that I'm parking? You didn't see me reversing meh?" To which he answered, "Got." "And then you still chiong out?!" His only retort, "You are reversing, you must check ma." His stupid wife was shrieking away. At one point she pissed my hubby off and my hubby scolded vulgar language. She then shouted at her hubby in Chinese, "Eh, he scold you vulgar language leh, quick! Pai xia lai! (Take video) I want to report police!" The hubby told me he wants to call TP down, which I said, "Don't bother, TP won't come if there is no personal injury." I had not even brought up the issue of damages but from their attitude, it's damn clear they are not intending to compensate me and expecting me to compensate them instead. I got damn fed up and told them , "Forget it la, no point arguing already. Call your insurance. Just make report and let them fight lor." My hubby was not very keen at first, coz he heard that this kind of case is difficult and we have 40% NCD. I said, "Then? What kind of private settlement? They are obviously not going to pay us. I am not going to pay them for sure!" Hubby did not insist either because he witnessed everything and knew that it was the Latio driver who chut stunt. So exchanged particulars and I began taking photos of the scene and damage. At that point of time, was so caught up in the situation that we neglected the fact that the car waiting for us to park was there watching all the time and was a witness to the accident. By the time I'd remembered, that car had already gone elsewhere to park and it was just a common silver car which I could not pinpoint. If this driver happens to come across this, I hope you can step forward as a witness that I was already reversing when the Latio came out of its lot without warning, and not that the Latio driver came out before I started to reverse. As seen from photos, swipe marks at the side of the Latio's front bumper and a dent at the corner of its fender. My ride had swipe marks from just beside the corner of the rear bumper to the rear. And my rear light had a swipe mark too. Anybody got caught in a case like this before? How was the outcome? I feel indignant that the NCD thingie could've caused my hubby to even consider negotiating a private settlement for the sake of not losing NCD. Although he has his valid concern. If I'd been in the wrong and drove recklessly or whatever, I would've just said sorry and settled privately. It's not that ex since the repairs are minor. But it is way ridiculous that I have to pay the Latio driver who is the one who chut stunt. Esp when the couple and esp the wife showed the kind of attitude they did. Going to make report at IDAC later. Hate people like u. On hazard lights to park.....which driving school teach u to do that ah? God knows where u wanna go or park ah? Yeah, I guess hazard lights on means YOU are the hazard. IMHO, you deserve it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 Pictures don't lie and they seldom do unless it was so exceptional that you could have never thought that such things can happen. The Latio was already almost out of the lot. Meaning Latio it was already moving out of the lot , when TS wanted or was reversing. Anyone reversing upon sensing there is and object moving behind them MUST immediately stop. This type of accident occurs becos BOTH parties are selfish. Latio was moving forward although exiting from lot and thinks reversing parties MUST stop for it and reseving car thought that since she was attemting to reseve park, Latio MUST allow her to do so. Whose fault? Both are at fault and I'm no judge here to award the different percentage to eithier party. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 One more thing I forgot to add. This also conforms there are alot of low class ppl in MCF which another post was relating to MCF being a low class forum. No offence to others who are not low class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboy7718 Clutched July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 Sorry to hear about the incident. I think that it is small accident with nobody false or careless actions. It happens. To be honest, I do not like to use the double signals for reserve parking or during heavy rains. It is miss leading. Double signals means warning signals that normally the cars are stationary still and not moving. How may I know you want to turn left or right during parking or heaving rain at high way? It in fact is very dangerous to me. Imagine at High way at high speed, how do I know you want to go out for overtaking your front slow traffic. I know many local like to use double signal for reserved parking. Some of them even stop it then turn on double signal out of sudden when I follow his car at back. Double signal also tend to block the back flow of traffics when you are waiting someone to drive out the car (It may take few minute if the guy is loading and set up kid car seat). Actually I like to use signal. If I want to park the left carpark, I will turn the left signal on first and do the reserve parking later. If I need to wait the car out 1st, I will normally park aside before his car that allow he to drive out his car. Car behind me still go flow thourgh. Instead of jam up. I see many cases when someone park ahead the car which want to go out with double signals. but the car can not go out because he block the space especially big car need more turning radius. I experienced it also. Why park ahead of the car park you want to park (1-way traffic)? Then he needs drive further up in order for me to go out. Car behind him, may jump Q haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jojo1 Neutral Newbie July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 no matter what shdnt scold vulgarity... just show that is damn ah beng la... anyway TS, ur car is it that type run on road will go BOOOOOOOOOOOOOM.....? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grindcore888 Clutched July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 most likely 50/50 claim via insurance unless mall CCTV is studied. i had a @#$%^& merc revered along a small lane onto my passenger door (that MF was talking on mobile phone) he yaya challenge me make claim stating 50/50 liability, I had stopped as there was traffic ahead. I drove with a huge dent and scrap my car two months later (intended anyway) took pictures along lane and angle of the hit. months later, got a lawyer letter claiming SGD5500/-.. that MF had the cheek to made false claim, contacted my insurance and submitted my pictures... (luckily) My NCD was not affected... that MF @#$#$^% K-KN-B-CCB for TS case, insurance claim will result in both parties suffering hefty premium ... best is settle matter privately but ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 no matter what shdnt scold vulgarity... just show that is damn ah beng la... anyway TS, ur car is it that type run on road will go BOOOOOOOOOOOOOM.....? What has that got to do with TS car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Informer Neutral Newbie July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 Very unfortunate... Parking at basements... With lights on and hazard lights on, I wonder how some people can't see the car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 (edited) IMHO....both parties are in the wrong. A simple tap of the horn would have avoided all these. None did that. Sure 50/50 liability........Both NCD upz the lorry. Insurance company wins!!!!!!!!! Learn your lesson and move on lor. Edited July 21, 2010 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 Dear TS, My 2 cents ... Dun bother with the claim, I would suggest a personal settlement if you do not want to "waste" your NCB. It is going to be a 50/50 case and God knows how long it will take to close the case. From the photos, it does looks like you are at a disadvantage as you car hit the side of the Latio. Settle it and move on. But do get him to sign the acceptance of the private settlement. Good luck. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dojon 1st Gear July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 suay lo... the picture is at your disadvantage like what all the others said and your best bet is CCTV of the mall. I think TS doesn't care about the hefty premiums bah, she just wants to teach that bugger a lesson. Talking about signals, whatever the correct ways to use them... it doesn't mean when you signal you can move to the desired directions as you wished... you still need to see whether the conditions and circumstances allow you mah right ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 suay lo... the picture is at your disadvantage like what all the others said and your best bet is CCTV of the mall. I think TS doesn't care about the hefty premiums bah, she just wants to teach that bugger a lesson. Talking about signals, whatever the correct ways to use them... it doesn't mean when you signal you can move to the desired directions as you wished... you still need to see whether the conditions and circumstances allow you mah right ? Lol, no nid to teach la...Just move on... Don't dwell wif the past for so long...Future is much brighter.... Let go la...Like most bros said....Private settle becos TS is kinda disadvantage.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iziz Clutched July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 Dear TS, My 2 cents ... Dun bother with the claim, I would suggest a personal settlement if you do not want to "waste" your NCB. It is going to be a 50/50 case and God knows how long it will take to close the case. From the photos, it does looks like you are at a disadvantage as you car hit the side of the Latio. Settle it and move on. But do get him to sign the acceptance of the private settlement. Good luck. Cheers I concur. The damages dun look too serious and the loss of NCB on both sides is definitely higher den the cost of repair. You might wish to pursue the option of negotiating with them to repair their own damage as claiming wld be a lose-lose situation for both, IMHO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dojon 1st Gear July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 Lol, no nid to teach la...Just move on... Don't dwell wif the past for so long...Future is much brighter.... Let go la...Like most bros said....Private settle becos TS is kinda disadvantage.... If TS call that bugger to ask for private means TS guilty liao then the bugger sure Chop TS Carrot head one mah... So TS is now on a 1 way train that never comes back ~.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jojo1 Neutral Newbie July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 cannot ask mehz? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 The damage on the Latio will cost $40 for knocking and $160 for spraying 2 panels at outside workshop. Calm down and seek a win-wiin settlement with them. Tell them, it is not a sure win case for them. If they insist to bring back to TC for the repair, then it is a lose-lose for both. Btw, the estimate above is based on what I paid on self inflict damage. Bring back to TC might cost $600 or more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 Both claim each other ~ case close,next year pay more premium ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...