Robo 2nd Gear August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 I think cause that boils down to work capablitites. the latter are better. u mean the chinese are considered better worker than the indians? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackwind Neutral Newbie August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 u mean the chinese are considered better worker than the indians? just ignore him lah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 just ignore him lah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 100k++ savings for age group 20-29. wonder what world are these researchers from... Well, it's per house hold. And I guess they include CPF. I think that's.....possible. Not too bad, actually. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 Well, it's per house hold. And I guess they include CPF. I think that's.....possible. Not too bad, actually. eh? the bold words in qoutes read "For a 30-year old earning $5520 a month with savings of $118900, affordable homes would be an HDB executive flat or lower....." note: "a 30-year old" and "(not combined) savings" compare that to the table row "Middle 50th", I think they meant individual, not household Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 u mean the chinese are considered better worker than the indians? Yes from my personal experience as their supervisor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 just ignore him lah.... have you ever work with both before?? i have work with both. either as same level if not their superior. also work under them before. PRC are mostly more superior interms of works and thinking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 Yes from my personal experience as their supervisor. Hmmm. I've got bad experience as colleagues. But....I'd like to think that it's because of a different in culture, instead of being good or bad, per se. At least, that's what the politically correct part of me says. The non PC part.....well, I'll not mention that here. Strangely, though, I have indian friends. I'm not sure how that happened. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 (edited) Hmmm. I've got bad experience as colleagues. But....I'd like to think that it's because of a different in culture, instead of being good or bad, per se. At least, that's what the politically correct part of me says. The non PC part.....well, I'll not mention that here. Strangely, though, I have indian friends. I'm not sure how that happened. Actually i am only commenting on their working ability between India FT and PRC FT. Everything else not included like PR skills or working as colleague. I do meet some who are good. but mostly PRC instead of India FT. indian are good friends ah. i got quite a few. funny thing is they themselves dont like indians. Edited August 5, 2010 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 A no-brainer way to go forward is definitely to increase the number of entrepreneurs, since they are also the ones who can fuse labour, land and capital into final goods and services in an economy. Apparently, it is an uphill struggle with our system here in SG, which simply does not encourage creativity, risk-taking and spontaneity. Noticed our incumbent government is already running out of ideas. Examples ? The 2 casinos, introduction of the 1st night F1 race, hosting of Youth Olympics are all measures trying to promote and sell SG to the world. Or rather, as bro Tigerwoods had mentioned, prostituting ourselves. Folks with the above attributes would also want a say in the governing of the country, which also means a change in government whom they believe is inept. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 Yes from my personal experience as their supervisor. im hearing opposite actually... chinese vs. blanga vs. thais. 1.thai - skilled, hardworking 2.blanga - hardworking eager to learn and work 3.chinese - unwanted, lazy, too clever for their own gud..talk to much, no initiative. for example i was told; u ask a blanga to drill a big big hole that will take 1 week. 1st day u teach him wad to do.. he will do n do continue till finish. if u ask a chinese to do he will do 1hr rest 15mins. den next day he will laze there and when asked why he sitting there, he will say boss nvr say start mah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 Can u guys not OT to talk abt FTs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 im hearing opposite actually... chinese vs. blanga vs. thais. 1.thai - skilled, hardworking 2.blanga - hardworking eager to learn and work 3.chinese - unwanted, lazy, too clever for their own gud..talk to much, no initiative. for example i was told; u ask a blanga to drill a big big hole that will take 1 week. 1st day u teach him wad to do.. he will do n do continue till finish. if u ask a chinese to do he will do 1hr rest 15mins. den next day he will laze there and when asked why he sitting there, he will say boss nvr say start mah.. very different from my experience. Thai one, dont say. they are humble and hardworking. problem is not very flexible. Blanga? teach them 1 thing today. you see 10 blanga standing at the same spot looking at 1 person do. have to constantly tell them to do their own work. Dont know also tell you they know. then everything wrong. when things go wrong, they start pushing blame. PRC, if you dont earn their respect and they are not willing to work for you. this is what you get. but if you earn their respect, they are willing to go throught fire and arrows for you. I manage to have their respect when i was working as their supervisor and my works is smooth sailing during those time. but bad thing is, after i resign, heard from fellow colleague that they rebel against the new Supervisors Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 very different from my experience. Thai one, dont say. they are humble and hardworking. problem is not very flexible. Blanga? teach them 1 thing today. you see 10 blanga standing at the same spot looking at 1 person do. have to constantly tell them to do their own work. Dont know also tell you they know. then everything wrong. when things go wrong, they start pushing blame. PRC, if you dont earn their respect and they are not willing to work for you. this is what you get. but if you earn their respect, they are willing to go throught fire and arrows for you. I manage to have their respect when i was working as their supervisor and my works is smooth sailing during those time. but bad thing is, after i resign, heard from fellow colleague that they rebel against the new Supervisors yea chinaman hard to handle.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 Can u guys not OT to talk abt FTs? here L&E and u first day in MCF ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 yea chinaman hard to handle.... actually very easy one. You show them you are on their side. Also be a bit more relax on them when they are working and let them know, as long as things are done, you are okay with them. sometime treat them to eat. but one thing very important. at the begining, learn their job and if you dont know ask them to teach. after that help them once in a while, they will know that you can work and not like those other Singaporean who only know how to tok but dont know how to work. they will side with you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 You mean you haven't bought one ? You are really low income ! JOKE only hor... But Seriously... why everyone want to stay in Condo ? Swimming pool - cost = $10/mth Gym - cost = $60/mth clubhouse/function room - cost (if go K-Box = $400/yr Tenni court - cost (if play 4 times/mth = $30/mth BBQ - cost of BBQ in East coast = ?? The cost is estimate if use the public facilities... For all the above you pay $$1150psf - or U$1.5mil (for same 5 room flat). In Singapore, a House is not a HOME but an Investment... sad really sad... Did ah longs lend $ to those staying in condo since it is difficult to splash paint or hang pig head? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...