Future-Many Will Be Stuck With Overpriced Property

Gendut

yup... so far we have a couple of trillion being printed and pumped into the world economy every year since 2008.

booming stock and asset markets not because the global economy is doing very well but because of the flooding of cheap cash everywhere and the most obvious direction of flow is into asia with growing domestic economies and commodities demand.

it is not good to hold cash now when the value of cash is like toilet paper and when the bubble bursts, it won't do any good holding cash either. i feel sorry for all the people squirreling money under their pillowcases and bank accounts.

I agree fully in that liquidity is driving prices instead of real fundamental growth.

However, should the bubble burst. Asset prices will also tumble.

Cash or cash equivalents will still be king during such times.

You know you can bet your last drop of petrol on that.

At that point to the investor who is quite heavily leveraged (as they always are and will be):-

What good is an investment property when one cant rent it out and prices are dripping

What good is a car when one cant afford the maintenance

What good is a $80k watch when the cash from selling can be better used

Of course the difficulty is balance as with all things.

but holding cash, a fair amount, remains a must.

Edited by Throttle2

PRC - only loud, claim to know everything but do nothing

Indian - 2 snake heads, pretend to know this and that nia

Pinoys - leave their brains at home

they are unoccupied becos all the chinamen are here...

its empty cause the rentals are way too low to bother.

they just keep it hoping the prices will go up further and make a killing.

I am no expert and I dun have much cash

but I have always heard cash is king in such times. [thumbsup]

I cannot imagine people giving the opposite advice but

people are free do what want.

its empty cause the rentals are way too low to bother.

they just keep it hoping the prices will go up further and make a killing.

If they don't make a killing and prices fall they will be slaughtered.

I agree fully in that liquidity is driving prices instead of real fundamental growth.

Tis a fine balance that must be drawn. I don't think bubble is bursting, in fact it's just forming. Ang Mo Kia just can't do austerity measures properly no matter how hard they try, and in Asia, we are all culturally conditioned to cut costs, reduce expenditure and save up.

This week's Fed meeting is of key importance. A second round of stimuli are expected, more USD printed, USD value falls, Dow may be mixed but hot money will flow to Asia in anticipation of USD falling. If equities run, properties will follow.

Taking a short term view, there's still some upside for the next 6 months at least. A bigger bubble could form before bursting (most probable scenario in my assessment), or G20 could go for a mutual debt write-off, and create a Titanic bubble before the next Great Depression (less likely).

Lastly, 2 things always hold their value in any time. The first is a fine watch, and the second is a good bottle of wine. Choose a really good watch (like a Ulysses Nardin Freak, not just your Rolexes) and the value is always retained. The good wine can always be drunk too. [laugh]

Just that the good wine can't be paired with a flashy ride [:p]

Edited by Zangetsu77

Tis a fine balance that must be drawn. I don't think bubble is bursting, in fact it's just forming. Ang Mo Kia just can't do austerity measures properly no matter how hard they try, and in Asia, we are all culturally conditioned to cut costs, reduce expenditure and save up.

This week's Fed meeting is of key importance. A second round of stimuli are expected, more USD printed, USD value falls, Dow may be mixed but hot money will flow to Asia in anticipation of USD falling. If equities run, properties will follow.

Taking a short term view, there's still some upside for the next 6 months at least. A bigger bubble could form before bursting (most probable scenario in my assessment), or G20 could go for a mutual debt write-off, and create a Titanic bubble before the next Great Depression (less likely).

Lastly, 2 things always hold their value in any time. The first is a fine watch, and the second is a good bottle of wine. Choose a really good watch (like a Ulysses Nardin Freak, not just your Rolexes) and the value is always retained. The good wine can always be drunk too. [laugh]

totally agree with you. :D

You know you can bet your last drop of petrol on that.

At that point to the investor who is quite heavily leveraged (as they always are and will be):-

What good is an investment property when one cant rent it out and prices are dripping

What good is a car when one cant afford the maintenance

trillions of dollars coming your way...

don't you want a piece of that?

if you believe in what you're saying, that cash is king during the bad times, don't you think it is of utmost importance to multiply your cash during these liquid times so that you will have 100x the cash that you have now when the bubbles burst?

have you ever work with both before??

i have work with both. either as same level if not their superior. also work under them before.

PRC are mostly more superior interms of works and thinking.

I have 2 experiences working with only 2 Indian nationalities employed to handle the India market.

I'm talking only about these 2 persons and NOT generalising all

1st one - from India Mumbai and PR in SG. Gets drunk almost everyday and MC king. Work so slow and got complaints from Indian customers. Everyone has to step in as Sealant glue. He left our company.

2nd one - Sg citizen - Works hard for 1st 2 weeks clocking OT due to OJT training. After that, per week MC 2 days and since probation, he has no pay for absence and pays his Doctor fees. AWOL and MIA followed - called him no answer for full day. Call his home mother say he is too sick to talk over phone.

Office now employing a 3rd guy to replace him - we need Indian - anyone here interested in Sales ?

Has to speak at least 1 indian language - If you are Chinese and can speak Hindi / Tamil PM me.

We also have PRCs - all are actually very hardworking and engaging. Those who left got good testimonials.

In fact PRCs work even better than SGs.

trillions of dollars coming your way...

don't you want a piece of that?

if you believe in what you're saying, that cash is king during the bad times, don't you think it is of utmost importance to multiply your cash during these liquid times so that you will have 100x the cash that you have now when the bubbles burst?

Yes I am trying to do that.

Every single Bro here is as well.

Just that we use different ways of doing it.

At this point, I also dont think any bubble is bursting.

We are cushioned in Asia as you mentioned becos we dont borrow like Ang Mo Kia.

But seeing how things in recent times are going, we seem to be headed that way in the future.

In the end, it is about balance, something which i prefer to err on the safe side.

oh yes.. i forgot you bought your maid a freak tourbillon in pink gold couple of years ago

btw, what happened to the patek?

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Bwahaha, bro u r mistaken... I am the maid in my own home, he who washes the toilets... If anything i have to wash your toilet on a moonlighting basis and steal your freak. [:p]

At this point, I also dont think any bubble is bursting.

We are cushioned in Asia as you mentioned becos we dont borrow like Ang Mo Kia.

But seeing how things in recent times are going, we seem to be headed that way in the future.

In the end, it is about balance, something which i prefer to err on the safe side.

To quote Ron Sim from Sunday's newspapers (presently 28th richest man in Singapore):

"At low point, don't lose heart!

At high point, don't lose head!

At correction point, don't lose gut!

At breaking point, don't lose spirit!"

Which summarizes his trials and tribulations to date in a very Hokkien-pai way...

To which my sifu in equities added (Hokkien-pai)

"At orgasm point, don't lose (by cumming) in the wrong hole!"

Crude as it may sound, the logic is, if you don't withdraw before the bubble bursts, you will be left holding the baby [laugh]

I have 2 experiences working with only 2 Indian nationalities employed to handle the India market.

I'm talking only about these 2 persons and NOT generalising all

1st one - from India Mumbai and PR in SG. Gets drunk almost everyday and MC king. Work so slow and got complaints from Indian customers. Everyone has to step in as Sealant glue. He left our company.

2nd one - Sg citizen - Works hard for 1st 2 weeks clocking OT due to OJT training. After that, per week MC 2 days and since probation, he has no pay for absence and pays his Doctor fees. AWOL and MIA followed - called him no answer for full day. Call his home mother say he is too sick to talk over phone.

Office now employing a 3rd guy to replace him - we need Indian - anyone here interested in Sales ?

Has to speak at least 1 indian language - If you are Chinese and can speak Hindi / Tamil PM me.

We also have PRCs - all are actually very hardworking and engaging. Those who left got good testimonials.

In fact PRCs work even better than SGs.

hi just my own opinion, PRC is smart and more hard working but at the same time, they are more cunning and arrogant. Be careful, once not careful, you may even lost ur rice bowl tothem.

Not sure if anyone here experience this but I have been receiving a couple of calls from agents asking if I wish to view subsale condo units. It seems to me that that new launches are doing very well but not subsale. Any reasons? From what I can see, subsale units are always priced lower than new launches. So why then is the need for the mad rush in showflats? Cos no need to service loan till TOP? Meaning they are all flippers? :blink: