SimonTan 2nd Gear July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 Quite true, most Singaporean respect and worked together to make this Singapore a great place. But nowadays the new citizens, without any history and NS, are now exposing the authorities left right center. Some even think its their dieties damm right to demand for equality and rightous. Always like to compare to their homeland, this and that. Good or bad.....the authorities better be prepared to handle these FT. Already the MRT and HDB are overburdened. Now the complaints are coming left right center. The song my Markita....Toy Soldiers come to my mind.... Step by step Heart to heart Left, right, left We all fall down Like toy soldiers It wasn't my intention to mislead you It never should have been this way What can I say It's true, I did extend the invitation I never knew how long you'd stay When you hear temptation call It's your heart that takes, takes the fall Won't you come out and play with me Step by step Heart to heart Left, right, left We all fall down Like toy soldiers Bit by bit Torn apart We never win But the battle wages on For toy soldiers It's getting hard to wake up in the morning My head is spinning constantly How can it be? How could I be so blind to this addiction? If I don't stop, the next one's gonna be me Only emptiness remains It replaces all, all the pain Won't you come out and play with me Step by step Heart to heart Left, right, left We all fall down Like toy soldiers Bit by bit Torn apart We never win But the battle wages on For toy soldiers We never win Only emptiness remains It replaces all, all the pain Won't you come out and play with me Step by step Heart to heart Left, right, left We all fall down Like toy soldiers Bit by bit Torn apart We never win But the battle wages on For toy soldiers Step by step Heart to heart Left, right, left We all fall down Like toy soldiers Bit by bit Torn apart We never win But the battle wages on For toy soldiers Wise men says... When you gave been running a country, where you refuse and disallow criticisms and fear that shame will come upon you, when others tried to expose your flaws,. This is when the flaws that were so hidden, will come back to haunt and taunt you. These are the exact sins, where men who rule for centuries, deem that they must be perfect or seen to be so, or else they will lose the cover, which they so needed, to stop these flaws made by them to be exposed. So they fall back on mere excuses when they are deem to be inperfect by those they rule, which is a clear indication, that they are merely worse than what they present themselves to be. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 if helicopter cannot work, time to bring our the big guns introducing mega telephotic lens: Sigma's Big Mama Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 still there is no need to use handcuff. If you can pull his hand using the handcuff, you can hold his hand and pull him off. Why not next time use dog collar then? Agree. From the report...using the handcuff is too excessive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 Another true account. Call me kaypoh or curious. There was once a fatal car accident few year back at night near to where I stay. I was kaypoh, and went to the nearby overhead bridge to have a better look. Maybe it was late and I was the only one there. The policeman pointed at me and shouted for me to leave the area. Similarly I stood there to act blurr and keep watching. I was not recording or taking photos. Just standing there. The policeman sensed that I was not going away, ACTUALLY walked towards the steps of the overhead bridge and want to come up. Of course I went the other way down. KNN....made me walked a big round back home from the other side of the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 ============== But the police has no just cause to stop a member of the public from taking photos of a public place, let alone place him in handcuffs. Nothing "sensitive" involved at all. I think the officer has some training or personality issues than need to b addressed in this case. I agree with you...totally no cause for the use of handcuffs... And what danger? Are we facing a gushing river or a landslide? Lastly, if we read the report correctly, the policeman came out of a patrol car to stop the photographer... Hmm...is the policeman doing any "work"? If not, how to obstruct him?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 Consider LKY once said he will use the army if they are voted out of power due to "freak result", this is nothing. for what purpose? To be like Thailand... get the army to shoot our local singaporeans who might be your friends, relatives and even your sons n daughters.... If it is freak results, then accept as it is...its the people choice.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 The policeman should have invited the photographer to sit in the policecar where its dry to take more photos! "Lastly, if we read the report correctly, the policeman came out of a patrol car to stop the photographer..." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 Another true account. Call me kaypoh or curious. There was once a fatal car accident few year back at night near to where I stay. I was kaypoh, and went to the nearby overhead bridge to have a better look. Maybe it was late and I was the only one there. The policeman pointed at me and shouted for me to leave the area. Similarly I stood there to act blurr and keep watching. I was not recording or taking photos. Just standing there. The policeman sensed that I was not going away, ACTUALLY walked towards the steps of the overhead bridge and want to come up. Of course I went the other way down. KNN....made me walked a big round back home from the other side of the road. yor is nothing compared to mine... I was passing by when there is a case of police doing some raiding along our famous "ahem" Geylang Road... Of course when there are such raids, there will be crowds.. Curious to see what is going on, so just stand by THE SIDE OF the road to see and watch loh.. and then this CB SSGT regular policeman come and yaya papaya tell me to leave the scene... I told him I did nothing wrong and I did not interfere with the police ... so why must I leave the scene...Guess what..he started shouting at me for disobeying him!!...WTF Lucky thanks to our technology... I took out my hp and wanted to record down what had happened. His face changed after he saw what I am going to do and tell me to move away as they do not want a large crowd gathering there when they are doing the raiding... That make sense...Nowadays... our young POLICE officers really thinks that we are still living in the 80s or 90s... Wake up lah... Singaporeans are more educated and know their rights and wrongs.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilli_crab 2nd Gear July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 And what danger? Are we facing a gushing river or a landslide? If you looked at past precedents, people only raised hell and asked many questions when the danger had already happened. Do we want to wait for the danger to manifest itself before we take action? What if the photographer was injured while taking photos? Can he then claim the policeman should have warned him? That the policeman has failed in his duty? Sure, we have different perception of what danger is, but where do you think that policeman should draw the line? In his case, it's damned if you do, damned if you don't. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 If you looked at past precedents, people only raised hell and asked many questions when the danger had already happened. Do we want to wait for the danger to manifest itself before we take action? What if the photographer was injured while taking photos? Can he then claim the policeman should have warned him? That the policeman has failed in his duty? Sure, we have different perception of what danger is, but where do you think that policeman should draw the line? In his case, it's damned if you do, damned if you don't. there's still no reason for using cuffs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 (edited) the sad state here is tat everyone juz based on one side of the story and condem the other. reason being its fun to join in the bashing. its much easier to turn a blind eye then to strain the brain to assest 2 sets of reports. i happened to be at a very messy accident scene once in sembawang..there were like several injured victims laying in the middle of the road. and u guess wat a reporter did? he farking creep in and used his camera and zoomed into the victim's face directly. while its not wrong to report 1st hand news, morals should be considered too. its a true story, not made up. But in this case, there are no injuries, no death and ONLY FLOODING... The main issue is WHY DO WE NEED to use HANDCUFF on the photographer...? I remb there is a standard procedure on the usage of handcuffs... If you are using handcuffs, there must be an arrest... If there is no arrest, no handcuffs should be used... In this case, the photograher is handcuffed, made to wait at scene for 1 hour, and later to be released... WTF is this...PLUS look at the handcuff marks... So obivious..He is being handcuffed tightly... is there a need for that? He is a photographer ..not criminals.. As for the above, it is normal for photographers to show the true pictures of any mishaps... sad to say Edited July 19, 2010 by Apvman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 Policeman got IQ & not stupid. If he use teaser, it will by mass teaser. All in the water kanah stunt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 if helicopter cannot work, time to bring our the big guns introducing mega telephotic lens: Sigma's Big Mama I'll need to buy a Humvee to mount this on top Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 If you looked at past precedents, people only raised hell and asked many questions when the danger had already happened. Do we want to wait for the danger to manifest itself before we take action? What if the photographer was injured while taking photos? Can he then claim the policeman should have warned him? That the policeman has failed in his duty? Sure, we have different perception of what danger is, but where do you think that policeman should draw the line? In his case, it's damned if you do, damned if you don't. Bro read at the newspaper report leh.. He is handcuffed, WAITED for 1 hour while being handcuffed, and looked at the handcuff marks... If you are the reporter, will you still say the same thing as what you have just said? I salute you if you are that sensible after pple looking at you waiting to be released after 1 hour of being handcuffed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilli_crab 2nd Gear July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 there's still no reason for using cuffs I'm not in the SPF, so I would not know the conditions under which hand-cuffs should be used. But, would struggles, be they violent or otherwise, resisting instructions to move away be grounds for use? Again, we need the facts to know why and how it happened. The last thing we should do is to jump to conclusions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 Another true account. Call me kaypoh or curious. There was once a fatal car accident few year back at night near to where I stay. I was kaypoh, and went to the nearby overhead bridge to have a better look. Maybe it was late and I was the only one there. The policeman pointed at me and shouted for me to leave the area. Similarly I stood there to act blurr and keep watching. I was not recording or taking photos. Just standing there. The policeman sensed that I was not going away, ACTUALLY walked towards the steps of the overhead bridge and want to come up. Of course I went the other way down. KNN....made me walked a big round back home from the other side of the road. Definitely u r not obstructing anybody from carrying out their duties since u r standing so far away. So i got feeling maybe (just a guess) that SPF likes to get rid of all and any passerbys from watching while they are working, in case a passerby notice anything they did wrong/inappropriate and complain/stomp them later? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 If you looked at past precedents, people only raised hell and asked many questions when the danger had already happened. Do we want to wait for the danger to manifest itself before we take action? What if the photographer was injured while taking photos? Can he then claim the policeman should have warned him? That the policeman has failed in his duty? Sure, we have different perception of what danger is, but where do you think that policeman should draw the line? In his case, it's damned if you do, damned if you don't. You are missing the point again trying to defend the SPF. Ppl here and all over are saying , the Poodle need not resort to using the handcuff on the other person. Don't tell me the average Poodle performing his job, is so poor in his judgement and persuasive skill, that he will have to resort to 'taking down' any civilian who disgaree with him. I'm sure, if that Poodle in question have taken another route, of allowing that person to just take a few more shots and even engage in a friendly conversation with him, the other fella will willingly and happily obey the Poodle request. Just like you do not like your colleagues or parents to tell you to do something like it was AN ORDER. There are many ways to approach a suituation and I'm sad to say, the report reflects the poor handling skill, of most if not ALL of the Poodles, in doing their job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericongy 3rd Gear July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 juz wondering will u still help if a major disaster hit singapore (touch wood). when natural disaster hit countries like indonesia, US, india etc, the pp staying around the area were all out in force to save lifes. i believe most or even all of these ppl r without former training, but they r putting their lifes on the line to save others. what if this unfortunate events happen in sg and u wanted to risk ur life to save someone but at the back of ur mind, u r thinking tat u may be charge by the authority for juz being at ground zero to see if u r of any help. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...