Dear parents here.. If your kid..

Ev0lutionz

get a 2nd hand van/pickup/lorry.

guarantee u will learn more than if u buy a car :D

i put my money where my mouth is hor.. i driving 2nd hand van.. u can get those lite ace for probably under 15k. good for starters and economical also. probably even more unglam than a starlet but hey, u aren't asking for a car to pick up chicks with, right?

if u must have a car, old corollas look like a decent buy too. those early 1990s one.

Corolla 2nd hand

On 7/16/2010 at 1:21 PM, Ev0lutionz said:

Has a very strong passion in driving and goes to the extent of renting cars very often just to drive, will you buy your kid a cheap car? ie: a Starlet for him? And he also came up with a proposal about the advantages of having a car, like can drive you all around, get the groceries from the market etc etc.. And he also wants to use this experience to learn the parts of the car, engine, gearbox etc.

U must be the only son in the family.... am I right?

hahaha, the helping with the groceries and pick them up thingy will only happen when u JUST got your car [:p]

after that, it will be lazy etc etc excuses [laugh]

and the learn the car parts thingy... super crappy reason(my 2cents view)

anyway, pls get your car with your own expenses..

unless your family is very well to do, if not, pls dun drag them down with the payment of your car..

surviving in Singapore is already a very tough thing, dun drag them down further for your own luxury and comfort.

TS, nothing beats buying your own car with your own money. Spare a thought for your folks, they have labour long enough to bring you up.

I got my ride after more than 10 yrs since I got my licence and I bought it because I changed a new job that needs a car.

Know the difference between a "want" and a "need". Since now you've no car, how did your family get the grocery home?

Luckily you didn't have a "passion" for aeroplanes........ [knife]

On 7/16/2010 at 2:30 PM, Parkingidiot said:

please la... Singapore public transport is world best no 1 .. not I say one.. is the grandfather of singapore say one.. can get anywhere in 20 minutes.

Car is nice to have ... not essential. Where got no choice?

As many of the other bro here say, is better to save up and buy your own car, than ask your parents to buy for you. This is a real car, leh.. not a toy.

If your father is some rich civil servant can spend 1 month in paris or elite CEO where money grow on trees, then is ok lah.. ask him to buy a ferrari for you. But if they are not rich, and you so desperate have to consider el cheapest car like starlet.. then I am guessing it will be a burden on them to buy the car, you not shy to put this kind of pressure on them meh?

pls lah the best??? i got took mrt before from yio chu kang back to my home in sengkang and it took almost 1hr journey while if i drive about 10 minutes only!!!

On 7/18/2010 at 6:07 PM, Thaiyotakamli said:

pls lah the best??? i got took mrt before from yio chu kang back to my home in sengkang and it took almost 1hr journey while if i drive about 10 minutes only!!!

He meant it as a joke from an old thought-he-so-smart alex claiming that it took only 20 mins from changi to jurong.

On 7/19/2010 at 6:24 AM, Little_prince said:

haha...

pity TS's parents...

never knew the young generations are so demanding...

why need to pity? their parents are lovin' it! they love to pamper their kids!

How can u don't know? They're called Gen Y & Gen Z or the Strawberry generation in Taiwan!

their papa mama don't want them "to suffer" so give them everything lor..teachers scold or punish, parents go complain!

working kena bully call parents go and find the supervisor!

no $ buy hdb..take free permanent loan from papa mama! [laugh]:D

On 7/16/2010 at 1:21 PM, Ev0lutionz said:

Has a very strong passion in driving and goes to the extent of renting cars very often just to drive, will you buy your kid a cheap car? ie: a Starlet for him? And he also came up with a proposal about the advantages of having a car, like can drive you all around, get the groceries from the market etc etc.. And he also wants to use this experience to learn the parts of the car, engine, gearbox etc.

if your income is sufficient to obtain a 100% loan, den i suggest u buy the car 1st with or without ur parents approval. when u own the car, try to use it as much as possible on ur parents (bring them go jalan jalan, buy groceries etc etc). of coz make sure u have enuf $ for petrol n normal maintenance. when it comes to paying installment, road tax insurance and u have not enuf money, pester ur parents to pay for u. if they dun pay, bang ur door, dun eat at home, try to stay our late n dun see them whenever possible. if u need to stay at home, put on a long face 24/7. if they ask u y long face, tell them u everyday need to squeez wif ppl on those long public transport journey, very tired and sianz.. if they still dun pay, ask them y they give birth to u?!

  On 7/16/2010 at 1:37 PM, Busybody said:

This part of the excuse is crap, but that's exactly what I would say if I'm trying to get my parents to buy me a car

  On 7/16/2010 at 1:38 PM, Ev0lutionz said:

I am the kid=/ Dont lol please.. I am just left with no choice seriously, so I ended up taking a bike now as i just want some transport instead of taking public transport. Everything i pay by myself of course.

are you gen Y or Z kid?

  On 7/19/2010 at 7:02 AM, Louisckp said:

are you gen Y or Z kid?

i rem when i passed & got my driving license...i told the BBDC instructor...im very sad, he say why. i said i have no more chance to drive a petrol driven car...my parent dont have car & I never ask them to buy or rent... all my driving expenses are from waiter, cleaner & any p/t job that pays...

i also rem even to the extent, i took up lorry or van driver jobs to do delivery (those were the times when the hand gear of the lorry is still at the steering wheel, not the drop down gear stick). so i can drive & know how the road around.

after 9 years, after i saved up 20% of the car price (rem is the time when the 1st vios came up & the big ho ha of zero downpayment from car dealers) & i can afford to drive 1, i finally fulfill my dream...the rest is history...

boy maybe you should not rely so much on your parents la...it will built you stronger...

On 7/19/2010 at 6:52 AM, Ericongy said:

when it comes to paying installment, road tax insurance and u have not enuf money, pester ur parents to pay for u. if they dun pay, bang ur door, dun eat at home, try to stay our late n dun see them whenever possible. if u need to stay at home, put on a long face 24/7. if they ask u y long face, tell them u everyday need to squeez wif ppl on those long public transport journey, very tired and sianz.. if they still dun pay, ask them y they give birth to u?!

wow, this one good [thumbsup]

the mum will say "then i rather give birth to a car than you" [laugh]

On 7/18/2010 at 6:07 PM, Thaiyotakamli said:

Got Bus rite????

[laugh] [laugh]