Kelpie 2nd Gear July 16, 2010 Share July 16, 2010 Hope to see more of such opposition new blood around. Gerald Giam: Why i joined the opposition? The 33-year-old former Foreign Service Officer at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is one of 13 council members elected to the Central Executive Committee of the WP. Admire his courage. Do you think he can make it? Come to my ward . Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 16, 2010 Share July 16, 2010 He phase it nicely. but i think the main reason he join WP is because in PAP, he is less likely to get any chance as he is likely to be without any "backing" hence might as well join the strongest opposition and he might stand a chance to be a pioneer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear July 17, 2010 Author Share July 17, 2010 He phase it nicely. but i think the main reason he join WP is because in PAP, he is less likely to get any chance as he is likely to be without any "backing" hence might as well join the strongest opposition and he might stand a chance to be a pioneer. Still, the opposition needs more people like him. Rather than filling with someone who does odd jobs and leave us with no choice . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 Hope to see more of such opposition new blood around. Gerald Giam: Why i joined the opposition? The 33-year-old former Foreign Service Officer at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is one of 13 council members elected to the Central Executive Committee of the WP. Admire his courage. Do you think he can make it? Come to my ward . Regards, Siao Liao... His career in MFA in jeopardy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 Still, the opposition needs more people like him. Rather than filling with someone who does odd jobs and leave us with no choice . Regards, very much agree... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiming89 Neutral Newbie July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 I think the correct reason to join a opposition party should be becos for the love of the country. You want to see the country do well rather then becos hatred to the ruling party and jus want to see them fall. Many (Not all ah!!) oppositions party members this days joined becos they plainly want to see the ruling party fall but in their mind, i think alot of them do not have a clear idea on how to help the country at all. Some of the comments you see on the forums are " Jus vote out PAP, any oppositions will do as long as they are out" or many comments along that line. End up if i were to run as MP, many opposition members will vote for me but whether or not i can do a better job then the current MPs or Ministers, they dun care at all. To me, fighting due to hatred is just plain childish. This acts should be carried out with more purpose and direction. But thats just how i feel la, so dun flame me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 very much agree... and wear slippers [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear July 23, 2010 Author Share July 23, 2010 and wear slippers [laugh] We all wear slippers/sandals daily unless you don't . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 and wear slippers maybe this year election the opposition will wear slipper to make it a statement? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 We all wear slippers/sandals daily unless you don't . Regards, not when meet-the-ppl lah...or when rallying during erection time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 Still, the opposition needs more people like him. Rather than filling with someone who does odd jobs and leave us with no choice . Regards, Those that like the glamour, the prestige, the limelight, the rubbing shoulders with Top brass of Spore, the Join-the-sure-win-team-and-get-into-easy-street type will surely plead and pull strings the current party. I'm not saying they are useless, they are capable people, its they choice, or an easy and logical one. Those that join Opposition Party will face kena-check-head-to-toe-for-misdoings-in-the-past, Career-freezed, no glamour, shun-by-friends-in-ruling-part-say-you-stupid-fool, you-are-the-speaker-editor-thinktank-secretary-runner-driver-OMO politician, join-the-fight-to-win-for-the-people-not-for-self type. I respect Gerald Giam already ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear July 23, 2010 Author Share July 23, 2010 I think the correct reason to join a opposition party should be becos for the love of the country. You want to see the country do well rather then becos hatred to the ruling party and jus want to see them fall. Many (Not all ah!!) oppositions party members this days joined becos they plainly want to see the ruling party fall but in their mind, i think alot of them do not have a clear idea on how to help the country at all. Some of the comments you see on the forums are " Jus vote out PAP, any oppositions will do as long as they are out" or many comments along that line. End up if i were to run as MP, many opposition members will vote for me but whether or not i can do a better job then the current MPs or Ministers, they dun care at all. To me, fighting due to hatred is just plain childish. This acts should be carried out with more purpose and direction. But thats just how i feel la, so dun flame me To me, it takes lots of guts to join an opposition. This is already admirable, it is a personal scarifice, imgaine that you're now being watched and people will purposely trying to dig your past and belittling you. To me, you must really be passionate about politics or wanting to see change for the betterment to join the opposition. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 exactly. i always have utmost respect for anyone that joins the opposition because it is a huge sacrifice for a thankless journey. some people view the opposition as trouble maker or axe to grind. even if indeed so, they sacrifice their time and resources for us. i don't see the need to begrude them. is like even if my parents begrudgingly complain about having to bring me up, their effort is still great and I will definitely be grateful to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 Siao Liao... His career in MFA in jeopardy... The 33-year-old former Foreign Service Officer at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is one of 13 council members elected to the Central Executive Committee of the WP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 The 33-year-old former Foreign Service Officer at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is one of 13 council members elected to the Central Executive Committee of the WP. Selective reading...some folks just see what they wanna see.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 Go Giam Go! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 end of the day... how many of us will really vote for him? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiming89 Neutral Newbie July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 To me, it takes lots of guts to join an opposition. This is already admirable, it is a personal scarifice, imgaine that you're now being watched and people will purposely trying to dig your past and belittling you. To me, you must really be passionate about politics or wanting to see change for the betterment to join the opposition. Regards, What you say is definitely true, no doubt about it. You become a marked man when you are a highflyer in the opposition. this are not the ones that i am talking about. Most of them are passionante about what they do. They truely have the "citizens first" mentality in mind and are willing to make sacrifice.These are the people that have the balls to do things What i am refering to are the half-hearted people who create troll accounts, flaming people with no justification or a better idea on the particular matter. Simply put, their main interest is to stir s--t. What they are providing is not-constructive at all. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...