Benarsenal Turbocharged July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 Agreed that reputation wise, Jap car manufacturer is better than Korean Car manufacturer. How can they bring their reputation up? By entering to rally and win competition? Or to stop selling low range car such as Piccanto? Somehow I feel that Piccanto do have an impact on Kia's reputation. It takes time. This is something that cannot come about quickly. If Kia makes good quality cars consistently, for say 10, 20 years, then maybe their reputation will rise up. Especially in Asian societies, where people tend to be more rigid and steadfast and conservative, patience is key. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 eh... What is FH AM? Teach me le... I donno. I only know FHM. Free hold Ang Mo Chu. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Notsogoodman 4th Gear July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 I dunno whether this is the real reason for Jap car to be price at a higher price than Kia but this is what my SE told me. Kia profit margin is only $3 to $4 whereas Jap car profit margin is usually at least $10k and above thus contributing to the difference in price. I can only guess that this is the marketing strategy to gather more market shares in the market. (They have actually done quite well. They has the second or third highest sales in Singapore in the past few months) However Kia OMV is so much lower than other Jap car OMV. Why is this so? Jap car more durable and sustainable than Korean car? FX my friend. YEN is expensive, a Mondeo's OMV is now equivalent to that of a Jazz 1.5 (Alfa 159 has around the same OMV too), and a BMW 318's OMV is on par with that of a Mazda 6 2.0. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacxaviqer 1st Gear July 15, 2010 Author Share July 15, 2010 It takes time. This is something that cannot come about quickly. If Kia makes good quality cars consistently, for say 10, 20 years, then maybe their reputation will rise up. Especially in Asian societies, where people tend to be more rigid and steadfast and conservative, patience is key. Can start to see the trend with Kia, coming out with trendy and beautiful cars, targeting at young pple to buy their car. Koup and Soul has been rather successful with younger generation. Maybe they are paving a new direction for Kia... Instead of targeting at the high end user, they go for more youth and trendy car to attract young buyers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Notsogoodman 4th Gear July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 TS, it seems like you are the one who is ashamed of your choice of KIA car. It's your choice, you like it, isn't that enough? If you have to be bothered with any and everyone's comment about your purchase, you gonna be miserable easily. If you need others agreement to feel good about yourself, do conduct a poll before buying something next time. Else, just live your life, be happy! Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 Free hold Ang Mo Chu. I see. Thank you. I think I prefer GCB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacxaviqer 1st Gear July 15, 2010 Author Share July 15, 2010 TS, it seems like you are the one who is ashamed of your choice of KIA car. It's your choice, you like it, isn't that enough? If you have to be bothered with any and everyone's comment about your purchase, you gonna be miserable easily. If you need others agreement to feel good about yourself, do conduct a poll before buying something next time. Else, just live your life, be happy! Cheers I'm not ashamed of my ride. Just want to know why pple form such perception on Korean cars. That's all. I just took their comments and broadcast here to hear more opinions from the experts here. I did acknowledge that Korean made car is not as good as Japan made car. I also acknowldge that Civic is better than my Koup. I also acknowledge that Korean car manufacturer is not as reputable as the Jap car manufacturer. If I'm ashamed of Kia, I would have defended them rather than acknowledging them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 Don't mean to shoot u down but I guess you know abt perceptions and stuff even before u asked? I think u shld stop looking at this thread. If not the more you drive the more sian u get. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacxaviqer 1st Gear July 15, 2010 Author Share July 15, 2010 Don't mean to shoot u down but I guess you know abt perceptions and stuff even before u asked? I think u shld stop looking at this thread. If not the more you drive the more sian u get. Thanks! So far, I still enjoying my ride despite all those negative comments. It do bothers me abit (who doesn't anyway) but I wun get too carried away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 Enjoy man (; don't look at thread anymre. Haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XenonWhite 1st Gear July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 So it is good? I've clocked 90,000km for a 3 yrs old car. So far so good. FC is acceptable too..Btw, this car is not that cheap.. The Lancer GLX that time was much cheaper.. But i rather opt for a new model with a new engine. And the space is much bigger too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 I'm not ashamed of my ride. Just want to know why pple form such perception on Korean cars. That's all. I think the easiest way to answer that question and placate you is to say people are stubborn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jpwong22 Neutral Newbie July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 I seldom post but please let me share my views as an owner of a 2006 Kia Cerato since new. It is in original condition, meaning it has no leather seats and running on hubcaps instead of fanciful sport rims. Good point: 1) Super reliable. Never broken down before. I only change the engine oil regularly and nothing else. Not even the battery. Bad points: 1) As the car ages, the engine seems to be getting louder. 2) Fuel consumption is worse than other 1.6 auto cars. 3) Heavy steering feel. As a daily car to run around in, it suits my purpose as I was debating between this and a commercial van. If you are looking for a bread-and-butter car, you will not regret it but if you are looking for refinement and other feel-good factors, I am afraid you will be disappointed. Also sad to say if you are a Kia driver generally, people really "see you no up". Example: When I pump petrol (92 octane, by the way), the pump attendants never ask if I want to clean my windscreen compared to when I drive other makes. People's perception to the brand is lower than Japanese brands even up to this day. In the future, no one knows. Buy a car that serves your purpose and be happy with it. Disregard what other people say. I will probably drive this car to the tenth year (if it is still relatively reliable) and then change into another Kia 1.6 litre as it serves my purpose. To each its own. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 My car is coming close to 5 years old, apart from normal wear and tear and oil change, car is still strong, and I am not a light footer. But I am still constantly getting a 12km/l on 16" for a 1.4m. Milage now is 130kkm. In terms of reliability, I give Kia a thumbs up. I also had a choice of a few jap rides when I was choosing my car a few years back but I still op for this car as its quieter than the Japanese counterparts. Up till now, it is still quieter than some of my neighbours 1 year old Jap car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 Umm fren. 92 means u using caltex. Caltex v lousy at windscreen cleaning service one. They wipe if you open your mouth to ask. Only shell v up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 Which is why I bracket it and say sterotyping. My dad drive a merc, stay in a condo, own a semi d and still eating at home. I dun do sterotyping because I know how it works Given his status , you have the answer already he won't own a Kia either. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jpwong22 Neutral Newbie July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 Using Esso 2000. My Kia is only washed by the rain so the windscreen never bothers me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carer 2nd Gear July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 Seriously, what is the main purpose of this thread? U want to gain support that KIA produces very good car is it? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...