How good is KIA nowadays?

Zacxaviqer

Talk until OT liao, basket!

We are supposed to help Zac regards his car.....don't forget.

what is there to help him? he already boought his car.

if he got light ear nothing can help him... plus i think a few ppl are suspicios of who he is [:p]

Happy [:p]

yes you are right however, if the person got so much money, he will likely not go for Koup but other better brand 2 door sedan liao.

the question to the initial post on this issue is how many % of the ppl who drive koup can afford a 6cers.

Depending on how u manage yr finance. I can earn $10k a month and after saving 2 years, I forked out $80k for koup, paid in full. No interest occur on my side.

Another 1 earn $6k a month, pay a monthly installment of $3k for the next 10 years (citing CT456's example) for his 6 series, incurring all the interests and all.

So who richer?

Although i do agree that possibility not high.

Joseph22, I think a lot of pple take huge loans for thier cars and on that count, I would agree that those who take huge loans on their Korean cars can not afford a 6 ser at that point.

I love the look of Kias, esp the Koup and Cerato.

No need to defend Kia's reputation.

If people think Jap car are better, let them just buy it.

If Kia were as popular as Hondas then the price premium

will be like Hondas also. :D

Depending on how u manage yr finance. I can earn $10k a month and after saving 2 years, I forked out $80k for koup, paid in full. No interest occur on my side.

Another 1 earn $6k a month, pay a monthly installment of $3k for the next 10 years (citing CT456's example) for his 6 series, incurring all the interests and all.

So who richer?

Although i do agree that possibility not high.

enough is said. this is what the poster mean. all other example are obsolute.

if he got light ear nothing can help him... plus i think a few ppl are suspicios of who he is [:p]

Nope, I listen to all comments, be it good or bad as long as it is constructive.

Seriously, why is there a suspicion on me??

Just because of one assumption that lead to all these follow-up suspicion?

ya. if he still can't get over it, he shld join this thread - "Feeling down?" [mad]

http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2653303

or maybe this one will cheer him up - "Sun Tze Art of making Love" :D

http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2653320

Edited by Jp66

Joseph22, I think a lot of pple take huge loans for thier cars and on that count, I would agree that those who take huge loans on their Korean cars can not afford a 6 ser at that point.

no lah. not here to say who is rich or who did not take loan.

just saying the chances that someone buying a Koup is rich enough to own a 6cers nia talking about % not individual.

cause individual, i got uncle who can afford a Lexus but choose a Kia (magentis) too. but he is one of those rare one.

Nope, I listen to all comments, be it good or bad as long as it is constructive.

Seriously, why is there a suspicion on me??

Just because of one assumption that lead to all these follow-up suspicion?

your post is very similar in style to someone who kenna ban a few months back.

I think we can gather a few points here.

1) Image is everything in Singapore, unfortunately. Japanese took many decades to build up their image of reliability and durability. Even when Toyota got so many problems lately, most laymen in SG still believe Toyotas are reliable. This is through many, many years of building up their reputation.

Koreans have only been in SG for less than 20 years. They haven't have the time to build up their image yet. Granted they have improved by leaps and bounds, but image is one thing that takes very long to form. Heck, many still believe Mercedes-Benz are rock solid, even though they haven't been since the 90s. Same with Skoda, Alfa Romeo etc. They make very good cars, but people still have the stubborn belief from the past.

2) No offence to TS, but you should have conviction in your purchase. I don't want to put down anyone, but most typical SGporeans (probably not the ones here) who make comments about your car, don't actually know what they are talking about. They have not driven your car, they have not owned your car, they have no basis for criticising you.

As long as you're happy, who cares what people say?

Actually getting a car is like getting maybe shirt?

U feel happy wearing a normal shirt from shops like Adidas , then so be it...

The main thing is whether u will feel comfortable and happy wearing it...

At the end of the day, you are the one wearing that shirt. So why bother to care so much if ppl wan to condemn n criticize u?

Just be yourself...No point trying to follow the trend or wad so ever....

Comparing and comparing leads nowhere.... 1 MOUNTAIN always get another higher mountain....

Cheers... [:)]

I am driving a KIA Sportage for the last 1year 11 months and still loving it till now, I don't mind (REALLY) to change to another KIA Sportage in future provided it come with a TURBO engine, not that my Sportage NA engine no good, just that i needed a little more torque driving in SG's road/ condition.

your post is very similar in style to someone who kenna ban a few months back.

Not me definitely. I post the thread here is not to vent my anger on all those negative comments that I have received. I post the thread because I want to find out more how Kia is comparing to against those Jap car manufacturer and how far off are they and wat constitute to the perception of Kia as a "lousy brand"

I think we can gather a few points here.

1) Image is everything in Singapore, unfortunately. Japanese took many decades to build up their image of reliability and durability. Even when Toyota got so many problems lately, most laymen in SG still believe Toyotas are reliable. This is through many, many years of building up their reputation.

Koreans have only been in SG for less than 20 years. They haven't have the time to build up their image yet. Granted they have improved by leaps and bounds, but image is one thing that takes very long to form. Heck, many still believe Mercedes-Benz are rock solid, even though they haven't been since the 90s. Same with Skoda, Alfa Romeo etc. They make very good cars, but people still have the stubborn belief from the past.

2) No offence to TS, but you should have conviction in your purchase. I don't want to put down anyone, but most typical SGporeans (probably not the ones here) who make comments about your car, don't actually know what they are talking about. They have not driven your car, they have not owned your car, they have no basis for criticising you.

As long as you're happy, who cares what people say?

Agreed that reputation wise, Jap car manufacturer is better than Korean Car manufacturer. How can they bring their reputation up? By entering to rally and win competition? Or to stop selling low range car such as Piccanto? Somehow I feel that Piccanto do have an impact on Kia's reputation.

Actually the best way to find out is do your own research. Once you have facts you wouldn't care about stupid comments.

That is all you need to do, asking around will only attract sometimes biased personal views which doesn't help at all?

its the special word call "BRAND REPUTATION"

it take years n year n years to build up the brand reputation and goodwill associated with the brand. becos of this...u r paying a premium for the brand of japanese cars makers.

however, brand reputation is not being achieved overnight and the premium paid is not unwarranted for. Companies spend tons of money on R&D to improve their ride. Over the years, they manage to come up with a magic formula to get things right (their engines, QC check, SOP, Policies and Procredures of doing things, etc etc). So u can assure that the quality is always there (except some lemons here n there) at a decent acceptable level.

kia on the other hand, have a lower brand reputation to start with (especially with the problems associated with korean cars in the past). Its not to say that kia is of lower quality, but they simply do not have a track record long enough for people to conclude on the quality of their cars produced. This is thus the risk premiums that has to be taken by the korean car owners.

like someone in the previous post mention

wah, you elite dont come and suan me leh [laugh][laugh]

must improve mah.

eh... What is FH AM? Teach me le... I donno. I only know FHM.