Mattjoe 1st Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 Sorry OT a bit.... I was wondering why is the E-coupe compared to the E92 coupe while the std E-class is compared to 5 series? It's the price point, I think... Also horse power if you get 325i..Just my opinion. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 Sorry OT a bit.... I was wondering why is the E-coupe compared to the E92 coupe while the std E-class is compared to 5 series? Because 5 series got no coupe? hahah Anyway, the E-coupe is built on the W204 platform... However, there is a C-coupe coming soon so it gets more complicated Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 (edited) Because 5 series got no coupe? hahah Anyway, the E-coupe is built on the W204 platform... However, there is a C-coupe coming soon so it gets more complicated Exactly... E coupe is actually a rename of the old CLK ... which is based on W204 C class platform with E class interior ... thus should go head to head with E92 3er coupe. The new C coupe also base on W204... to me is a replacement of CLC (base on W203 platform) ... so, its targeted more at the 3er compact which PML did not bring in. The new C coupe can also target the Scirocco buyers with the C250 CGI coupe vs 2.0T or C180 CGI coupe vs 1.4 TSI Scirocco. ... but with better space.... and frankly about the same price. Edited October 22, 2010 by Miles Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephteo 1st Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 hmmm.. i tested the e coupe, i like the drive as it's very comfy. same sentiment as you for the A5 2.0T. tried going over to Beamer, the service was very disappointing... none came to help.. went to the counter to ask about the X1.. was told no display unit as it's all sold out for now... asked for the brochure... no brochure... all gave out... was told there's a unit for test drive but there's a long Q.. willing to wait... was told they will inform me when the car is ready for my viewing.... so asked if the interior resembles any of the model on display?... they told me to go to one of the PC terminal to view from the website... i was like DUH.... i am here and you asked me to view from WEB??? i want to see the actual thing!! dumbo!! i repeated i am willing to wait please let me know when the car is ready... the beamer lady went ok.. didnt bother to take down my name and phone number... this was exactly the same thing when i went there 2 yrs ago wanting to buy the 3 series... sigh... maybe not meant to be.. i didnt bother to ask for her name.. in fact i tried another lady.. same attitude.. so i didnt wanna waste my time... that's it.. i went back to merc... where service is really good. even audi, the service is great too.. just that the car is kinda small at the back.. the decision is clear now... :) I had the same kinda experience you had.. but it was at C&C Merc... they really weren't interested in dealing with me... maybe i look poor... haha.. but at PML it was alright... hmmm.. but in the end, I got a 2nd hand merc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 Exactly... E coupe is actually a rename of the old CLK ... which is based on W204 C class platform with E class interior ... thus should go head to head with E92 3er coupe. The new C coupe also base on W204... to me is a replacement of CLC (base on W203 platform) ... so, its targeted more at the 3er compact which PML did not bring in. The new C coupe can also target the Scirocco buyers with the C250 CGI coupe vs 2.0T or C180 CGI coupe vs 1.4 TSI Scirocco. ... but with better space.... and frankly about the same price. It should be 1er rather than 3er compact. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Observer 4th Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 although the "bad service quality" thing is commonly heard of.. but there is still the other side to the story actually. but there's a catch, i think PML practices something that involves aiming at more transactions with existing customers, rather than new customers. i can tell that they pamper existing customers alot more. ZHUN BO?!!!! Current owners got more complaints about them also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 It should be 1er rather than 3er compact. C coupe is same size as C, but with 2 doors... cant be pitting it against 1er.... totally different segment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voxy28 3rd Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 (edited) C coupe is same size as C, but with 2 doors... cant be pitting it against 1er.... totally different segment. 1er coupe is a blast to drive esp 135. If the 1er M series is priced reasonbly, there will be many converts. photoshopped Engine: The N54 twin-turbo 3.0-liter six is closely related to the one in the Z4 sDrive35is. Spooling out 11.6 psi (increasing to 14.5 for up to seven seconds of overboost), the turbos help produce roughly 340 peak horsepower, with torque registering near 370 lb-ft. To spare you the math, that's 74 fewer horses but 75 more pound-feet of twist than the M3's peaky V-8 makes. With weight said to remain nearly equal to the 135i's, that should give the 1 M a weight-to-power rating equal to that of the previous M coupes with far better weight-to-torque than even the M3. Transmission and driveline: A six-speed manual will be the only transmission offering, and we expect its ratios will be shared with those of the M3 stick. The M3's Variable M Differential lock rearend is also part of the deal. Chassis: Almost all of the M3 bits have been adapted to the 1's closely related platform, with only minor tweaking to account for the 1's nearly 200-pound lighter load. This includes the aluminum suspension links, the big vented and cross-drilled brakes, and the M3 competition package's 19-inch Y-spoke wheels, shod in Michelin Pilot Sport PS2's of the same sizes (245/35ZR19 93Y front, 265/35ZR-19 98Y rear, inflated to 44 psi front/35 psi rear on our prototype). Body: Fender flares widen the car by 3.1 inches to cover the huge tires, and new fascias accommodate the engine's increased cooling needs in front and the quad exhaust pipes out back. The 135i's rear lip spoiler is retained, and all bodywork will be steel to keep the cost low. Paint choices will include Alpine White, Jet Black, and Valencia Orange Metallic. So how does it run? Matching the last-gen M3 Competition coupe's weight-to-power ratio with more torque than today's V-8 M3, the 1 M moves out smartly indeed with zero turbo lag and a healthy snarl that's dominated by mechanical and induction noise. Servotronic steering retuned for the 1 Series M Coupe relays plenty of road feel with ideal levels of effort. The chassis' broad stance and high level of control permit cornering that seems impossible outside the virtual world of Sony's Gran Turismo. Those oversized brakes erase big speeds just as smoothly and effortlessly as the twin-turbos produce it. BMW claims its Nurburgring Nordschleife lap time falls just a bit shy of the M3's, and that seems plausible. Edited October 22, 2010 by Voxy28 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 Maybe because 5 series no coupe? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 C coupe is same size as C, but with 2 doors... cant be pitting it against 1er.... totally different segment. If that's the case, 3er has no compact leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mattjoe 1st Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 I had the same kinda experience you had.. but it was at C&C Merc... they really weren't interested in dealing with me... maybe i look poor... haha.. but at PML it was alright... hmmm.. but in the end, I got a 2nd hand merc... Haha, wonder if anyone fhad same experience as me and my friend...during the sales talk at PM, they run down people who buys merc and wears rolex... funny thing is I was wearing a rolex and I drive a merc. Duh guy didn't ask what I was driving... he found out later and didn't say anything. Anyway, we bought from him later. Quite a decent chap. I think PM needs to train their staff in EQ! overall, I feel C & C service is better -then again, depends on the sales exec. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephteo 1st Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 Haha, wonder if anyone fhad same experience as me and my friend...during the sales talk at PM, they run down people who buys merc and wears rolex... funny thing is I was wearing a rolex and I drive a merc. Duh guy didn't ask what I was driving... he found out later and didn't say anything. Anyway, we bought from him later. Quite a decent chap. I think PM needs to train their staff in EQ! overall, I feel C & C service is better -then again, depends on the sales exec. yea bro.. I do agree that the service sometimes does depend on the sales exec u meet... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 someone's AMG also v chio...now it's not about Merc vs BMW It's A vs M Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 Haha, wonder if anyone fhad same experience as me and my friend...during the sales talk at PM, they run down people who buys merc and wears rolex... funny thing is I was wearing a rolex and I drive a merc. Duh guy didn't ask what I was driving... he found out later and didn't say anything. Anyway, we bought from him later. Quite a decent chap. I think PM needs to train their staff in EQ! overall, I feel C & C service is better -then again, depends on the sales exec. throttle2 wears a rolex and drives a BMW.. so how ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 ML350... I think reasonbly priced with adequate features. The V6 consume petrol like no body business, body roll quite bad compare to the other 2. Good space for the front and back. X5, best of the lot in terms of driving. THe 3.0 SI is underpowered and sound strained, also drive petrol.... features are also fair compare to the ML. Space wise, the 3rd row is hopeless while the normal seating position are more than enough. Q7, biggest of the lot but the 3.6L also suffers from underpower issue. Got best feature and space here and driving dynamics is just a notch below the X5. Acceleration for all the 3 is acceptable say compare with Jap saloon cars. For reliability, I can only say the X5 will have some issue at high mileage for the transfer case. But this will not stop u from driving, just that the 4x4 feature will be temp turn off. The Q7 and Merc I am not sure if there are any long term reliability issue. I think Audi generally suffers from vibrations in drivers position after 80k. While the Merc, I yet to hear anything negative about the V6 and the Gtronic or the AWD. If u ask me, I take the X5 or ML350 bec it has the best resale in the market bec it is highly sought after in other country. This I assume u get a slightly used one and sell it once it hit the 5th yr or drive all the way until scrap. thanks bro... i guess all 3 will have issues at high mileage.... just hope it doesn't act up while traveling in malaysia! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 X5 is trendy car and also good for big families as it is 7 seater Q7 too big but if u have big family, this one also can ML350 is not 7 seater and the model a bit lousy compared to the other two The New Q7 tail light damn CHIO!!! so choice will be either X5 and Q7 for performance will be X5 for model both also good for big family Q7 is ideal. depend on ur situation the ML350 looks not bad wat.... but depreciation higher than the other 2... because OMV is only $60k+ compared to $85k+ for the other 2... in the international forums i read that between ML350 and X5 3.0L more people prefer the ML350, but when it comes to ML500 vs X5 4.8L most prefer the X5... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voxy28 3rd Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 the ML350 looks not bad wat.... but depreciation higher than the other 2... because OMV is only $60k+ compared to $85k+ for the other 2... in the international forums i read that between ML350 and X5 3.0L more people prefer the ML350, but when it comes to ML500 vs X5 4.8L most prefer the X5... That is why, buy only this 2.... I take the X5 if dep is about the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 someone's AMG also v chio...now it's not about Merc vs BMW It's A vs M If money is not an issue, I don't mind having both ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...