Bus fares - Who do you trust?????

Ticklish8

Mmmmm dont know can trust PTC or not? U decide

Old and new bus fares compared

It's not only long-distance commuters who have to pay more under the new fares in Singapore. So do many others if you compare the old fares with the new. Here's how the so-called "distance-based" new bus fares compare with the old fares, which were based on how many "stages" one travelled. I am comparing only the adult fares payable by EZ-Link cards on air-conditioned buses.

http://www.pressrun.net/weblog/2010/07/old...s-compared.html

I have noticed everyday I commute to work from same bus stop and alight at same bus stop, the charging is different. Sometime $1.09, sometime $1.15, sometime $1.21 :angry:

crappy system

I have noticed everyday I commute to work from same bus stop and alight at same bus stop, the charging is different. Sometime $1.09, sometime $1.15, sometime $1.21 :angry:

crappy system

Wow! Sure anot? Sounds serious....

Like that it means we don't even know how much we are charged when we commute from 1 place to another! <_<

sound to me that they change to this system to confuse everyone such that when they increase the fare, no one will be able to tell

Wow! Sure anot? Sounds serious....

Like that it means we don't even know how much we are charged when we commute from 1 place to another! <_<

I don't think everybody will care to check ever since EZlink is in use... I also no check... my card is auto top up... so everytime just "tit-tit" and go... but recently the pay by distance is already enforce, so I just check lo.... wah to my surprise, everyday pay different fare one lei... :angry:

I think this has to be highlighted... It sounds serious as it seems like distance calculation is wrong, are the calculating the actual distance travelled by the bus/train, the distance of the route or the distance between start point and end point?

Sorry, I had not been looking into this as I was not interested previously, now you have piqued my interest...

sound like its actually a time base fare instead of distant base.

be prepare to pay more in a jam. :angry:

I think this has to be highlighted... It sounds serious as it seems like distance calculation is wrong, are the calculating the actual distance travelled by the bus/train, the distance of the route or the distance between start point and end point?

Sorry, I had not been looking into this as I was not interested previously, now you have piqued my interest...

I will monitor a few more days before writing in to transitlink.... maybe for those who still commute by public transport will want to keep an eye on the fare display when tapping ur ezlink card.

crappy system

Don't tell bus oso got peak hour surcharge.

print out your journey at any top up machine

there you will see any discrepancy

last time i was charge double

so i paid additional $1.20

they say want to claim come down to buona vista all the way from punggol

just to get back my $1.20 [furious]

n 1 minister even defended this new system after ppl complained of paying more. she said...ur daily fare may look like u r paying more, but in the long run u r paying less. WTF!!! how can i pay more everyday n 1 mth down the rd equals to me paying less??? some magical maths equation r in use here. like saying...u eat more veryday, n after 1 mth, u will lose 10kg. b-------t!

I will monitor a few more days before writing in to transitlink.... maybe for those who still commute by public transport will want to keep an eye on the fare display when tapping ur ezlink card.

I found there is an online calculator for distance based fares.

http://www.publictransport.sg/publish/ptp/..._ticketing.html

So it is actual distance of bus travelled + actual distance of next bus transfer... So it is supposed to be route based distance. You check if you were charged correctly with the link.

I took only one direct bus leh...

Yeah so should be fixed fee, if otherwise you should shoot them jialat jialat. It would be shown on the fare calculator

Minister think Singaporean "daft"

n 1 minister even defended this new system after ppl complained of paying more. she said...ur daily fare may look like u r paying more, but in the long run u r paying less. WTF!!! how can i pay more everyday n 1 mth down the rd equals to me paying less??? some magical maths equation r in use here. like saying...u eat more veryday, n after 1 mth, u will lose 10kg. b-------t!