Ticklish8 3rd Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 Mmmmm dont know can trust PTC or not? U decide Old and new bus fares compared It's not only long-distance commuters who have to pay more under the new fares in Singapore. So do many others if you compare the old fares with the new. Here's how the so-called "distance-based" new bus fares compare with the old fares, which were based on how many "stages" one travelled. I am comparing only the adult fares payable by EZ-Link cards on air-conditioned buses. http://www.pressrun.net/weblog/2010/07/old...s-compared.html ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluepica 4th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 I have noticed everyday I commute to work from same bus stop and alight at same bus stop, the charging is different. Sometime $1.09, sometime $1.15, sometime $1.21 :angry: crappy system Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 I have noticed everyday I commute to work from same bus stop and alight at same bus stop, the charging is different. Sometime $1.09, sometime $1.15, sometime $1.21 :angry: crappy system Wow! Sure anot? Sounds serious.... Like that it means we don't even know how much we are charged when we commute from 1 place to another! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 sound to me that they change to this system to confuse everyone such that when they increase the fare, no one will be able to tell Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluepica 4th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 Wow! Sure anot? Sounds serious.... Like that it means we don't even know how much we are charged when we commute from 1 place to another! I don't think everybody will care to check ever since EZlink is in use... I also no check... my card is auto top up... so everytime just "tit-tit" and go... but recently the pay by distance is already enforce, so I just check lo.... wah to my surprise, everyday pay different fare one lei... :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 I don't think everybody will care to check ever since EZlink is in use... I also no check... my card is auto top up... so everytime just "tit-tit" and go... but recently the pay by distance is already enforce, so I just check lo.... wah to my surprise, everyday pay different fare one lei... :angry: I think this has to be highlighted... It sounds serious as it seems like distance calculation is wrong, are the calculating the actual distance travelled by the bus/train, the distance of the route or the distance between start point and end point? Sorry, I had not been looking into this as I was not interested previously, now you have piqued my interest... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 I wont trust them... Only to trust that they are going to squeeze as much money from us.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 I don't think everybody will care to check ever since EZlink is in use... I also no check... my card is auto top up... so everytime just "tit-tit" and go... but recently the pay by distance is already enforce, so I just check lo.... wah to my surprise, everyday pay different fare one lei... :angry: sound like its actually a time base fare instead of distant base. be prepare to pay more in a jam. :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluepica 4th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 I think this has to be highlighted... It sounds serious as it seems like distance calculation is wrong, are the calculating the actual distance travelled by the bus/train, the distance of the route or the distance between start point and end point? Sorry, I had not been looking into this as I was not interested previously, now you have piqued my interest... I will monitor a few more days before writing in to transitlink.... maybe for those who still commute by public transport will want to keep an eye on the fare display when tapping ur ezlink card. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 I have noticed everyday I commute to work from same bus stop and alight at same bus stop, the charging is different. Sometime $1.09, sometime $1.15, sometime $1.21 :angry: crappy system Don't tell bus oso got peak hour surcharge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 print out your journey at any top up machine there you will see any discrepancy last time i was charge double so i paid additional $1.20 they say want to claim come down to buona vista all the way from punggol just to get back my $1.20 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 n 1 minister even defended this new system after ppl complained of paying more. she said...ur daily fare may look like u r paying more, but in the long run u r paying less. WTF!!! how can i pay more everyday n 1 mth down the rd equals to me paying less??? some magical maths equation r in use here. like saying...u eat more veryday, n after 1 mth, u will lose 10kg. b-------t! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 I will monitor a few more days before writing in to transitlink.... maybe for those who still commute by public transport will want to keep an eye on the fare display when tapping ur ezlink card. I found there is an online calculator for distance based fares. http://www.publictransport.sg/publish/ptp/..._ticketing.html So it is actual distance of bus travelled + actual distance of next bus transfer... So it is supposed to be route based distance. You check if you were charged correctly with the link. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluepica 4th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 I found there is an online calculator for distance based fares. http://www.publictransport.sg/publish/ptp/..._ticketing.html So it is actual distance of bus travelled + actual distance of next bus transfer... So it is supposed to be route based distance. You check if you were charged correctly with the link. I took only one direct bus leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 I took only one direct bus leh... Yeah so should be fixed fee, if otherwise you should shoot them jialat jialat. It would be shown on the fare calculator Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluepica 4th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 I found there is an online calculator for distance based fares. http://www.publictransport.sg/publish/ptp/..._ticketing.html So it is actual distance of bus travelled + actual distance of next bus transfer... So it is supposed to be route based distance. You check if you were charged correctly with the link. The link not working leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carer 2nd Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 I found there is an online calculator for distance based fares. http://www.publictransport.sg/publish/ptp/..._ticketing.html So it is actual distance of bus travelled + actual distance of next bus transfer... So it is supposed to be route based distance. You check if you were charged correctly with the link. jialat.. link not working !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ticklish8 3rd Gear July 14, 2010 Author Share July 14, 2010 Minister think Singaporean "daft" n 1 minister even defended this new system after ppl complained of paying more. she said...ur daily fare may look like u r paying more, but in the long run u r paying less. WTF!!! how can i pay more everyday n 1 mth down the rd equals to me paying less??? some magical maths equation r in use here. like saying...u eat more veryday, n after 1 mth, u will lose 10kg. b-------t! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...