Hanging the singapore flag

Vextan

quick poll then...

should the rules on hanging the flag be removed?

if you were overseas would you be willing to hand a singapore flag for national day?

quick poll then...

should the rules on hanging the flag be removed?

if you were overseas would you be willing to hand a singapore flag for national day?

Quick answers then...

Yes. If the gahmen removed the stick from its collective butt, I would hang the flag with pride.

Yes.

I couldn't be bothered cos there are simply too many rules on hanging the flag.

Dunno cannot hang for more dan a month after ND lah. Hang wrongly will kenna Stomp lah. Hang faded flag will also kenna believe it or not. You will be handed a new one to replace the faded one. You will have to go thru the trouble of taking it down and putting it up again. Best is boh chap and leave the space blank cos anyway someone will come and put up one and take it down when the time is up.

Patriotism is in the heart. Even if I put up 100000000000 sgp flags no one will come pat my shoulder and praise me but may kenna Stomp and kenna branded for being crazy instead.

want me to hang? must give me free flag + incentive to hang it.

wah lanz, garmen 1st jul just gif u money, so fast u forget liao.

Do you hang the singapore flag in july and august ? if not, why ?

Depend on my mode. I am quite pissed off recently with MIW, let's see whether thing get better in few weeks time [:p]

What had MIW got to do with patriotism? Be loyal to the nation, not the political party. They will not rule SG forever.

I think one's patriotism need not be questioned just because never hang the flag for national day.

Most, if not all, of us have sweated blood and tears for at least 10-18years of NS; and still liable till 45-55, depending on rank and vocation, to lay one's life on the line for the country. That's f*cking patriotism. Not the wayang of hanging the flag.

Nowadays, the flag hanging is just a wayang show to make the neighbourhood RC look good, as there is an annual competition by PA to award the RC with the best decorated/displayed block with lots of moolah and fame.

I, for one, have not hung the flag out for years.. and it ain't gonna happen this year either. But, when push comes to shove... and we need to mobilise to go to war, I'll turn up in FBO at the mobilisation centre. Let's see how many of our vaunted FT and new PR/citizens, who are now carring the RC balls by running around hanging the flags at every nook and cranny, can say the same.

Edited by Parkingidiot

What had MIW got to do with patriotism? Be loyal to the nation, not the political party. They will not rule SG forever.

I beg to differ. Just look at the way the Lees silence their critics by raising lawsuits that involve millions of dollars, and simply arresting people as and when they like. :D:D

Who still dares to criticise them? There. [laugh]

sometimes cannot understand all the stupid rules on hanging flags and showing our patriotism.

Date: 1996

Occasion: Asian Cup Football Qualifying Round

Venue: National Stadium

I went to the all three matches, if you remember, that time no Malaysia Cup liao so the stadium no full, during the match against Thailand(must win to qualify), I toke out my Singapore flag and flash it at the Singapore team warming up, within seconds, 3 policeman came up to me and tell me politely to keep it else they will confiscate it, ask them why cannot and the policeman also shake his head say he dun understand also.

For those who remember, Singapore toke a 2 goals lead in the 2nd half before Thailand mount a comeback and force a 2-2 draw. V.Severaj scoring both Singapore goals.

i rem first and 2nd year the hanging of flag was introduce. garmen fine those flats that didnt put up the flat. that 2 years 100% all put up

hahaha

then dunno since when they remove that law

I beg to differ. Just look at the way the Lees silence their critics by raising lawsuits that involve millions of dollars, and simply arresting people as and when they like. :D:D

Who still dares to criticise them? There. [laugh]

me. I dare to criticise them, because my criticism is constructive, not baseless slander or name-calling. Those that were sued, deserved it.

And by definition, no political party can rule "forever", because statistics and probability show that in infinity, there's a chance anything can happen. By saying this, I hope more citizens can draw the line between serving the nation and serving the party. Our nation as a whole, stands to lose much if people cannot tell the difference between party and nation.

Political parties can make mistakes, the nation doesn't. One is a grouping of fallible humans, the other is an identity.

But, when push comes to shove... and we need to mobilise to go to war, I'll turn up in FBO at the mobilisation centre. Let's see how many of our vaunted FT and new PR/citizens, who are now carring the RC balls by running around hanging the flags at every nook and cranny, can say the same.

On behalf of our nation, thank you. Majulah Singapura!!