Do you mind being called "Sinkies"

Puteh

I find it very demeaning and derogatory too. I cannot fathom those to use it proudly...It's like calling yourselves retards.

But oh well, it's the internet....take things with the pinch of salt, cos sometimes if you have the power you check the IP address of these remarks coming from you'll be surprise those using it may not be your regular "heartlanders"..

Also once you get to see the faces of those who uses these terms, you'll probably shrug it off.

Edited by Pocus

In a country,variety program got said our Ang Mo v poor liao

their famous LA said we stupid

call Sinkies okay la lol

I'm offended by it.

I'd prefer SINGers...

It seemed a number of people are calling us by this term :huh: - how do you all feel about this? <_<

You are greatly mistaken, Puteh..the people who coined this term is probably those internet forum keyboard warriors..foreigners do not know this term at all [laugh]:D[rolleyes]

I think it's uncalled for. It's as bad as being called Chink, nigger, chao ang moh etc etc.

To make things worse, in terms of population we can considered ourselves a minority globally. To be called "Sinkies" , we are pretty much a targeted group.

If we look at the psychological pov, when ppl use such ethnic slurs they are trying to degrade the other party to make themselves feel good. In other words it's an ego thing or having an inferiority complex. I always feel it's the latter.

It seemed a number of people are calling us by this term :huh: - how do you all feel about this? <_<

Its worse being called "3K people"......

I think it's uncalled for. It's as bad as being called Chink, nigger, chao ang moh etc etc.

That's right! [thumbsup] I agree with you totally!

so maybe, ...... we need to be careful and refrain from using this term on ourselves and unknowingly promote this "title", whether in jest or otherwise. Contrary to what some had written here, I dont agree it is gahmeh's fault either. Some people are belittling Singaporeans and they are not directed at our gahmeh. :mellow:

I dont mind an endearing name like "Sing'ers" (as suggested by Freestylers09) but I take offence to being called "sinkies"! :angry:

Like I said, maybe its just me feeling this way...... [smallcry]

Considering how the island will flood in heavy rains, I say the term is sadly apt. [:p]

lol, only if it is referring to our islands [laugh][laugh] but not her people. <_<

Why the "k"?

Why not Singies? More appropriate rite?

Anyway Hongkies also not good.Sounds like Hiongkies! [laugh]

PS:I think w "k' is more derogatory. w 'g' shows some love & feeling of cuteness for us.

Edited by Csnewbie

Why the "k"?

Why not Singies? More appropriate rite?

Anyway Hongkies also not good.Sounds like Hiongkies! [laugh]

PS:I think w "k' is more derogatory. w 'g' shows some love & feeling of cuteness for us.

"By George, I think You've Got It!" well done! [thumbsup]

"Singies" would be NICE! [inlove]

Could we then use this term instead of the bo liao "sinkies" ugggh! [bigcry] in our future postings?

Just a suggestion....... [:)]

It seems like we started giving ourselves this label in forums to express our dismay/ displeasure of having the sinking feeling living in this country. Its not given to us by outsider. We own this name due to our inability/ cowardness/ laziness to 'fix' some air-heads who are living it up in their Ivory tower. The root word is "Sinkapore".