Do you mind being called "Sinkies"

Puteh

Those who don't agree to be called a Sinkie, should be called a "F@$king Sinkie" instead, beacuse you deserved to be F@#Ked as you are still on top of an ivory tower and ignorant of what is going on around yourself.

I dont agree to be called a Sinkie, period.

You want to be called a Sinkie, that's your perogative......Sinkie! I dont understand why you should get so upset just because I dont wished to be called one. [:)]

Yeah, I am okay with that too......but not when non-Singaporeans use this term to describe us <_<

sorry. are you 100% singaporean? by 100% i mean born in singapore(, or at least the majority of your siblings are, with you an accidental delivery while overseas). not what blue ic to pink ic conversion course.

Glad that you asked. Yes, I am 100% Singaporean. [:)]

And I take offense to people addressing me and all Singaporeans at large, "Sinkie". Granted, as strongly argued by some of the forum'ers here, some of us deserved to be called by that! But that is beside the point. I find "Sinkie" a very demeaning term and I advocate that we should refrain from addressing ourselves as that. If we keep addressing ourselves by that, in time to come, others around us may take our cue and follow suit! Soon, we will be going by the name "Sinkie", in place of "Singaporean", as in the derogatory "nigger" for negro (pardon me, no offense mean to the negro race).

Haha. Well, I find it strange that any sgpns will concern themselves with such matters coz such a status isn't exactly earned - it's merely a birthright. I would think that perhaps ppl who fought for their nationality might be more concerned instead.

it all depends on how proud you are of your country and countrymen....

no pride... you wont give a damn

got pride... you will feel bad

for me i don't really have pride in a country which doesn't take care of its animals or the elderlies

but having said all these i believe name calling(e.g. sinkies) is not going to help make this world a happier place in any way.... so what is the point... might as well don't do it.

i know even the higher ups resort to name calling such as calling us "dafts"..... but no need to follow these ppl who have no values

Edited by Blackwind

Classic degetory term to describe a nationality behind the anonymity of a forum.

In the real world, Singaporeans have the luxury of going home every day without the risk of getting mugged or kidnapped. I can't say that for the majority of Asian region.

Jeolasy can be a potent inflence on name-callers [:p]

Not pointing to you but if you want the right not to be called these terms, then you need to not call others the same with these derogatory remarks, starting from those FTs that work here.

Singaporeans don't like to be called names but they themselves labelled the FTs working here with all kind of derogatory remarks? Make sense?

It seemed a number of people are calling us by this term :huh: - how do you all feel about this? <_<

Not pointing to you but if you want the right not to be called these terms, then you need to not call others the same with these derogatory remarks, starting from those FTs that work here.

Singaporeans don't like to be called names but they themselves labelled the FTs working here with all kind of derogatory remarks? Make sense?

It is a "FT" or whoever choice to make a living in a foreign land like Singapore, not Singaporean.

Back to the excuse of name-calling based on "You do me then I'll get back at you" does not make sense. Why?

If one has an axe to grind a particular Singaporean, then straighten out with THAT person.

Which one describes Singaporeans ah? [confused]

1. Sinkie

The act of washing one's genetallia in the wash basin. usually done when there is no time to shower, pre or post coitus.

seen sometimes as an emergency wash.

The wife came home early last night. had to have a quick sinkie so she couldn't taste the babysitter.

woke up next to a total ugly random this morning. i was so disgusted that i had a quick sinkie, got dressed, made my excuses and left.

2. sinkie

A person who eats their food over the kitchen sink to save cleaning up any mess. Usually is a bachelor who lives alone in a small apartment.

A sinkie likes to eat his beans straight out the pot.

Source: Urban Dictionary

Heck la, sometimes we also use *ahem* terms when referring to other races, i don't know about u but im sure many ppl did.

Anyway mouth belongs to other people, or in this case Fingers(to type) so....heck la.

got other things in life to be bothered about.

Heck la, sometimes we also use *ahem* terms when referring to other races, i don't know about u but im sure many ppl did.

Anyway mouth belongs to other people, or in this case Fingers(to type) so....heck la.

got other things in life to be bothered about.

Many people use it doesn't make it right.

It seemed a number of people are calling us by this term :huh: - how do you all feel about this? <_<

ahahahah i was the originator for this slang at mcf seems like everyone is adapting well, oh well

!

Many people use it doesn't make it right.

yea i understand, name calling isn't right at all to start with. my point is, how are u gonna shut so many ppl up?

We're only peasants, my surname not lee. they want to say then say lor... Whatever makes them happy.

Classic degetory term to describe a nationality behind the anonymity of a forum.

In the real world, Singaporeans have the luxury of going home every day without the risk of getting mugged or kidnapped. I can't say that for the majority of Asian region.

Jeolasy can be a potent inflence on name-callers [:p]

but no other asian countries claim they are No. 1

safety is relative

what do you think of ISA

a - but no other asian countries claim they are No. 1

b - safety is relative

c - what do you think of ISA

a) Is being "No.#1" a sin? Or it confirms my earlier assumption that Jealousy is one of the cause of the name-calling?

b) Safety isn't relative: It is a fact what every civilized human wants to live in peace and free from crime.

c) You are confused.: That's a gov policy, not Singaporean's.

it is only a nick name

no big deal

Well....so what's the fuss with using "FT***", "angmoh", "ke-lings", "cheena", "faggot", "blackie", "kiao tor" .. to discribe another communities? No big deal right?