Kia K5

Tohto

Kia want market share or margin?

They can earn their margin through car finance , ins n etc.

Their Mkt Dept will handle this..

Take a leaf from MI , Forester model.How they play with the OMV....

Now selling so well..

Anyway, only C&C can decide..

We at the sidelines can only kpkb n zou xiao..

This is CnC we are talking about here. Not Kia themselves. As far as I understand CnC business model. They are here to make profit more so then fighting for market share for the brand. If wearnes take over KIA distributorship, then we got chance to see them bringing this model in.

Half-Fxxk Executive Summary from me..

K3 (nearly full specs) at 96k ish to Altis at 109k ish.. Still got many buyers for K3..

K5 GT (with nice engine specs/features) at 120k ish to Camry at 135k ish.... Will have buyers looking for power n comfort car..

Once , they test drive the car with a 350 nm torque power, that should sway their decision...

Niro at 116k is never gonna sell..look at Vertex with their Sit cars..What are they thinking abt?

Look at Wearnes with their Megane sensitive pricing, selling not bad..

Auto Germany with their chili padi 1.4 Astra also selling not bad n furthermore they managed overcome Opel previously bad reputation..kudos to them..

It all boils down to Ai mai nia...n due diligence of the mktg dept..

With BM mgt now in transition, C&C still waiting for what...

You're not going to get the K5 GT at $120K+ lar... even the normal K5 is $130K now lor... the Sonata is $131K... it's quite clear that the strategy isn't to market these cars... the way I'm reading their strategy is that price for these are not competitive, and so better promote the Cat A cars...

All the ADs would be trying to make money, more so for themselves than for their principal suppliers.. that's a given.

But it would be a tough juggle of pricing, sales, investment in service support, profit and maintaining distributor rights.

The K5s brought in are really pretty decent, n good value for $$.

Spoke to KIA marketing before, awhile ago, about the TC models. They didn't think the TCs will sell at what they need to be priced, which presumably included target profit.

Would seriously consider one myself if decently/reasonably priced, but also don't think C&C will bring in.

Unless KIA big-time lelong to off-load their sedans, to clear inventory?

Edited by K5G1

Bro.. can be more positive or not?

At least can wish right?

If u think boh, means boh lor..

After some calculations, I still think it's possible after some over-trade schemes..

Anyway, let's wait n see hor..dun get so uptight over some money wasting commodity..

U n me boh hoon in Kia n C&C one hor...

Stay Loose n remain calm..

Have a gr8 week ahead..

• Praise 10

Bro.. can be more positive or not?

At least can wish right?

If u think boh, means boh lor..

After some calculations, I still think it's possible after some over-trade schemes..

Anyway, let's wait n see hor..dun get so uptight over some money wasting commodity..

U n me boh hoon in Kia n C&C one hor...

Stay Loose n remain calm..

Have a gr8 week ahead..

You know I wished so hard for the 1.6T engines to be brought in when this K5 was first launched... but wait until now still don't have... same for the Sonata... was pretty excited at having a powerful but fuel efficient engine especially after reading good reviews about it... I was looking forward since Dec 2015 bro... still no sign leh... I just settled for the 2.0 L NA sunroof model last year lor... wait until neck long long still no sign at all... and told there was no intention to bring at all... and as the bro above pointed out, the Komoco sales person who is someone I know quite well and also old bird, he said exactly the same thing as the C&C marketing person... not saleable at the price point required to make a decent profit... what to do... Edited by teomingern

Hip hip hurrah for the AD in Malaysia!

Anyone knows price difference in M'sia between Sport equivalent and GT?

Will someone play this clip over and over again at C&C Leng Kee? [laugh]

Be advised Bolehland Optima GT is a CKD model, and being a CKD, they did took out a few features

-   Blind Spot Detection and Lane Departure warning were removed. I can live with these deletion esp that lane departure warning. If u need a computer to scream and vibrate the steering wheel to remind u are drifting off course, you shouldn't be driving liao. You are a danger to other road users

-   The shocks valve rates are not electrically adj. This is not a good move.... Although I doubt any Pusat abang kereta servis knows how to replace these high tech shocks la

-   Its unknown if their GT is Euro 4 compliant or still stuck in the crude Euro 2. Euro 4 means the driver can only refuel 97 octane over there. Either way, SG needs Euro 6 so can't possibly share the same stocks la

I just bought K5 (2013) in July. The first owner takes good care of the car and makes me wonder why she replace many parts and sell it few mths later. :)

This K5 only has Cool Ventilated seat for Driver side. All other passengers include rear are warm ventilated seats. I wonder why they dont put all cool ventilated instead? :/

My this 2013 model already has electronic Handbrake, reverse camera. Others are same as 2012 model i think....

Left with few months to warranty over... should i wait till then, then i change HU? I intend to change rims when the tyres r botak.

Anyone driving 2013 K5 model as well? :)

FYI, on Jan 2018, Stinger is coming SG shores... and Kia has cleared the last batch of K5. Doubt they r bringing in K5 anymore...

I just bought K5 (2013) in July. The first owner takes good care of the car and makes me wonder why she replace many parts and sell it few mths later. :)

This K5 only has Cool Ventilated seat for Driver side. All other passengers include rear are warm ventilated seats. I wonder why they dont put all cool ventilated instead? :/

My this 2013 model already has electronic Handbrake, reverse camera. Others are same as 2012 model i think....

Left with few months to warranty over... should i wait till then, then i change HU? I intend to change rims when the tyres r botak.

Anyone driving 2013 K5 model as well? :)

FYI, on Jan 2018, Stinger is coming SG shores... and Kia has cleared the last batch of K5. Doubt they r bringing in K5 anymore...

mayb mileage nt real? thus u c d new parts despite relatively new...

LOL.. always good to be alert for "tricks"!

Depending on what "parts" were replaced.., if normal wear & tear items, that's normal especially if mileage is relatively high, say 25k+ annual? If other parts, they would be covered under the 5-year warranty!

For my K5 @ 6-year (110k), KIA-SG only had to change some aircond part under warranty in yr5. And I just replaced brake pads though the old ones could have lasted another "3~6" months. Plus tires, of course.

There are some weather/temperature related stuff like rubber/sponge deterioration but otherwise it's quite a "carefree" car!

mayb mileage nt real? thus u c d new parts despite relatively new...

Erm... i have checked with C&C when i send in for servicing. They let me see their system and past history of my k5...

LOL.. always good to be alert for "tricks"!

Depending on what "parts" were replaced.., if normal wear & tear items, that's normal especially if mileage is relatively high, say 25k+ annual? If other parts, they would be covered under the 5-year warranty!

For my K5 @ 6-year (110k), KIA-SG only had to change some aircond part under warranty in yr5. And I just replaced brake pads though the old ones could have lasted another "3~6" months. Plus tires, of course.

There are some weather/temperature related stuff like rubber/sponge deterioration but otherwise it's quite a "carefree" car! ðªðªððð

Looking to check out the Stinger (which is a 1st gen K5 'lookalike')! Hopefully, it'll be affordable n just as trouble-free.

I check that whatever need to replace, previous owner already replace. My recent servicing basically paid only $200.