Is plasma TV an outgoing technology to be replaced by LED?

Vega

check how many hdmi

1 made in china

2 or 3 assemble in singapore

3 hdmi

somehow got tis feel tat korea made tv r better in terms of technology n refinement.............. [rolleyes]

true with extras some more

but do take note

i've own mostly korean brands tv samsung lg because price factor

but the only negative side is their speaker

if its too loud the sound is like muffle inwards

sometimes got to turn volume up just to hear dialogues in a movie

but that is last time

right now the current batch i'm not very sure if they have improve their sound system

Buy TV of cos is concern about Picture quality mah. If watching SD TV like those starhub channels, ch 5, ch 8. Then Plasma is the choice man. unless u tell me u planning to on your TV 10+ hours per day then maybe the power consumption is an issue. LCD dosen't even come close to plasma for SD TV. Considering the low price and low popularity of plasma now, it makes good value for money. And if possible go for the best plasma (lol since prices are low right) = Pioneer.

bro for movies i mention are those animated cartoons

if you guys really observe why most of them show movies like cars/monster inc or the latest avatar on led/lcd

its because they want to attract you to the contrast and rich colours

if you tell them to play normal movies for example dumb and dumber

compare them side by side will have little or no difference at all

same.. even for movies like up! and shrek, the LCD is not really that fantastic.

but that's just me.. don't let that bite you [:)]

Buy TV of cos is concern about Picture quality mah. If watching SD TV like those starhub channels, ch 5, ch 8. Then Plasma is the choice man. unless u tell me u planning to on your TV 10+ hours per day then maybe the power consumption is an issue. LCD dosen't even come close to plasma for SD TV. Considering the low price and low popularity of plasma now, it makes good value for money. And if possible go for the best plasma (lol since prices are low right) = Pioneer.

i think Pioneer exited the plasma TV biz liao. they sold the "black" series technology to Panasonic.

just bought a LG 42PJ350 two weeks ago ... new model of plasma tv... date of mfg mar 2010. ...

btw, new model not in the mfg date only. go for what you like.

i prefer plasma and have been wanting to get one ... even when LED came out, i still prefer plasma.

Bro , how much u bought this ?

as long it is cheap and the size and thickness is about the same as lcd/led

i go for plasma anytime

The power consumption ranking :

1. Plasma TV

2. LCD CCFL TV

3. LCD LED TV

CCFL is the light source to illuminate your LCD TV - its the reason why your LCD TV looks bulky.

CCFL consumes more power than LED.

Plasma TV still gives you the best picture quality.

Both of them has comparable Lifespan. but LCD will experience Dead Pixels...

Buy the one that best suits your needs...

dun worry.... tv technology takes a long time to be phase out.

jus look at your CRT... it is a classic example... [laugh]

using both LCD LED TV and Plasma..Plasma is much more vibrant but the heat generated is alot..can feel it if u standing right infront of the screen..

Plasma TV is similar to CRT TV as both use chemcal to produce the color whereas LCD TV is using color filter.

So in term of contrast...plasma will be better..However in term of improvement, Plasma TV has already reached a saturation..now they are focussing more on how to be energy efficient..which led to the neo-panel by panasonic. It seems that Samsung & LG are not so aggressive in promoting their plasma tv in the last couple of yr.

LCD TV technology can still be improved, mainly in the area of response time..now should be in the region of 2 or 3 milliseconds. and they are now using LED panel to lightup the screen instead of CCFL...which led to a slimmer TV set..more energy efficient and a"brighter" image

All of the panasonic plasma tv sold locally are made in spore...only the very high end models (only 1 or 2) are from japan.

In term of value for money now...it will definitely be plasma tv; but lcd tv is almost catching up and with company introducing more LED backlit LCD TV...those using CCFL are being lelong away..

Enjoy your purchase.

S$829 - 10% = $747.

and yes ... its very hot !! on the first few days, you can even smell the "heat" !!

Edited by Ysc3

latest tech is for the tech freak and the poser....but not for those who usual program comes from the expensive rental box... :D

LG 42PJ350 is good, thin and nice

last seen 799-800+ range

i wasted got the one before this...i have the urge to get this for my study room..currently my room got 26 LCD and 42 LG plasma

Plasma still beat LCD when i tested both for TV and gaming ..last time blur blur got buy LCD instead..kns

Plasma energy consumption has improved in recent years.. current models typically consumes 30-40% less power than those models 5 yrs ago. So while it does consume more power than LCD, it does not run that much hotter lah.. unless it's a FHD Plasma.. FHD Plasma power consumption is much higher than HDR Plasma.

I'm still happy with my 8mths old $699 HDR Made in Singapore Panasonic 42" Plasma ^_^

My 50" Panny plasma consume around 150W in normal. it goes to 300W when show the bright white screen and below 50W when the screen in black. Hope this help

I also bought an LED (LG) 42" @ 1.7k to replace my 34" CRT [shocked]

was looking at panasonic plasma v series @ 2k+ but eventually low pricing won me over [thumbsup]

but i must say plasma display is much better than LCD [nod]

Actually also not much difference other than the resolution which is much clearer and also wad some bros have pointed out...Its much hotter ....

I guess plasma tv is actually much better cos saves you quite alot of space....

Thus won't be so bulky looking... [:)]