Joseph22 Turbocharged July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 problem is many auto drivers still rather brake at bends or rush hour traffic rather then engaging lower gear when driving...maybe they hold class 3a.haha wah.. later class 3a driver come and humtun you say you discriminate them. actually i was wondering, for those tiptonic type. even for 4 AT. They should be able to do engine brake right? my car only have D, DS and L. hence not much chance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 Is it okay to regularly downshift and engine break using Paddle Shift (Auto) ? Will it damage the gearbox ? Don't know why I love the feel of engine break lol i have a impression that its okay for Paddle Shift type to down gear. but not adviceble for those D,DS and L type. any expert here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 Is it okay to regularly downshift and engine break using Paddle Shift (Auto) ? Will it damage the gearbox ? Don't know why I love the feel of engine break lol If not, why manufacturers want to design an auto gearbox with gear change? Can always simply take away the downshift altogether to save cost right? I have switched to Auto about 6 years ago and I've been using the stick of my auto gearbox ever since. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 Once I was behind a Mark X on the Keppel viaduct towards airport and he's on lane 1. Every few seconds he steps on the brake to slow down his car. it was so frustrating behind him I had to overtake on his left. maybe because mark x is too powerful, so he must step brake to control, otherwise mark x will fly seriously, maybe he lost his way & slows down to think of alternative routes. another thing I notice, whenever there is TP or speed cams, singaporeans must slow down drastically to speeds way below speed limit. Is there anything wrong with going at speed limit or slightly below? dun tell me they are so kaypoh that they must see the TP This is also irritating as it disrupts traffic flow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 one reason: Most singaporeans like to follow too closely & do not anticipate what is happening in front. for instance, one should look at vehicles & situation in front, not just the front vehicle. If one can do that, then no need to brake so often. example, if traffic slowing down in front, ease off accelerator & not keep stepping on accelerator. Like this, then no need to brake so often. if red light in front, no point to step hard, just ease off or even let car roll. I have seen many, esp those turbo cars still picking up speed, only to brake hard at the lights. Remember, brake less often means minimizing wear on brakes & even fuel. brake only when necessary. keep a safe distance. by the way, dun you all find that driving too closely behind makes heart beat faster? Based on studies, fast & furious drivers/tailgaters have shorter life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 Without any car in front or the car in front doesn't stepping brake at all, or even going up slope. Why SG drivers like to step brake so often? I only can think of few reasons below. 1)Following to close 2)Suddenly realise over speed limit. 3)Opposite road accident. 4)Using HP 5)Seeing 6)New licence 7)Wire short circuit Or any other? I had experience a car in front of me keep on stepping brake from SLE - CTE - AYE Don't understand why i was directly behind you and also wondering why you always step brake.. and i think the car behind me also wonder why i always step brake. it is an entire chain of cars stepping brake cos heavy traffic.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sann_1 Clutched July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 I just read through the topic..Sorry, i am one of the culpirit..Driving a hybrid and i do light braking on the road often to charge my battery..So next time, try not to drive behind a hybrid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 (edited) I sat in such cab before and asked him this question, why you brake so much. He answered, tired and cannot focus. I questioned him again, then y drive? Need to feed family. So, if that you are stuck behind a cab, live and let live. But a private car, these are really idiots as they do not spend so much time on roads and maybe 1 hours or so per day. bro, i can undestand, its not easy to earn a living on the road.. I used to do sales and driving ave 3 to 4 hrs a day ... its only 1/4 of what an average taxi driver are driving but enough to make me tired but in this incident, the driver u mentioned its not only risking his life.. he is risking the passenger life (in this case, its u), as well as other road users... just imagine, if he really fall asleep for a few seconds and then wake up, suddently realise that he is gg to hit the centre divider, jam break hard and what happen next??? I dunno, he may caused a chain accident... maybe car turn upside down cause cannot stop in time and hit the kerb suddently... maybe his car skid and go the the next lane and it was a trailer beside him... He may be lucky this time round but if he is not fit to drive long hours... he should not try his luck. A simply 15mins break at coffeeshop could save his life. Why so selfish and risk his life as well as others??... he can get away 1 time, or even 1000 times... but he only need to get it 1 round to turn his wife a widow and his kids orphan.. Edited July 7, 2010 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 I totally agree with tigershark. The taxidriver is very irresponsible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 Especially steven roads bend.. 90kmh should be able to clear the corner properly what.. There is one guy who can do 160kmh with a "stun bar" installed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busybody 1st Gear July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 Without any car in front or the car in front doesn't stepping brake at all, or even going up slope. I brake when going up slope when I can't see what's to come infront of me. Safety. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 Auto car also can use downshift or shift paddle control to regulate speed mah . Regards, I tried a few times but seems 'le zhe' le , maybe so get used to auto liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 QUOTE (Opel17 @ Jul 7 2010, 12:00 AM) Perhaps, when their speed exceed by 0.5 kmh, they step on the brake to slow down to speed limit, a short while exceed 0.5 kmh step again lor. OMG. Come to think of it... it sounds very much like cruise control Anyone here with a cruise control in his/her car willing to volunteer for an experiment? ================== Perhaps, when their speed exceed by 0.5 kmh, they step on the brake to slow down to speed limit, a short while exceed 0.5 kmh step again lor. OMG. ---> this is almost like "manual cruise control". ---> anyway, I am a bit sarcastic when I see other roaduser behave this way, somehow irritating to other roadusers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 There is one guy who can do 160kmh with a "stun bar" installed he's a polar bear.. any car he sit in = lowered. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear July 8, 2010 Share July 8, 2010 he's a polar bear.. any car he sit in = lowered. hahahha good one! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear July 8, 2010 Share July 8, 2010 agreed with TS, there are lots of poor drivers on the road and it does irritate the "hell" out of me following such drivers .... don't they know that they just have to move their right feet and the accelerator, the car will slow down. There is no issue whether it is a Manual or Auto car, it is the same right feet. These drivers I would classified them as kuku drivers. Sorry to say this but I personally find this behaviour more common among woman drivers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weihui Clutched July 8, 2010 Share July 8, 2010 Most of these brake-gas-brake drivers are just an incompetent driver that likes to drive on lane 1. Do not know how control speed via gas pedal. Nothing to do with Auto or manual. These drivers just press on gas pedal to reach the speed they want. When the speed is reached and start overshooting, they will brake to decelerate. And gas pedal again to reach the speed they want. the cycle repeats itself and never ends because all road conditions are different. In control technology we call it unstable system, the system never reaches a stable desire value. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 If not, why manufacturers want to design an auto gearbox with gear change? Can always simply take away the downshift altogether to save cost right? I have switched to Auto about 6 years ago and I've been using the stick of my auto gearbox ever since. Regards, I tried the Shift these 2 days and it bring back the fun of driving in manual mode in the old day . Surprisingly, I notice my fuel consumption has improved. Usually it hovers around 8.8 - 9.4 km/l, now it is 9.8 - 10 km/l. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...