Yellowrx8 Clutched July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 This morning while i was driving up 99 bend. After exit, i saw 2 cyclist occupy the 3rd lane. Side by side, machiam their father's road. Stop at the traffic light, then slowly cycle off. Everyone driving or riding need to siam them. Then when reach holland road, WORSE! 1 stupid angmo woman cyclist, stop her bicycle at the middle lane, While waiting for the traffic light! Then when green light, she was cycling 10km/h at the same lane! CCB! These cyclists are simply so selfish! [furious] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 clear carbon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 clear carbon Would be a nice ironic punishment, since I bet a lot of those cyclists are clean air freaks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 Would be a nice ironic punishment, since I bet a lot of those cyclists are clean air freaks. I also cyclist, but my bicycle is always attached to the car these days.. too lazy to cycle to anywhere. Drive there then cycle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yellowrx8 Clutched July 6, 2010 Author Share July 6, 2010 They are getting too much! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 I also cyclist, but my bicycle is always attached to the car these days.. too lazy to cycle to anywhere. Drive there then cycle. So your car is basically a mobile bicycle rack? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 So your car is basically a mobile bicycle rack? Yeah, but only for 1 bike. Should had checked if it had fold down rear seats before I bought it.. DON'T HAVE. In the end the bike always carried around on the rear seat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 Ya, saw 1 cyclist this morning cycling at lane 2 along Mandai Road towards BKE. I don't undersatnd why he wanted to take such a risk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 To Yellorx8, I m also cyclists (i don't challenge cars). i know how vulnerable a position i m in. But i know some cyclists who are outright anti-car people. They want to hao lian on the road right? Lucky they meet you. Wait till they meet their match (some KL drivers). They will only learn their lesson when they have to live the rest of their lives with a limb or two missing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yellowrx8 Clutched July 7, 2010 Author Share July 7, 2010 Bro, i know its good to cycle to be healthy. BUT if those cyclists dun even care about their lifes. Once something happen, they should not KPKB. Driving in singapore is already so stressful. So many red lights, so many road hogs and now these cyclists come occupy 1 lane. Then expect we road paying users to pay extra attention to them. I dun feel sad if they kn knock dw, cos there are really a lot of idiotic cyclists tat give those who really cycle properly a bad name. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 (edited) I don't mind cyclists on the road per se (seriously! ) But i don't like the self-entitled manner some (not all) of them ride. For e.g. the other day I was driving on an overpass near Bkt Timah, when I came across a whole bunch of cyclists who had chosen to occupy the entire left lane of the three lane flyover. They were riding two abreast simply to occupy the whole lane. They shouldn't even have been on the flyover in the first place, given that it's meant for faster vehicles to bypass the traffic lights below. Why the heck couldn't they just have taken the low road? Riders (if you agree with these guys), please help me understand the logic here. And just to head you off - the added safety/convenience to these guys in bypassing the traffic junctions in the low road does not justify the inconvenience of reducing the available lanes (for faster vehicles) on the flyover by a third. (Oh, and yes, the remaining two lanes were more packed and sluggish-moving than usual on account of drivers having to 'siam' these bikers). Edited July 7, 2010 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gl240 Neutral Newbie July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 I don't mind cyclists on the road per se (seriously! ) But i don't like the self-entitled manner some (not all) of them ride. For e.g. the other day I was driving on an overpass near Bkt Timah, when I came across a whole bunch of cyclists who had chosen to occupy the entire left lane of the three lane flyover. They were riding two abreast simply to occupy the whole lane. They shouldn't even have been on the flyover in the first place, given that it's meant for faster vehicles to bypass the traffic lights below. Why the heck couldn't they just have taken the low road? Riders (if you agree with these guys), please help me understand the logic here. And just to head you off - the added safety/convenience to these guys in bypassing the traffic junctions in the low road does not justify the inconvenience of reducing the available lanes (for faster vehicles) on the flyover by a third. (Oh, and yes, the remaining two lanes were more packed and sluggish-moving than usual on account of drivers having to 'siam' these bikers). Too many of these chao ang moh along BT Timah Road. They think they have the right of way, any where, never stop at red light..... Shouldn't they also follow the traffic rules if they want other road users to treat them equal??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear July 8, 2010 Share July 8, 2010 I don't mind cyclists on the road per se (seriously! ) But i don't like the self-entitled manner some (not all) of them ride. For e.g. the other day I was driving on an overpass near Bkt Timah, when I came across a whole bunch of cyclists who had chosen to occupy the entire left lane of the three lane flyover. They were riding two abreast simply to occupy the whole lane. They shouldn't even have been on the flyover in the first place, given that it's meant for faster vehicles to bypass the traffic lights below. Why the heck couldn't they just have taken the low road? Riders (if you agree with these guys), please help me understand the logic here. And just to head you off - the added safety/convenience to these guys in bypassing the traffic junctions in the low road does not justify the inconvenience of reducing the available lanes (for faster vehicles) on the flyover by a third. (Oh, and yes, the remaining two lanes were more packed and sluggish-moving than usual on account of drivers having to 'siam' these bikers). bro agree with you. cyclists who keep to the side, ride safely, sure. but those a-----es in their getup and ride2-3 abreast, screw them. they are fair game for the other irritants on the road, the driver who also think they own the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched July 8, 2010 Share July 8, 2010 Too many of these chao ang moh along BT Timah Road. They think they have the right of way, any where, never stop at red light..... Shouldn't they also follow the traffic rules if they want other road users to treat them equal??? Yup. We treat them equally. If a car beats the red light we crash into them. If a cyclist beats the right, we crash into them too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewl Clutched July 8, 2010 Share July 8, 2010 To be fair to those who obey the rules, they try to keep to the extreme left of the road and do not cycle thru the red lights. But I have seen a few of them (both ang mo and singaporean) who ride along upper thomson road during weekend bashing thru the red lights. Certainly a danger to the pedestrians who are crossing the road, who have to keep a look out for them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear July 8, 2010 Share July 8, 2010 Also means TP not doing their job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fondue Neutral Newbie July 8, 2010 Share July 8, 2010 I don't mind cyclists on the road per se (seriously! ) But i don't like the self-entitled manner some (not all) of them ride. For e.g. the other day I was driving on an overpass near Bkt Timah, when I came across a whole bunch of cyclists who had chosen to occupy the entire left lane of the three lane flyover. They were riding two abreast simply to occupy the whole lane. They shouldn't even have been on the flyover in the first place, given that it's meant for faster vehicles to bypass the traffic lights below. Why the heck couldn't they just have taken the low road? Please verify with TP yourself, but as far as I know, only Expressways are out of bound. Also, cycling 2 breast to occupy whole lane is for safety ,(and its allowed according to the road traffic act too). The lane is too narrow for 1 bike and 1 car to travel abreast safely, but many drivers like to try if given the chance, and some of them not skillful enough to maintain a straight course. Riders (if you agree with these guys), please help me understand the logic here. And just to head you off - the added safety/convenience to these guys in bypassing the traffic junctions in the low road does not justify the inconvenience of reducing the available lanes (for faster vehicles) on the flyover by a third. The "low road" you mentioned, its just as bad cos the left lane is only for left turns and vehicles turning to Bt Timah usually goes very fast. Need to stay on 2nd lane to go straight, and I'm sure someone else will kpkb about them not keeping to the left lane. Then there is the bus stop without bus bay that makes the traffic there more chaotic. Its a choice between the lesser evil. (Oh, and yes, the remaining two lanes were more packed and sluggish-moving than usual on account of drivers having to 'siam' these bikers). On a 3-lane road, as long as the cyclist keep to the left most lane, please exercise a bit more social graciousness. It only delays your travel time by a few minutes, but if anything were to happen to the cyclist, they may only get home 7-days later. As long as they are following traffic rules, just treat them as SLOW vehicles. Having said that, if there are cyclist who weaves in between traffic and ride dangerously without regards for other road users, use your HORN!!!, take note of the names on their jersey and send a feedback to their respective cycling group. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fondue Neutral Newbie July 8, 2010 Share July 8, 2010 ...................... Then expect we road paying users to pay extra attention to them. ......................................... Try looking at it from a different angle.....I pay road tax too, but sometimes if the timing allows, I leave the car at home and use a combination of bike and bus to get to work instead, thereby subsidizing other road tax payer for the use of the road. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...