Girl_powerful Neutral Newbie July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 Why Singaporeans so unhelpful? Kiasee or what? Not human decency, can't be bordered... I'm Ashamed. News Article: By Elysa Chen SHE had dark bruises on her face, a broken nose and a gash in her left calf that was so deep that it exposed her bone. Her boyfriend's jaw was dislocated, several teeth were chipped and his lip was torn. He is now in the intensive care unit. The couple had passed out after their scooter collided with a lorry. But no driver stopped to help them. Not the lorry driver, and not the driver of a black car they had passed just seconds earlier, they said. Though still in hospital, Miss Lydia Lau and her boyfriend, Mr Elroy Wong, both 19, have started looking for witnesses to the accident on Ang Mo Kio Avenue 3 at about 9pm on June 28. Mr Wong has been riding since he got his Class 2B licence in October. Miss Lau, an events coordinator, contacted The New Paper to appeal for witnesses to come forward. She said: "There were two drivers. Why didn't they stop to help us?" As they had passed out, they could not remember how long they were on the road. Passers-by later helped them up and called for an ambulance. They also alerted the police, said Miss Lau. The couple were on a scooter heading from Miss Lau's home in Hougang to Mr Wong's home in Ang Mo Kio when the accident happened. They were in the middle lane along Ang Mo Kio Ave 3. A black car filtering in from the CTE turn-off cut into their path.To avoid hitting the car, Mr Wong swerved to the extreme right lane and accelerated past the car. Miss Lau said: "We had no choice but to accelerate, because if we had hit the brakes, we would have hit the black car." After they passed the car, the accident happened about 300m down the road at the junction of Ang Mo Kio Avenue 3 and Ang Mo Kio Avenue 10. Mr Wong said that the traffic lights at the junction were in his favour but he slowed down when he saw a lorry from the opposite direction inching forward to mak ea right turn. Thinking the lorry driver was giving way, he accelerated. But the lorry moved forward to make the turn. Mr Wong hit his brakes, but he said the front tyres of his scooter locked, causing the rear to skid and hit the back of the lorry. The couple is now questioning why the lorry driver didn't stop to help them. Mr Wong said it is impossible that the lorry driver would not have known about the accident. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 SG has already become like this... "Don't try to KPO so much and try to avoid alot of trouble" was what we were taught.... Nowadays alot of bo chap ppl ma.... They don't care how ppl feel, only care abt themselves.... Face the fact bah.... [shakehead] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 riding a bike is very the Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 Genovese Syndrome. Also called the Bystander Effect. It does not affect just Singaporeans. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Genovese_syndrome Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 (edited) Doesn't answer the lady's question (except I'll say that someone should really have stopped to help), but the account of her boyfriend's riding (which should be self-serving to begin with, since it's from the scooter's side) has already convinced me he is neither a safe nor defensive rider. He swerves and accelerates to avoid a filtering car - OK, let's give him the benefit of the doubt in this case, even though he should probably have been slowing down instead. Then he sees a lorry inching forward and gets his signals mixed up. First he slows down, then he convinces himself the lorry will give way, and chiongs forward. That's just terrible judgement. Rule no. 1 - never hesitate. Doesn't matter if you're giving way or taking your right of way, when you commit, COMMIT!! Edited July 6, 2010 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 (edited) CB lorry..can be charged as hit & run? Edited July 6, 2010 by Aaron_soh80 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 when I read...My first thought was...yes....why didn't they stop and help....then I ask myself...what's new...it is just Singapore or anywhere in the world... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 CB lorry..can be charged as hit & run? Sure. If they catch him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 The lorry driver is helping the police in their investigations into the accident. Mr Wong said the accident had traumatised him and he now wants to sell his scooter. http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/Story...705-225340.html http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/...5-225340/2.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 CB lorry..can be charged as hit & run? Can be charged la... But what's the point... If the accident is fatal??? What's the point anymore.... A life might be lost due to the negligence.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 Mr Wong said the accident had traumatised him and he now wants to sell his scooter. traumatised? now then regret! Didn't his parent/relative/friends ask him not to buy the scooter or apply for a bike license? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrc206 Neutral Newbie July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 From the flyover to the AMK Ave 10 junction quite far leh. He did not mentioned how fast he was going... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 traumatised? now then regret! Didn't his parent/relative/friends ask him not to buy the scooter or apply for a bike license? Actually the thing is to encourage safety driving/riding... We are not here to ask them NOT to ride... But rather how to ride safely... But seriously, i find it quite absurd that he didn't stop nor slow down near the traffic junction even though it is in favor of him... Even if midnight/night or what so ever....I always practice this rule of slowing down near the traffic lights....Because we would never know someone might just dashed across the road....So its better to safe than sorry... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 Should other drivers have stopped and helped? Well, it is a case of damned if you do and damned if you don't. If anyone other than the lorry driver stopped to help, what assurance is there that the scooter rider would not turn around and submit a false claim against them? After all, they probably didn't manage to get the lorry's license plate no. and if they are desperate, they might submit a claim against any driver who stops instead. After all, if you didn't hit them, why did you stop? Giving them the benefit of the doubt that they are honest folks, a police report needs to be made with endless hassle for the driver who kindly stops to render assistance. But if you don't help because of all the selfish reasons above, then you may have to live with a guilty conscience that someone lost their lives because you were selfish. You also have to live with the fact that you are a self-centered and ugly human. It is a tough call to make in real life and in the split second. Would I have stopped to help them? I certainly hope I have the conviction to do what is right but I cannot say so with 100% certainty. So easy to say do the right thing behind a keyboard, wholly different when you are facing the circumstances for real. I will not condemn those who didn't stop, because human instinct is to be selfish. But I will praise those who did help, in the end. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 (edited) this type of f***** lorry driver, die die want to turn right, i damn scared of them. cos its the driver side, they will contact 1st. TMD. i won't wanna be hero anytime and accelerate, expecting him to stop for me. i will go slow.... expecting him to stop... (so he lan lan got to wait) then if he turn right, i will HORN HORN HORN ! tats my style la.. i also kia see one rather lose face, then lose life (let lorry cut , cut lo) Edited July 6, 2010 by Sk65 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercur1al Clutched July 6, 2010 Share July 6, 2010 Some people dun stop as it is too troublesome. I've stopped on the CTE before... bike around 200-300m in front of me in the right lane. Rider fell asleep and crashed into centre barrier. I stopped along with a few other bikes to help the bike rider... He had tons of abrasions and was bleeding, but was generally ok... Used my phone to call for an ambulance and also the injured rider's fiancee/family. Waited a while... left when ambulance came. Accident happened around 5am... i left before 5.30am. Went home and TP called non stop when i was trying to sleep! Asked all sorts of stupid questions, if i was the rider (obviously not!), if my bike is still left on the expressway (hello i'm not the injured biker!", and they called subsequently to ask if i knew what happened... why the biker met with an accident... was it that he was speeding/he fell asleep/he was careless.... blah blah. Could barely sleep... non ending phonecalls. I guess that's what puts people off helping. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...