Silver_blade Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Like TS has said, if I'm in his/her shoes, I will do the same. Ask URA for hard evidence. If that failed, I may go make a police report that I suspect someone is using my car reg no. illegal cos my car was booked at a place I didn't at the time of the offence. After that I will attached the police report and write to URA again to ask them to investigate the matter. If that failed, I guess can try to seek MP to help. ...or forget about principles and pay up.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 5:33 AM, Blackwind said: how come the onus is on us? since they fine us they are the ones who have to show us evidence right? Illogical....but that how things work here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ez_rider Neutral Newbie July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 4:43 AM, Jonpaul0104 said: I think ICA carpark is ERP type now.....read it in the papers sometime back....unless i am wrong and not implemented yet....but again if ERP type, how come still can get summon? ICA carpark is still the same.EPS parking still not implemented yet. I was there a couple of days ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doosan 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 yar lor. couple of yrs back,my fren's ride skidded & kisses some thing tat required 3-4moon rehabilitation. he oso recvd a summon illegal parking in 6th avenue after midnite. he wrote bk told them 2chk wit workshop as ride was still under repair. these kuku fellas really went 2workshop & chk e car. then case tutp liow knn w/out apolory cb........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Fight it all the way man. Dig up all available evidence and present to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 4:19 AM, Aimnfire said: u can get the car info from lta website right Yes that is correct... if they are out to get you... they can go web and gather all this info..... but what can you do.... LL..... but not forgetting they are taking a very big risk by doing that, cause that is an offence.... and to go all this way to risk their career just to "earn" your S$50????...... most likely they wont as how they know the driver got no proof??? If the driver produce a solid proof, then basically they are SCREWED..... CPIB AND AG Office will invite them for kopi........... would they want to take this risk, just for S$50 and furthermore, they not the one taking the S$50..... For the driver, its their word against yours...... unless got solid proof, example the ERP thingy that shows that the ride is at a diff place when the offence occured or you are having a lunch meeting with "Got Head, Got Face" people and they can vouch for you..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 (edited) Yes, if the TS got PROOF, fight it all the way as you know you are not in the wrong and somthing is not right in URA....... make hell of a noise, create pubilicity and very soon, everyone willl know and they will need to do something.... again, must have proof first lar...... Yes, like what Bro Silver_blade say... to many, it is illogical... they summon us, they need to prove the offence not us.... well, in murder case blah blah blah maybe... but for this type of offence.... the court tend to believe the enforcer more, unless driver got hard evidence, in which case, will not even reach court case....... and for S$50 go court.... usually driver just pay up and move on.... cause if lost, need to pay lawyer fee plus much more fines then the initial S$50.... not worth it.... In anycase, my bro kena also many years back..... from TP.... say he illegal park.... but he remember vaguely (as the summon come 2 months plus later) that night he was home.... he wrote in and of course, same same lar... they say the officer saw his car with the car plate no., what color, what make, what model, which fits the description...... but he is quite sure he did not drive to that place for the last few months, so he reply and eventually, the same old reply come back with giving warning, advising next time dont illegal park, must park properly etc etc and waive the summon...... Edited July 1, 2010 by Nlatio Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 your carpark got camera at entry / exit? Did you pass under ERP gantry on way to / from work and can print out statement? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XenonWhite 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 2:00 AM, Nlatio said: Firstly, got to make sure the date and time...... must be sure you did not make a mistake on that ........ then go ask for pic proof (a long shot but beter than nothing)...... and usually they will reply you with the car plate no., color of your ride, brand of your ride.... to justicfy that their obicer not shoot bird.... though I did saw nowadays URA obicer use digi cam to shoot offender..... and PRAY HARD they really dont have pic proof.... else really paiseh and slef pawned..... In any case, if you are lucky, they willl sometime waive the fine....... BUt if you have proof, then you can go kpkb liao, cause for sure something not right and they ought too be fark........ But in the end, got no proof and they refuse to waive, just pay and move on...... you will waste more time and $$$ to "challenge" them..... and from what I know.... even go to court....... the onus is on you to prove that you did not commit the offence...... without proof, that is commiting suicide..... I agree on this, just pay and move on.. I had such issues with URA b4 on 4 separate occassions in a spate of 2 mths.. I was being summon for displaying valid parking coupons.. I've even had an eye-witness who's kind enough to testify for me (gave me his contact number). Gave his number to URA officer, but they din even bother to call and check with him. Look for MP, over-promise but never deliver. Went to court for pre-trial conference even. On the actual day of the court date, meet and spoke to the lawyer representing URA, he advise me to drop the challenge and move on as he said i'm not the only one he seen having this issues. Even spoke to friends who are in the legal field, they also advise me to pay and move on cos its your words against theirs. End of the day i had to pay like $300 per summon, i had 3 with them, 1 was waive for goodwill (what goodwill whereby i've been framed). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 7:03 AM, Nlatio said: Yes, if the TS got PROOF, fight it all the way as you know you are not in the wrong and somthing is not right in URA....... make hell of a noise, create pubilicity and very soon, everyone willl know and they will need to do something.... again, must have proof first lar...... Yes, like what Bro Silver_blade say... to many, it is illogical... they summon us, they need to prove the offence not us.... well, in murder case blah blah blah maybe... but for this type of offence.... the court tend to believe the enforcer more, unless driver got hard evidence, in which case, will not even reach court case....... and for S$50 go court.... usually driver just pay up and move on.... cause if lost, need to pay lawyer fee plus much more fines then the initial S$50.... not worth it.... In anycase, my bro kena also many years back..... from TP.... say he illegal park.... but he remember vaguely (as the summon come 2 months plus later) that night he was home.... he wrote in and of course, same same lar... they say the officer saw his car with the car plate no., what color, what make, what model, which fits the description...... but he is quite sure he did not drive to that place for the last few months, so he reply and eventually, the same old reply come back with giving warning, advising next time dont illegal park, must park properly etc etc and waive the summon...... All this they only need to check the record of your log car the will know liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XenonWhite 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 5:29 AM, Blackwind said: hey this is unfair leh..... how can you guys be so tolerant as to just pay up for an offence you guys never commited? The only time you will choose to fight in court is:- 1) plenty of time to spare; 2) money is not an issue; 3) you have MP who is a close fren of yours.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 All govt dept 1 kind, always use the word "Not happy, go to COURT and talk to the Judge". My case is with the TV licsense dept. In the end, i told them i have a hidden video camera install outside he house and it can prove that the TV licsence guy did not enter or peep at my house at their stated time/date. Then they give in and waive the summon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 1:40 AM, SGCMmaomao said: Dear Sister, Brother, Auntie, Uncle, Recently I received a parking summon from URa which I wrote an appeal letter to tell them the car was not on the road at the time of offence. But they revert stating that their officer follow SOP de so damn such my car was there at the time of offence! WTF!! The offence place was at ICA buliding there, and the offence timing I WAS WORKING. My car was park at my company compound and I'm the only 1 who got the car key. I sent another letter to tell them to show me more solid proof eg: pixs or something like that I LL go pay up, else it's really not justifiable to pay something I didn't do.. if what you are saying is true...there are a few ways that this can turn out. The jask ass who wrote that summon will die..die not admit their mistake...you go see MP or whatever probably won't help much. You fight these jask asx with lawyer, they might take you all the way to the High Court.( there was a pervious case where a man was wrongly summon as the driver of a vehicle which committed an offence when he was NOT that driver of that vehicle for that day when the offence was commited!) Or you can just like most Sinkies...lan lan pay up, keep quiet and move on.. So it's your call. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 BTW does your company have Time card practise? Also you can get your colleague to act as your time withness. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 If I were you and they still want to fine me...I will write to them as per below : Dear XXX I am fully aware of your duty to enforce the law. However I wished to inform you that it is also your duty to ensure accuracy of the evident you got for putting a charge on me. I hereby officially informed you via this communication that accuracy of your evidence is dubious as my car was not at the location where the offence was committed at that time and date. Should you all are not capable of verifying your own evidence. I would be most willing to assist being a good citizen. However as I am not under the payroll of URA. I would seek compensation for expense incurred and econmical lost relating to my assistance rendered due to the insufficient capability of URA in resolving dubious evidence. Kindly revert as soon as possible. Your Sincerely yyyyyyy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh Clutched July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 8:01 AM, XenonWhite said: I agree on this, just pay and move on.. I agree too, just pay and move on. If it makes you feel better, there are thousands more out there in the same position as you. Basically, we dont have the finance, energy nor time to fight the case. Just move on and hope this kind of thing dont happen too often. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 1:40 AM, SGCMmaomao said: Dear Sister, Brother, Auntie, Uncle, Recently I received a parking summon from URa which I wrote an appeal letter to tell them the car was not on the road at the time of offence. But they revert stating that their officer follow SOP de so damn such my car was there at the time of offence! WTF!! The offence place was at ICA buliding there, and the offence timing I WAS WORKING. My car was park at my company compound and I'm the only 1 who got the car key. I sent another letter to tell them to show me more solid proof eg: pixs or something like that I LL go pay up, else it's really not justifiable to pay something I didn't do.. try to see whether your office has some cameras or what that can prove that your car did not leave the compound at the said time and place..usually most places will have a camera at the entrance/exit.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 8:29 AM, Seaweed said: If I were you and they still want to fine me...I will write to them as per below : Dear XXX I am fully aware of your duty to enforce the law. However I wished to inform you that it is also your duty to ensure accuracy of the evident you got for putting a charge on me. I hereby officially informed you via this communication that accuracy of your evidence is dubious as my car was not at the location where the offence was committed at that time and date. Should you all are not capable of verifying your own evidence. I would be most willing to assist being a good citizen. However as I am not under the payroll of URA. I would seek compensation for expense incurred and econmical lost relating to my assistance rendered due to the insufficient capability of URA in resolving dubious evidence. Kindly revert as soon as possible. Your Sincerely yyyyyyy But two things... If make such an offer you want credbility, so make sure spelling and england collect. ( ) Also, why evidence incorrect? Just because you say so in letter? Must offer something to "prove" that they are wrong, or will laugh you off... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...