Xavina Neutral Newbie July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Privacy issues anyone? Have they covered on this issue? Or the government can track u anywhere u go? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 acherlee, now they can track too...GPRS, thru hp, and iPhone apparently can....so dun drive lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xavina Neutral Newbie July 1, 2010 Author Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 1:21 AM, RadX said: acherlee, now they can track too...GPRS, thru hp, and iPhone apparently can....so dun drive lor handphone that one no choice ma lol. And i think GPS has much more you can check on right, besides location. Like speed and altitude. is that the future of speed traps too? =/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 (edited) Std limitation on GPS...in tunnel they will lose u for a while....actually quite sometime ago, I already posted LTA trying out the GPS tracking system w intention to use it on tracking car usage of the road.....but they damn smart...long long got this idea, but now let public suggest ideas on fair taxing on road usage to replace ERP sys....then sure got somebody say use GPS to monitor road usage and tax accordingly...then LTA will say good idea and we will study in detail b4 implementation...fact is they have such an idea long ago...if not why the infrastructure??? of course no privacy lah....if the emitter/reciever is tagged to your car uniquely...the only excuse you can give is the owner wasn't driving...someone else was......or what the Romanian guy did.."My car was stolen".... Yes, other than current position, they can check your current speed as well and if they tag parking charges with ur GPS id, then they can really increase their productivity n reduce their operational cost....no more aminah... Summary (Pros) 1) Track ur position, if people steal your car, can easily track 2) Track ur road usage n tax u accordingly (fairer system...u use more, u pay more) 3) Track ur parking (if illegal can issue E-summon) and charge per unit time...cannot argue somemore... (no more cheaters or fake appeal) 4) Track your speed (if speeding can issue E-summon).... no more Chao Ah Beng chiongsters 5) If got accidents between two or more GPS installed car, no need to argue who right or wrong...playback the cars initial location and final position w their location and speed....no argument anymore....can reduce insurance premium I hope....no more dishonest drivers... Summary (Cons) 1) No privacy....no issue since you have no bad intention right? 2) Enourmous setup costs....charge to whose account? 3) Occasional software bugs/glitches......any contingency plan? might issue wrong E-summon? 4) Hackers!!!! 5) Tampering of GPS id/sys to cheat or even disable it..... these are my few tots at the moment... Edited July 1, 2010 by Sabretan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 what will happen to all those ERP gantries that build all over KPE but never use? Each gantry cost $1.5m leh, i am not sure if there is monthly maintenance cost too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xavina Neutral Newbie July 1, 2010 Author Share July 1, 2010 (edited) whoops sorry DP Edited July 1, 2010 by Xavina Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xavina Neutral Newbie July 1, 2010 Author Share July 1, 2010 My god, first was the unique name-tagged EZ-Card for public transport, now car also can track where you go. Well, i guess when this system is implemented, don't be surprised when a TP bike suddenly appears behind you when you just accede 110kmph haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 1:31 AM, Xavina said: My god, first was the unique name-tagged EZ-Card for public transport, now car also can track where you go. Well, i guess when this system is implemented, don't be surprised when a TP bike suddenly appears behind you when you just accede 110kmph haha the GPS was initiated 5 yrs ago, but teh technology was not mature, so was scrapped. anyway, in the tenderfor the ERP, there are still abt 50 gantries yet to be erected... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 (edited) ill still do biz here, but spend most of free time overseas since no sense of freedom here thats all. So our citizens will b replaced by a bunch of FTs whose kids will become citizen then its 18th century all over. We will never find an identity for sg coz gahmen doesnt encourage it. Many MPs are from malaysia anwyway so we're virtually still part of boleh land Edited July 1, 2010 by Duckduck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Woolff Neutral Newbie July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 singaporean are the only suckers in the world that will takr this lying down and get screw by the govt. in fact, they will line up, register, take their pants down, bend down....and by them.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xavina Neutral Newbie July 1, 2010 Author Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 1:33 AM, RadX said: the GPS was initiated 5 yrs ago, but teh technology was not mature, so was scrapped. anyway, in the tenderfor the ERP, there are still abt 50 gantries yet to be erected... I see, so it's not so soon eh? Well, I hope they'd sort out the privacy issues first man, this just creeps me out. Don't really like people watching where i go, what i do haha :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chevycavy 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 1:31 AM, Xavina said: My god, first was the unique name-tagged EZ-Card for public transport, now car also can track where you go. Well, i guess when this system is implemented, don't be surprised when a TP bike suddenly appears behind you when you just accede 110kmph haha There will be no more TP bikes or wrx...no need for them. Only need marshals on those tiny scooters for traffic control. Also no need to send TP for the BMT IFC course for cover and concealment on bridges and bushes. After u exceed speed limit, a letter will automatically arrive informing u $xxx has been deducted from your bank account. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chevycavy 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 1:37 AM, Woolff said: singaporean are the only suckers in the world that will takr this lying down and get screw by the govt. in fact, they will line up, register, take their pants down, bend down....and by them.... Uniquely Singapore eh... It's really quite sad isn't it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xavina Neutral Newbie July 1, 2010 Author Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 1:40 AM, Chevycavy said: Uniquely Singapore eh... It's really quite sad isn't it... Quote WHAT DO WE WANT? Privacy! WHEN DO WE WANT IT? NOW! Oh snap, we can't do that in singapore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ehchang8 Neutral Newbie July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 1:21 AM, RadX said: acherlee, now they can track too...GPRS, thru hp, and iPhone apparently can....so dun drive lor i watched a japan drama and they have camera installed everywhere. the computer can recognise number plate through the video. so the police can search for a certain car. don't know real or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Want privacy and freedom? Can.... surrender your pink IC lor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 they will charge u $ for the GPS thingy in yr car for sure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 On 7/1/2010 at 1:25 AM, Sabretan said: Std limitation on GPS...in tunnel they will lose u for a while....actually quite sometime ago, I already posted LTA trying out the GPS tracking system w intention to use it on tracking car usage of the road.....but they damn smart...long long got this idea, but now let public suggest ideas on fair taxing on road usage to replace ERP sys....then sure got somebody say use GPS to monitor road usage and tax accordingly...then LTA will say good idea and we will study in detail b4 implementation...fact is they have such an idea long ago...if not why the infrastructure??? of course no privacy lah....if the emitter/reciever is tagged to your car uniquely...the only excuse you can give is the owner wasn't driving...someone else was......or what the Romanian guy did.."My car was stolen".... Yes, other than current position, they can check your current speed as well and if they tag parking charges with ur GPS id, then they can really increase their productivity n reduce their operational cost....no more aminah... Summary (Pros) 1) Track ur position, if people steal your car, can easily track 2) Track ur road usage n tax u accordingly (fairer system...u use more, u pay more) 3) Track ur parking (if illegal can issue E-summon) and charge per unit time...cannot argue somemore... (no more cheaters or fake appeal) 4) Track your speed (if speeding can issue E-summon).... no more Chao Ah Beng chiongsters 5) If got accidents between two or more GPS installed car, no need to argue who right or wrong...playback the cars initial location and final position w their location and speed....no argument anymore....can reduce insurance premium I hope....no more dishonest drivers... Summary (Cons) 1) No privacy....no issue since you have no bad intention right? 2) Enourmous setup costs....charge to whose account? 3) Occasional software bugs/glitches......any contingency plan? might issue wrong E-summon? 4) Hackers!!!! 5) Tampering of GPS id/sys to cheat or even disable it..... these are my few tots at the moment... actually all these started to make the Gahmen Inbox make sense liao. you just go home and check to see if you got speed today or not. For parking, i dont mind if they do a direct deduction. i hate to use coupon. maybe we will start to see a discount in parking price due to the number of money saved from printing coupon and hiring Feng Fei Fei. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...