Down memory lane - Old Cinemas

Cdrarities

Sultan Cinema at Chong Pang. zInc roof type. used to be some distance opposite of Sembawang shopping centre.

50cents can see show, chair wooden type.

anyone bot the 20 cents kachang puteh from the indian man outside the cinema? Its wrap in newspaper.

U can bring your own egg to the char kway teow seller in front of the cinema.

You remember sala liow lah, they use magazine pages or yellow pages paper, newspaper

they will never use because the print will blacken your hands.Newspeper use was for two reasons I remembred

wrap fish to insulate, and to wrap fish and chips, with grease paper between, surprisingly, chips and fish, were

very crispy even after while.

anyone bot the 20 cents kachang puteh from the indian man outside the cinema? Its wrap in newspaper.

I still cannot remember the arcade shop.

Mana shop, one before the corner kopitiam, and next to the small alley?

One of the mama is a gay, always grab small boys balls and backside.

Serious, I think you kana free sweets cos he touch your balls.

He tried it on me when I was in the army, he's own balls got squashed,

and I had a handful. [rolleyes]

Yup, that's the one

I know - he tried but never succeeded...that's why always trying to tempt me with sweets...hahah

The tao sah was power, so was the fresh bread. Yummy.

Yah, fai chai won tun mee was also power man, now gone.

Yeah, last I went, the char kuay tow guy handed to his son, but he's still there at the stall,

yes, moved across the road, where the old Mubahak Brothers shop was. Yes I remember.

Yeah man, the briyani was to die for man, mutton and chicken, WoW!

So was the Yong Tow hu by that old lady.

The old clubhouse, is your now present Serangoon Gardens Club.

The place was run and headed by the late Dr. Fernandez, remember, he had a clinic

right across Tip Top? Yeah, that doctor.

Can't remember the bread seller, but I know one that sold curry puff, and his tri-cycle had a charcoal oven,

and he'd bake curry puffs in that oven, nice hand made crispy oven baked pastry. How I miss the old days man.

Barber man, yes, how can I forget. He cut my hair till primary 4. He had that stall at the market selling porridge way back, his wife would run it with him, I thought he wasn't around anymore. When was the last

you saw him? Think I really need to go see him, before it's too late. I liked his beano comics, hidden under his bag, stripped to his bicycle rack behind.

There was a guy, selling pau at night, on a bicycle with a whole steamer rack behind him. His pau was so damn good, sui mai etc... my dad would buy from him at night, and we'd both watch Combat! eating the pa and sui mei. I last saw him when I returned from the US after training, and he was so old already, and yet, selling pau still. I really, really felt so sorry for him, he commented I grow up already, and was so sorry about my Dad's early passing. I put some money into his pocket, he said he couldn't, but I insisted.

I still feel sad thinking about him. He saw me since I was 5yrs old, with my dad. *sigh*

Digging up old memories, friend.

Don't sekali, we both used to catch fish at the same longkang man.

Tao sa was not my cup of tea...hahah

But their french loaf is heaven - I would bug my brother to drive me down there on Saturday mornings to get it and then whack it down with butter - sedap

I miss the briyani stall...theirs was cooked dum style with the meat inside the rice...fragrant like hell...hahah

Besides the char kway teow and yong tao hu, the laksa was also not bad - the skinny chap does it with a strange dance...hahah

The old zhi cha store is called Hup Lee - now I remember

Of course, I remember Dr Fernandez, he was my mom's geani and my younger brother was born in his clinic...hahah

I last saw the barber about 1 year or 2 back - went there for breakfast with my parents (they still stay there)...

He's just sitting there - the stall is run by his daughter and son-in-law now

I can't recall the pau guy though - I stay closer to St Francis up on top of the hill...maybe he doesn't cycle there

Speaking of the long kang, do you mean the one outside the old club house or the one running perpendicular to it? My grandma stays at Hythe Road and I always cycle over there to play with my cousins

Oh, this one you should remember - the grocery delivery guy - Hong Mong was his name I think - door to door service...hahah

Yeah, and my hand had his old squashed hairy balls. [laugh] [laugh]

Yup, that's the one

I know - he tried but never succeeded...that's why always trying to tempt me with sweets...hahah

Tao sa was not my cup of tea...hahah

But their french loaf is heaven - I would bug my brother to drive me down there on Saturday mornings to get it and then whack it down with butter - sedap

Yeah, the french loaf was to die for, and was freaking heaven with LOTONG!! WAH!!!

I miss the briyani stall...theirs was cooked dum style with the meat inside the rice...fragrant like hell...hahah

Yeah, cooked in ONE great big aluminium pot.

Besides the char kway teow and yong tao hu, the laksa was also not bad - the skinny chap does it with a strange dance...hahah

I remember that fellow, but I never grow on his laksa. Char Kuay tiow and won ton mee was KING!

Hup Lee was the cantonese chu char.

Of course, I remember Dr Fernandez, he was my mom's geani and my younger brother was born in his clinic...hahah

Who doesn't? He's bloody injections were like dart practice to him!

I last saw the barber about 1 year or 2 back - went there for breakfast with my parents (they still stay there)...

Wow! That was a long time already, yeah, I think I did walk past once in a hurry, didn't see him, only his daughter. Didn't stop to ask, but that was many years ago.

I can't recall the pau guy though - I stay closer to St Francis up on top of the hill...maybe he doesn't cycle there

Think cycle up there would have killed him and his pau! [laugh]

Speaking of the long kang, do you mean the one outside the old club house or the one running perpendicular to it? My grandma stays at Hythe Road and I always cycle over there to play with my cousins

I'd be at the one outside North & South school, and es, the one running by the side of the football field, just outside N&S school, there was a Public phone booth there, old wooden one, with the black bakelite phone.

Oh, this one you should remember - the grocery delivery guy - Hong Mong was his name I think - door to door service...hahah

Hmmm.....old grocery store was Ghee Hup Heng, know the boss and one of his assistant, think hi name was GUAN or something, he married the Cantonese Grocery store's daughter, (They had I think 4 daughters and 1 son) Think he's still there, it's next to the Bah Kwa shop, if the bak kwa shop is still there. (Just opp. the old bakery.)

Damn long man. Blink of an eye..........damn it.....40 over years. [:(]

Last time, Chomp Chomp, very early Sunday morning, facing Chomp chomp,

left hand side, walkway, right to the end, there was a Malay lady selling Lontong

in the morning, after like 8am, shes gone, think was illegally selling lontong, but who cares,

her lontong was seriously, what I'd go to war for! Yeah, that serious, all hand made,

nothing lost, I haven't had lontong like that since.

Old days, Maju Avenue, was lined with illegal hawkers, stalls build over the longkong,

food was fantastic, till one fuging BEACH complain that the RATS in the estate came from there,

when in actual fact, rats were already on the estate before these hawkers came in.

All kana destroyed and chased away. the LAU CB beach was my neighbor. Puah CB, go and spoil all the poor hawkers livelihood. [mad]

You also one? Primary school or secondary?

Primary school, I was there, principal was Mr. Paul Lee. Snr Asst. Mr. Peter Tan.

I was in both. Peter Tan is has been my neighbour since then. Paul Lee was my neighbour in my 2nd home at AMK [laugh]

Sorry, my mistake, Asst. for the primary was Mr. John Tan, Peter Tan's younger brother.

Peter Tan was in the secondary school. Said he had cancer, till now still alive.

I was in both. Peter Tan is has been my neighbour since then. Paul Lee was my neighbour in my 2nd home at AMK [laugh]

QUOTE (Xtrocious @ Jul 4 2010, 02:24 PM)

Yeah, the french loaf was to die for, and was freaking heaven with LOTONG!! WAH!!!

Never tried with lontong but with my mum's nonya curry - wicked...hahah

I remember that fellow, but I never grow on his laksa. Char Kuay tiow and won ton mee was KING!

I was also never a big laksa fan but good once in a while...hahah

Plus his one had quail eggs in them...don't find laksa like that anymore

Hup Lee was the cantonese chu char.

Was there another zhi cha? I only know Hup Lee - even my teochew grandfather swears by it

Interestingly, both my parents were neighbours in Serangoon Gardens - that's how they met...hahah

Who doesn't? He's bloody injections were like dart practice to him!

I was never his patient...hahah

Oh, you remember Dr Lau and the other one was Dr Wei Ming?

Dr Lau's eldest son was my classmate

Wow! That was a long time already, yeah, I think I did walk past once in a hurry, didn't see him, only his daughter. Didn't stop to ask, but that was many years ago.

Yah, haven't been going back as often as I like - at most go back and have dinner at my parent place - hardly go for breakfast these days at the market

Think cycle up there would have killed him and his pau!

I thought so - that's why I never knew there was a pau seller...

Maybe the bread mini-van only service those on top of the hill...hahah

I'd be at the one outside North & South school, and es, the one running by the side of the football field, just outside N&S school, there was a Public phone booth there, old wooden one, with the black bakelite phone.

I remember that one - now it runs all the way to Ang Mo Kio Ave 10

We used to go into N/S school to play during the weekends and always kena chased out

Another haunt of mine is the Serangoon Gardens Technical School - always go there and play soccer during the weekends

Of course, the squash centre - back then, squash was very popular

Hmmm.....old grocery store was Ghee Hup Heng, know the boss and one of his assistant, think hi name was GUAN or something, he married the Cantonese Grocery store's daughter, (They had I think 4 daughters and 1 son) Think he's still there, it's next to the Bah Kwa shop, if the bak kwa shop is still there. (Just opp. the old bakery.)

Then it's a different one - the one I was talking about was over at the kampong near N/S school...

That guy will make deliveries in a small red van...

Damn long man. Blink of an eye..........damn it.....40 over years. [:(]

You said it man...nearly half a century ago...hahah

Edited by Xtrocious

Sorry, my mistake, Asst. for the primary was Mr. John Tan, Peter Tan's younger brother.

Peter Tan was in the secondary school. Said he had cancer, till now still alive.

Another of Peter Tan's brother is an Army LTC. Was having a drink with him in the camp mess then I realised when he asked me from which school :D

Anyone used to hang out at the Gardens CC around late 80s to early 90s? Missed those frens there...

Sorry, the one in Pri school and my neighbour is Peter Goh.

My time was 10 cents. Beside Cha Kway tiao you can also bring egg for carrot cake (Cho Tao Kui) which cost 50cent without egg. [laugh]

QUOTE (Xtrocious @ Jul 4 2010, 02:24 PM)

Never tried with lontong but with my mum's nonya curry - wicked...hahah

You baba ah?

I was also never a big laksa fan but good once in a while...hahah

Same here, lontong was one of my favorite.

Was there another zhi cha? I only know Hup Lee - even my teochew grandfather swears by it

Got two, the Chicken rice kopitiam also had a chu char behind.

I was never his patient...hahah

You donno how lucky you are. [:p]

Dr Lau's eldest son was my classmate

Means, you're far younger then me. Dr.Lau's wife passed away, and then he passed on few years later. Was a nice guy.

Yah, haven't been going back as often as I like - at most go back and have dinner at my parent place - hardly go for breakfast these days at the market

Think I'll visit gardens after I come back overseas, one early morning drive, with my boys.

I thought so - that's why I never knew there was a pau seller...

Yea, think he would have cycled round the lower estate.

I now remember the mini van you were talking about, my cousins lived in Blandford Drive, think that is the name,

and I was with them sometimes, and now remember that old guy sellign bread from his van.

I remember that one - now it runs all the way to Ang Mo Kio Ave 10

Yeah, one park at the end, donno if still there.

Then it's a different one - the one I was talking about was over at the kampong near N/S school...

Ok, I know which one now, he used to sell Blue tapes as well and rent video tapes. He closed shop when teh Cheng San CC came up.

above a small hill, next to the church.

You said it man...nearly half a century ago...hahah

Yeah man, how time really flies.....and hey, we just might know each other.

I bloody hell wouldn't be surprise.

I was using the gym then already, was in the army then, after running with backpack, slacks and boots,

will workout in the gym, (not yaya, just that have to describe) yeah, if you remember, that person, that was me.

Anyone used to hang out at the Gardens CC around late 80s to early 90s? Missed those frens there...