Down memory lane - Old Cinemas

Cdrarities

Never tried with lontong but with my mum's nonya curry - wicked...hahah

You baba ah?

Not really - my mom's side

My grandma used to wear kebaya with the big golden belt...hahah

I was also never a big laksa fan but good once in a while...hahah

Same here, lontong was one of my favorite.

Never did find good lontong at Gardens - or at least good enough to remember it

Was there another zhi cha? I only know Hup Lee - even my teochew grandfather swears by it

Got two, the Chicken rice kopitiam also had a chu char behind.

At Sputnik coffee shop?

I was never his patient...hahah

You donno how lucky you are.

I thought he was a geani?

Dr Lau's eldest son was my classmate

Means, you're far younger then me. Dr.Lau's wife passed away, and then he passed on few years later. Was a nice guy.

Should be about 5 years younger...

My elder bro is around your age

Yah, haven't been going back as often as I like - at most go back and have dinner at my parent place - hardly go for breakfast these days at the market

Think I'll visit gardens after I come back overseas, one early morning drive, with my boys.

A lot of changes man - almost everything changed until cannot recognised

I thought so - that's why I never knew there was a pau seller...

Yea, think he would have cycled round the lower estate.

I now remember the mini van you were talking about, my cousins lived in Blandford Drive, think that is the name,

and I was with them sometimes, and now remember that old guy sellign bread from his van.

Yup, that's the one

I remember that one - now it runs all the way to Ang Mo Kio Ave 10

Yeah, one park at the end, donno if still there.

Yup, still there

But I am more familiar with the Chartwell Park - that was my playground...hahah

Then it's a different one - the one I was talking about was over at the kampong near N/S school...

Ok, I know which one now, he used to sell Blue tapes as well and rent video tapes. He closed shop when teh Cheng San CC came up.

above a small hill, next to the church.

I don't know about blue tapes - probably too young then...hahah

You said it man...nearly half a century ago...hahah

Yeah man, how time really flies.....and hey, we just might know each other.

I bloody hell wouldn't be surprise

That's why I say small world...hahah

But think you may know my brother instead as he's around your age

Guess you missed out on the lontong. Hmmm....think I'll cook one pot next weekend, after I get back form overseas.

Now all of a sudden got craving for lontong and Mee siam, mee siam cannot, lontong without teh kutupat can.

Yeah, think that's what the coffee shop was called. All old Haninese men inside, coffee to cooking.

Fernandez a geani? Tink those days not very specific on what or who is what. He saw kids and all, more of a GP.

I went back last, drove around, and visited my old friend in Ripley Crescent, in the morning, had a chat with his mum and dad,

then left. Your elder brother, donno if I know him not, but never know man.

Yeah I played at Chartwell Park as well, next to the church, was altar boy for a while also, yes....ALTAR boy.

They had a maze at the park at the very beginning, then think something happened in the maze, donno what, plus the

stench of urine, people pissing inside the maze, they decided to fill it up with sand. I think you can still see it now,

can stand on top of it, cos all filled up, just one solid square.

Could well be that I know both of you. Imagine, after 40+ years.

Not really - my mom's side

Never did find good lontong at Gardens - or at least good enough to remember it

At Sputnik coffee shop?

I thought he was a geani?

Should be about 5 years younger...My elder bro is around your age

A lot of changes man - almost everything changed until cannot recognised

I remember that one - now it runs all the way to Ang Mo Kio Ave 10. But I am more familiar with the Chartwell Park - that was my playground...hahah

I don't know about blue tapes - probably too young then...hahah

You said it man...nearly half a century ago...hahah

That's why I say small world...hahah. But think you may know my brother instead as he's around your age

I think so man - I don't remember any temporary stalls cos I only moved to Gardens when I was 4

Before that, we stayed at Katong - just in front of Parkway Parade - and according to my parents, it was really beach front living

Have been eating lontong at my place here for a while but it's always without the rice - just love the coconut curry and soft cabbage :)

My grandfather (dad's side) was a regular at that old coffeeshop - every afternoon without fail at 3pm he would be there for his kopi O and kaya toast

Hmm...did I mix up Dr Fernandez with Dr John...hahah

Dr John's clinic was next to the hardware shop...

Anyway, it's a small world - won't be surprised if we knew each other, at least by sight...hahah

Woah - you are an altar boy - hard to imagine...heheh

I still remember the maze at Chartwell Park - guess too many hanky panky going on there huh? hahah

I was a pretty wild kid then - running around the place on my own when I was still in kindergarten and getting into scraps with kids twice my age [laugh]

Guess you missed out on the lontong. Hmmm....think I'll cook one pot next weekend, after I get back form overseas.

Now all of a sudden got craving for lontong and Mee siam, mee siam cannot, lontong without teh kutupat can.

Yeah, think that's what the coffee shop was called. All old Haninese men inside, coffee to cooking.

Fernandez a geani? Tink those days not very specific on what or who is what. He saw kids and all, more of a GP.

I went back last, drove around, and visited my old friend in Ripley Crescent, in the morning, had a chat with his mum and dad,

then left. Your elder brother, donno if I know him not, but never know man.

Yeah I played at Chartwell Park as well, next to the church, was altar boy for a while also, yes....ALTAR boy.

They had a maze at the park at the very beginning, then think something happened in the maze, donno what, plus the

stench of urine, people pissing inside the maze, they decided to fill it up with sand. I think you can still see it now,

can stand on top of it, cos all filled up, just one solid square.

Could well be that I know both of you. Imagine, after 40+ years.

The temporary stalls at Maju were really built up from plywood and zinc, then got torn down due to the reason I mentioned.

The Lontong wasn't temporary, it was at one stall, right at the very end, I think she was using the stall to sell lontong,

as i never saw her cooking in there, only one pot of hot lontong soup at the side. So was kind of "borrowed"

Now we canot makan cabbage also. *sigh* [laugh] Wait end up like cabbage patch kids. [laugh]

Donno Dr. John. I must have left the area for overseas posting already.

Hard to imagine a lot of things, I was altar boy with one Dominic Low, father was a teach at St.Gab's Secondary.

think hanky panky plus molest, plus well, God only know what. My cousins didn't tel me much when I saw them, only

that the maze was already gone. Sitting on the wall of the maze then, circa 5-6pm, you could feel a cool breeze blowing

and the feeling was that of freedom.

I was as wild a boy as you could think also. I guess most Gardens boys then were wild kids. So much place to cover

so little time in one day. Hahahahaha! I even joined up with older boys, cycle to N&S school, and we did "wheelies" with out bikes,

choppers as well....you do remember the old chopper bicycles. And also, just outside Ripley Crescent, was the store named,

"CHINA STORE". Ah....to relive the good old days. [rolleyes]

I think so man - I don't remember any temporary stalls cos I only moved to Gardens when I was 4

Before that, we stayed at Katong - just in front of Parkway Parade - and according to my parents, it was really beach front living

Have been eating lontong at my place here for a while but it's always without the rice - just love the coconut curry and soft cabbage :)

My grandfather (dad's side) was a regular at that old coffeeshop - every afternoon without fail at 3pm he would be there for his kopi O and kaya toast

Hmm...did I mix up Dr Fernandez with Dr John...hahah

Dr John's clinic was next to the hardware shop...

Anyway, it's a small world - won't be surprised if we knew each other, at least by sight...hahah

Woah - you are an altar boy - hard to imagine...heheh

I still remember the maze at Chartwell Park - guess too many hanky panky going on there huh? hahah

I was a pretty wild kid then - running around the place on my own when I was still in kindergarten and getting into scraps with kids twice my age [laugh]

Singaporeans are number one complainers...hahah

I only know the Malay satay stall at the back of Chomp Chomp - my dad will get the fella over to our place to peng satay during birthdays etc

Oh, cannot makan cabbage now ah? Not even once in a long while? [:(]

Dr John's clinic is along the same row as Tip Top but he's a gynea so you probably won't know him...hahah

Wah, got molest and other hanky panky stuff at the maze ah? hahah

But yes, I remember sitting on top of the maze after a serious game of catching - natural aircon

Wild because Gardens was surrounded by kampongs mah...

There was one just behind the Serangoon Gardens Tech - they tore it down in the late 70s...

But we always use it as a shortcut to go to AMK Ave 10 in the 80s...

Those were the days - we would catch longkang fish and spiders in the bushes...

Oh, there were monitor lizards in my grandma's backyard before they developed it into SGCC tennis courts...she had a rambutan tree and mango tree as well - free fruits

The temporary stalls at Maju were really built up from plywood and zinc, then got torn down due to the reason I mentioned.

The Lontong wasn't temporary, it was at one stall, right at the very end, I think she was using the stall to sell lontong,

as i never saw her cooking in there, only one pot of hot lontong soup at the side. So was kind of "borrowed"

Now we canot makan cabbage also. *sigh* [laugh] Wait end up like cabbage patch kids. [laugh]

Donno Dr. John. I must have left the area for overseas posting already.

Hard to imagine a lot of things, I was altar boy with one Dominic Low, father was a teach at St.Gab's Secondary.

think hanky panky plus molest, plus well, God only know what. My cousins didn't tel me much when I saw them, only

that the maze was already gone. Sitting on the wall of the maze then, circa 5-6pm, you could feel a cool breeze blowing

and the feeling was that of freedom.

I was as wild a boy as you could think also. I guess most Gardens boys then were wild kids. So much place to cover

so little time in one day. Hahahahaha! I even joined up with older boys, cycle to N&S school, and we did "wheelies" with out bikes,

choppers as well....you do remember the old chopper bicycles. And also, just outside Ripley Crescent, was the store named,

"CHINA STORE". Ah....to relive the good old days. [rolleyes]

yeah, expect nothing less from the regular run of the mil SGers. [laugh]

I don't touch it, you want you can. I think when that Dr. John came into the picture,

I was overseas on deployment or training, was a number of years, moving in and out,

and I never came home (wasn't much to call a home either) then.

Maybe one of these days, we MU at the park, and tcss. Yeah, I know that shortcut,

a friend of mine, stayed at the 2nd last house from the corner.

Yeah, I know the squash/tenis court, before they developed it, and after, used to play

squash there all the time, 3 times a week. Had a friend also staying just opps. the courts,

much younger then me, think he moved out already, last heard his dad passed away

after his JC. You don't say rambutan, you walk further down, after the school, there is a small "jungle" pathway,

in there got durian and mango trees, I'd wait there, during school holidays, 3-4am in the morning, with my friends,

for the durians to drop, and we have our durian breakfast.

I know that satay guy also, long time liow, think now no more. Satay club was one of my haunts as well,

my dad's favorite stall, number 1, Fatty Satay, I'd whack down 100 sticks plus kutupat when I come out of camp,

and the bowl for the kuay was extra big. Damn, I miss GOOD traditional satay. I found them again at Lau Pah Sat, but hey...

now....seriously cmi. MSG and sugar loaded, meat little. Hmmm.....you thinking what I;m thinking?? Evil man, make my own satay

form what we CAN eat. MMMmmmmmmm............. [sly] [sly]

Singaporeans are number one complainers...hahah

I only know the Malay satay stall at the back of Chomp Chomp - my dad will get the fella over to our place to peng satay during birthdays etc

Oh, cannot makan cabbage now ah? Not even once in a long while? [:(]

Dr John's clinic is along the same row as Tip Top but he's a gynea so you probably won't know him...hahah

Wah, got molest and other hanky panky stuff at the maze ah? hahah

But yes, I remember sitting on top of the maze after a serious game of catching - natural aircon

Wild because Gardens was surrounded by kampongs mah...

There was one just behind the Serangoon Gardens Tech - they tore it down in the late 70s...

But we always use it as a shortcut to go to AMK Ave 10 in the 80s...

Those were the days - we would catch longkang fish and spiders in the bushes...

Oh, there were monitor lizards in my grandma's backyard before they developed it into SGCC tennis courts...she had a rambutan tree and mango tree as well - free fruits