Am i a lousy driver

Billyone

I have been driving since my pre-U days. so far it is my 3rd time kena the same thing like the police car here

it always happens when i was too tire

the last time i did not want to park along the road to avoid a fine instead drove up this narrow carpark

i was very careful on the way up but on the way down my left side (back) of the car kena scratch against the wall

reverse or forward makes no difference still scratch painfully

fine would be a few tens of dollars but this scratch cost me a few hundred dollars

kena sai the painter really lousy someone can see dots on the paint work

sigh

maybe have to take bus from now on or kena fine is better

Sun, Jun 27, 2010

AsiaOne

Orchard Central carpark so bad, police car slams into it

Reader "efchan" spotted this police patrol car slamming into a wall at Orchard Central's carpark.

Click on thumbnails below to view more photos. Story continues after photos.

(Photos: Stomp)

The police patrol car was trying to make a turn, according to the Stomp report.The incident occurred on June 17 at around 9pm.

In the reader's e-mail, the public servant was driving "very hesitantly".

"efchan" also said the reader has no "motor sense".

After such an incident, the policeman would have less cents too.

Edited by Billyone

maybe have to take bus from now on

Taking the bus is less malu than coming here with an imaginary car. [cool]

Drive carefully. Know your car. From there you should develop a sense of dimensions, and then know how to manouvere it through tight spots (or avoid if you know your car cannot make it).

I've encountered many, many tight carparks before, but only got scrape once (that was abt a year after I passed).

I have been driving since my pre-U days. so far it is my 3rd time kena the same thing like the police car here

it always happens when i was too tire

the last time i did not want to park along the road to avoid a fine instead drove up this narrow carpark

i was very careful on the way up but on the way down my left side (back) of the car kena scratch against the wall

reverse or forward makes no difference still scratch painfully

fine would be a few tens of dollars but this scratch cost me a few hundred dollars

kena sai the painter really lousy someone can see dots on the paint work

sigh

maybe have to take bus from now on or kena fine is better

Sun, Jun 27, 2010

AsiaOne

Orchard Central carpark so bad, police car slams into it

Reader "efchan" spotted this police patrol car slamming into a wall at Orchard Central's carpark.

Click on thumbnails below to view more photos. Story continues after photos.

(Photos: Stomp)

The police patrol car was trying to make a turn, according to the Stomp report.The incident occurred on June 17 at around 9pm.

In the reader's e-mail, the public servant was driving "very hesitantly".

"efchan" also said the reader has no "motor sense".

After such an incident, the policeman would have less cents too.

Don't worry too much. Everyone makes occasional errors of judgement. "Good" drivers are just those who manage to keep their silly mistakes under wraps and try their very best not to admit them, even to themselves. [laugh]

You'd think someone of Michael Schumacher's calibre would be immune to this sort of thing, wouldn't you? Well, you'd be wrong: http://blogs.automobilemag.com/6274674/mot...rian/index.html

So, just relax, and try to learn from your mistakes. I'm sure Michael's trying. [laugh]

Don't worry too much. Everyone makes occasional errors of judgement. "Good" drivers are just those who manage to keep their silly mistakes under wraps and try their very best not to admit them, even to themselves. [laugh]

You'd think someone of Michael Schumacher's calibre would be immune to this sort of thing, wouldn't you? Well, you'd be wrong: http://blogs.automobilemag.com/6274674/mot...rian/index.html

So, just relax, and try to learn from your mistakes. I'm sure Michael's trying. [laugh]

....he's driving a Fiat van.

I wonder what he's doing.

....he's driving a Fiat van.

I wonder what he's doing.

Ferrari test driving. Who knows, maybe that's the Ferrari Autotreno in disguise?

THANKS for all your encouraging words

I think it feels better when you know you are not the only one

carparks nowadays are getting smaller or my eyes are failing me

last time many years ago, i remember not so many tiny lobang along my car door

nowadays the pattern can be abstract art on the move

bros please becareful

learn from my mistake and dont waste so much money on repairing and painting

Yeah, that's why I bang already, DIY use hammer hit back, or cover with sticker/touch up pen. [:p]

Bro, sometimes its good if you can practice more..

Practice makes perfect...

Just be more careful in future...

Cheers... [laugh]

Sometimes when we are tired, we can lose concentration and end up with the knocks and scratches to our ride, be it driving or parking.

It happened to me last year when I was parking at Causeway Point and the lots there are not narrow but I was extremely tired that I hit my right signal lights and end up got to pay for new one as my inspection was coming due then.

We all make mistakes from time to time. But let's learn from it and be a better person as we move ahead.

You're not lousy lah..I once reversed into a dustbin that was clearly visible and have mounted numerous curbs...

Its more important to learn from your mistakes and keep improving on them :) That way, you will eventually reach the level of an 'experienced' driver and attain some perks (i.e 50% NCD) haha...

Kns..... How did you guys scrapped the wall? Worst still, how did u guys mount kerb?

My MSCP has just repaint the wall yesterday and someone scrap it today, leaving a long line of grey mark on the very white wall.

If in doubt, dun risk it.

sometimes pple just drive when they havent got much sleep. i have driven a few times when i had been awake for more than 24hrs. and those times were the only times when i mount curb, hit pillar. lack of sleep does wonders for your driving lol.