The_Bear Turbocharged June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 eh u think u tree ah seeds of love in liquid form! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TortoiseRacer Clutched June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 That is the sad thing....when you have a friend and you want to suport, the heart sometimes overrules the head....which is why always keep the 2 separate and never mix them up. 谈钱伤感情 and that's very true.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 谈钱伤感情 and that's very true.. Yup, that's why I'm always prepared to lose a friend if any of them asks to borrow significant sums of money from me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DonDon 1st Gear June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 Well, my maid has a face you may not wish to remember. Being short & fat, do reckon it equads to Big BS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 I think I'm an old man too.. After a sour experience lending a significant sum of money to a friend (he did return me the sum in full, but at the cost of our friendship), I swore against lending people money or borrowing money from people. I have encountered some "friends" who suddenly call me out of the blue, chit chat a bit, then they pop the golden cherry question on borrowing money from me. I reject them flatly. Till now (that incident was more than 10 yrs ago), the only loan I give out is during meals or movies with good friends when one of us will pay first and the rest of us will pay back later after calculating the share that each of us should pay. And not more than $50. Yeah, 讲钱伤和气 I try not to do this. I don't mind lending a bit here and there. My friends have always paid me back. And if one friend refuses to pay back that $200 (about the most I'd lend out?), I guess, $200 is actually a small price to see someones true colour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 (edited) Yeah, 讲钱伤和气 I try not to do this. I don't mind lending a bit here and there. My friends have always paid me back. And if one friend refuses to pay back that $200 (about the most I'd lend out?), I guess, $200 is actually a small price to see someones true colour. Mine was a bit more. $1K, when I was in sec sch. So yeah that money meant a lot to me, took me 3 years to fully recover the sum. By then, no more friends liao. So i'm glad i only wasted the interest on that $1K Edited June 29, 2010 by Beehive3783 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 The worst is, those so called 'friends' you met after a long time. Chat and all, and the next day they call to borrow $$$...WTF....think I print $$$ ah. Clearly a ruse to take $$$ and never intend to return. yup kena few the worse is just met after a few exchange of question can start to ask money lucky i'm a type of person never got money in my wallet, as i kept my money in key pouch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TortoiseRacer Clutched June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 Mine was a bit more. $1K, when I was in sec sch. So yeah that money meant a lot to me, took me 3 years to fully recover the sum. By then, no more friends liao. So i'm glad i only wasted the interest on that $1K Got a friend who borrowed $500 from me. She eventually returned it after much wheedling and pushing on my part.. By then, the friendship not as close any more. Later on still tried to persuade me to take a loan on her behalf! siao ah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inimatad 1st Gear June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 (edited) Ya kena approached a few times already in AMK centre. One time, a Chinese boy abt 10 to 12 asked my wife and I for some money as he said that his family is poor and have not taken a meal in 2 days. My wife said "no problem,I will buy you some thing to eat" on the condition that you follow her back to her office as she stated that she is a social worker and would be obliged to help him and his family. Next thing I know, the kid ran off. This worked for us on 2 other occasions. Edited June 29, 2010 by Inimatad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear June 29, 2010 Author Share June 29, 2010 seeds of love in liquid form! Then you must be a rubber tree Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear June 29, 2010 Author Share June 29, 2010 Well, my maid has a face you may not wish to remember. Being short & fat, do reckon it equads to Big BS. Sorry bro but the one I saw was quite tall and does not look like the one in the photo. Hope you find her soon! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 (edited) last time at centro club, ever once an ah moh asked me for a ciggie cos he said the ciggie here expensive...wah kao...ah moh no money to pay ciggie. another incident i recalled....at BK Square 2. This guy looks like 14yo going around, behaving a bit retarded, begging BK customers for money, even go to the extend of hitting himself and kneeling down to pressure this grp of pinays to donate. many ppl ignored him...only saw the pinays gave him money. im quite pissed the BK staff saw him intruding private premise and yet they didnt chase him away. the guy initially touched my hand (yuck) and asked for money...knowing im not easy target, he leave as soon as I said NO. Edited June 29, 2010 by Babyt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 I rather meet those strangers asking for money....... THAN.... Those sales persons trying to propaganda you especially those in the Banking side ones..... They smile at you and say "hi, good evening sir"...... LL,....i see them.....I "ran" immediately........ They really sicko sia....Machiam everytime camped at those MRT, Shopping centres, bus interchange, those crowded areas there....... Wa piang....I go everywhere also see time.... On the other hand, I was smoking outside OCBC at Cuppage, one of the OCBC staff approached me. Me (Thinking): "oh shxxt.." Lady: "Can I...." Me (Getting ready to "run", hand already raised up in a "no gesture) Lady: "Borrow your lighter?" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 On the other hand, I was smoking outside OCBC at Cuppage, one of the OCBC staff approached me. Me (Thinking): "oh shxxt.." Lady: "Can I...." Me (Getting ready to "run", hand already raised up in a "no gesture) Lady: "Borrow your lighter?" but you gay wat....the opp sex wun turn u on nia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 hmmm...your dad and mine think alike ah... BRUDDER!!!! U shd start asking your dad to tell the truth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 U shd start asking your dad to tell the truth eh...he fertiliser already....unless i wait 7 month sms him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 eh...he fertiliser already....unless i wait 7 month sms him at least it ain't toxic waste... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 What is the world coming to? Had 2 encounters with strangers asking for money . . . asking and not begging! Yesterday was at Jalan Bukit Merah carpark near the Thai temple, had sent my sonny for his weekly maths tuition and I was washing/claybaring my ride when a guy in his 20's approached me. "Mister" he said . . . "I want to take bus but got not enough money, can spare me 20cents?" "Huh? 20 cents? Wait arhh" I said, wiping my hands dry before checking my pockets. Took out a dollar coin and passed it to him, "Nah!" He looked at me, suprised. I saw his look and asked "Why? Not enough arhh?" "No, no . . . I only asked for 20 cents" "Nevermind lah, bye bye." and waved him off. "Thank you, thank you . . . pai seh leh, I only need 20 cents" "Nevermind lor" and he sauntered off. "Lao hiah" I thought to myself "you better go take bus and not buy ciggies with my money" TODAY, Sunday afternoon. I was at my block's carpark waxing my car when a young malay girl came up from behind me and said "EXCUSE me!" I jumped slightly as I got a shock. "Huh? wat isit?" I turned around. "Can I have $10?" she said. "Ten dollars?? You say $10?" I asked in disbelieve. She nodded her head. "No, no, no" I wagged my index finger "One dollar can but no ten dollars, sorry arhh" She walked off without looking back. What a weekend! The only times people asked me for money are during Saturdays' flag days but these encounters with strangers asking for money, I have never come across except for the one unker who dragged his aged mother along asking for money . . . well, that was another incident which I related in a thread many moons ago. Strange! God of Fortune was testing ur limit. Now he knows ur limit is $1.00. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...