An act of compassion or racism ????

HARDGAYHOOOO

I am relating the incident some place in Singapore on a fine Friday afternoon. My friends and I parked our cars in open space carpark together with many whom I believe to be drivers attending prayers in the nearby mosque. I admit being taking things for granted that there are many other cars on that stretch of road, we left our cars there tearing onli 30mins of coupons to have our lunch at coffee shops near to the mosque as we heard that food there is nice. Parking for your info is always packed during tat hour.

We were shocked to uncover summon slips of paper slot (You know the usual place lah) on our cars and what made us more pissed off is that others cars were left untouched. Cars especially with sutra decals imprinted on the sun shade , we thinked after checked all the others. We were like WTF ?????? Some didnt even display coupons.

Appreciate the fact that fellow parking wardens are doing such a "great" job in enforcing law and order , making sure cars or rather drivers who breach the parking rule are punished but this.....WELL ... Correct me if Im wrong, so cars with sutra decals on the sun shade will be exempted from receiving summons "on compassionate grounds" just because they have to go for FRI prayers???? Hmmmm ....

Frankly speaking Im not racist , am fine with living and respecting religion of others but just felt that that this isnt the way to do things ????? BTW officer who summoned our cars was one parking warden Madam xxxx Binte Osman.

What do you guys think ????? I rest my case [bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry]

We tried to appeal for the ticket but HDB mainly gave us the "black and white" on that. LAN LAN SIAO SIAO pay up .

Edited by HARDGAYHOOOO

its a valid complain, because of the double standards. However, not every Muslim car owner/driver has the arabic phrase decals on their car - take for example my car. Just a road tax disc. So in your scenario i'd probably be summoned too hahahah.

As a Muslim, if i were to do the same thing at lets say a Sunday Mass, i'd probably feel the same way as you too. However, theres always the issue on religious sensitivity, and unofficially it may also extend towards superficial issues such as parking along the road.

I am relating the incident some place in Singapore on a fine Friday afternoon. My friends and I parked our cars in open space carpark together with many whom I believe to be drivers attending prayers in the nearby mosque. I admit being taking things for granted that there are many other cars on that stretch of road, we left our cars there tearing onli 30mins of coupons to have our lunch at coffee shops near to the mosque as we heard that food there is nice. Parking for your info is always packed during tat hour.

We were shocked to uncover summon slips of paper slot (You know the usual place lah) on our cars and what made us more pissed off is that others cars were left untouched. Cars especially with sutra decals imprinted on the sun shade , we thinked after checked all the others. We were like WTF ?????? Some didnt even display coupons.

Appreciate the fact that fellow parking wardens are doing such a "great" job in enforcing law and order , making sure cars or rather drivers who breach the parking rule are punished but this.....WELL ... Correct me if Im wrong, so cars with sutra decals on the sun shade will be exempted from receiving summons "on compassionate grounds" just because they have to go for FRI prayers???? Hmmmm ....

Frankly speaking Im not racist , am fine with living and respecting religion of others but just felt that that this isnt the way to do things ????? BTW officer who summoned our cars was one parking warden Madam xxxx Binte Osman.

We tried to appeal for the ticket but HDB mainly gave us the "black and white" on that. LAN LAN SIAO SIAO pay up .

Ever been fishing? ^_^

its a valid complain, because of the double standards. However, not every Muslim car owner/driver has the arabic phrase decals on their car - take for example my car. Just a road tax disc. So in your scenario i'd probably be summoned too hahahah.

As a Muslim, if i were to do the same thing at lets say a Sunday Mass, i'd probably feel the same way as you too. However, theres always the issue on religious sensitivity, and unofficially it may also extend towards superficial issues such as parking along the road.

Yap....singapore being a country which strongly against racism ....well wardens doing such aint exactly helping !!! <_< <_<

Sutra? You got me confused with Buddhism. Chill out, as if you're born yesterday.

Could it be after they issue summon to your car.. then those cars arrived without putting coupons.. Maybe is a timing issue lah... Take it easy..

Yap....singapore being a country which strongly against racism ....well wardens doing such aint exactly helping !!! <_< <_<

This is the common practice of the wardens in Singapore, bro. This isn't exactly racism. I'd rather call this 'double standard'. Just like when one party makes a mistake, they says it's an honest mistake and get away with it, but when the other party make the same mistake, they got punished. [whip]

I live next to a mosque. I always see the wardens giving out notice of parking offence in the kopitiam carpark just opposite the mosque but never once see them them giving out summons to those coming for prayers, parking their cars illegally (along double yellow line, 100 bucks fine) on Friday afternoon.

Just have to learn to live with it. [;)]

Just take down 1 or 2 picture and email it to URA or HDB lor...Heeheee....

CC to Stomp first you will get the reply fast and good.

This is racism.

Traffic wardens are mostly a certain race, tend to close one eye to their own race.

What to do? Our government has made us docile people that we do not dare to stand up to them.

You can go complain here and there, going see MP blah blah, also no use one.

Cause this is sensitive issue and you have no proof the warden practiced racism.

If you really wanna get back at them, have to do it the ugly way.

Go become bait again and park illegally between 2 cars owned by malays.

Then film the warden and shoot/post the video as proof.

Perhaps TS may have pwned himself by displaying the coupons in the first place....thereby leaving no doubt that he's not attending mosque svcs. Take the one at Magaret Drive towards Tanglin Rd, it becomes a single lane due to cars parked at both sides but most of us understand the situation and let live. [wave]

You stupid Cina babi, why never KOWTOW to the Malay parking warden?????

What do you guys think ????? I rest my case [bigcry][bigcry][bigcry]

sorry to TS, i actually think it is fair.

the mosque probably have applied to the authorities for waiver of traffic offence at specific times.

but this privilege should not be abused or exploited by others who are not visiting the mosque.

hence it is fair to fine those who are not parking there for prayers.

likewise for landed estate, some estate committee have applied to LTA to let the rightful owners park illegally as some owners have 3 or 4 cars and have no place to park within their own compound, hence the authorities have reviewed and given special waiver to those who reside at the private estate to park illegally. however, those who do not reside there and park illegal, those fellows will be summoned and fined.

i dont think it is double standards, it is just that the people who have a valid reason/requirement for illegal parking are being given the waiver.

It's an open secret if u park at church or temples n u got the biggest cross or Buddha on ur car won't help. Still will get summon. But if u mix onions, stars n curly fries I'll get a different recepie.... Free parking. WTF... Dbl standard...