Toapayohkid 1st Gear June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 dont think i saw this discussed before, but anyone went down to showroom to ask abt this? what are the terms n cond? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 do u think u will drive the car for 10yrs in the first place?..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 its just a rebate off the car price equivalent to 10yrs worth of road tax for the little engines Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 Instead of giving you $10,000 overtrade, they say give you upfront discount road tax for the next ten years. Its just how sales people play around with the words lah. I can also offer free next 10 years tyres, or maybe free engine oil, etc if I am selling cars. BUT, everytime you must come back to the AD workshop for all the maintenance and services. Worth it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 do u think u will drive the car for 10yrs in the first place?..... i think they should not give this free road tax as upfront discount. Otherwise, it loses the meaning & defeats the purpose. Might as well say upfront discount on all VW models! rather, they should issue cheque to owners for road tax every 6 months. If owner sell early, they will not get this cheque. This will encourage owners to keep for full 10 years and at the same time, the public & owner will get to see how reliable VW is in 10 years of ownership. you see, for GST offset, they give us separately in installments, not one lump sum! By the way, I recall one car brand offering zero interest on its car loans. Cannot remember which brand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrixx 3rd Gear June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 Instead of giving you $10,000 overtrade, they say give you upfront discount road tax for the next ten years. Its just how sales people play around with the words lah. I can also offer free next 10 years tyres, or maybe free engine oil, etc if I am selling cars. BUT, everytime you must come back to the AD workshop for all the maintenance and services. Worth it? Sorry to hijack the thread a bit, but what is "Overtrade".......I've heard of it, but never could understand it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 overtrade is where the dealer give you extra cash to settle your car loan, but you also take this extra cash as your new car loan as well.... basically you take a higher (than what you need/ require) loan for your new car.... confusing terms.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 Its such playing with words...... Instead of giving upfront discount, they offset your road tax instead...... I would rather than upfront discount then such things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hungee Neutral Newbie June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 dont think i saw this discussed before, but anyone went down to showroom to ask abt this? what are the terms n cond? There's a thread in Conti Talk ... http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2652315 Check it out ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 (edited) Pattern more than badminton. It will confuse innocent car buyers who really think it's a good deal. Old birds will still look at the overall purchase price minus all the discounts and rebates and overtrade. Just like AD give you five years warranty. But u must go back to it's work shop to do all the servincing and mandatory parts change at fixed intervals. Worth it? Edited June 24, 2010 by SimonTan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 dont think i saw this discussed before, but anyone went down to showroom to ask abt this? what are the terms n cond? dont bother... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 visited the showroom to check out scirocco. Its the listed price - (annual road tax X 9 ) - loan discount. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vlad1973 Neutral Newbie June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 walao! give discount complain, never give discount also complain. why don't u keep aside the discounted amount, put it in a bank, then every year take it out to pay road tax lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear June 25, 2010 Author Share June 25, 2010 There's a thread in Conti Talk ... http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2652315 Check it out ... wahh thanks! many of my questions answered there! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear June 25, 2010 Author Share June 25, 2010 thanks guys. yah i was thinking if get cat b vw then it is maybe worth it. but even if 2litre car, road tax per yr is about $1200. if get touarag 3.6 even more worth it if got money as road tax abt $3000 a year! from what it seems, not all vw got this offer (i think only their cat a cars) and road tax don't include the diesel tax, and of course, very few keep car for 10 years and vw probably give road tax reimbursment in check every 6 mths and not up front 10 years! lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 (edited) thanks guys. yah i was thinking if get cat b vw then it is maybe worth it. but even if 2litre car, road tax per yr is about $1200. if get touarag 3.6 even more worth it if got money as road tax abt $3000 a year! from what it seems, not all vw got this offer (i think only their cat a cars) and road tax don't include the diesel tax, and of course, very few keep car for 10 years and vw probably give road tax reimbursment in check every 6 mths and not up front 10 years! lol no lah its just a gimik to attract attention. some bro mention that they are giving discount to their total price which is around the price of current road tax for 10 years. Anyway, if you notice the trend of VW in USA where they are begining to price their Car in the same price segment as H and T. this might not be a discount, but they are just slowly adjusting the price downwards to minise the impact that the brand become a Cheapo brand. Edited June 25, 2010 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 its still an innovative marketing tool. sure got people go for it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...