Blackmore 1st Gear June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 QUOTE (Unltd @ Jun 23 2010, 10:34 PM) Of course have one la, last time I know they will push the sissies off. The parachute is not self opened, the catch is tied to a rope (forgot what its called but very strong type for underslung) attached to the plane. So when jump off or push off, the catch will auto trigger after some distance. With the current training, I think can back out and not jump already la... I not commando but I have followed quite a few times on these jumps... BTW there is also a reserve parachute which I never seen deploy before... The reserve parachute should be quite difficult to deploy, if the main is tangled then gotta cut off before deploy, if the main parachute don't open then easy, can immediately deploy... The parachutes are packed by riggers, most are women in the commando camp who are probably fitter than most guys... Riggers are specialized vocation... Oh yeah, the worse case if both fail it is supposed to be the jump instructors who jump after the falling trooper to catch and deploy his own parachute, they have different parachute for these instructors, can have much better control... Anyways, I have witnessed quite alot of the jumps and nothing much happens... Last time when I was there the worse case is broken ankle, usually only minor ankle sprains only... During jump have to wear ankle brace so it helps support them when they land... Happy reading.... wats ur vocation? ur post is nonsense u know 1. the chute is self open 2. the rope is called static line 3. by the nature of such jumps, there is no way one can back out. its not freefall. 4. the reserve chute is not diff to deploy. the jumper is alr running out of altitude and they stil make it diff to deploy? 5. there is no way an instructor wil jump aft a malfunction chute. yes they hv specialised chute called LOPO and now called Butler. 6. no one wear ankle braces for a static line jump. Unltd was trying to describe the 20 lbs string that bind the parachute with the flap that goes with the Static line on the M10 parachute. He understand the concept but could not elaborate it techincally from what I read. But he is not entirely wrong. Once the Jumper leaves the plane , given the weight of the jumper (above 45KG IIRC, remembered clearly because there was a skinny indian lady cadet lt that weight only 40KG that the PJI worry that the chute could not deploy) the white string will burst thus releasing the chute in the air. Air starts to slips in and trap into the chute and in another second you will feel the nice jerk knowing that your parachute is deployed. Follow by the song and dance. 30s later your on the ground. I still remember the demo performed by the riggers on the 1st few days of ground school. How they meticoulsy check and pack each parachute. And yes, riggers jump with their own pack parachutes . One thing you have to respect these riggers, your lives depends on their confidence. The instructor may not jump after the jumper but will cut the static line if it fail to deploy (provided the jumper is conscious and ready to deploy the reserve chute). Or he /she will go all his/her way to bring you out of harms way if you get caught in the slip stream and dangling with the plane though unlikely but can happen. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 Sometime got regulars & reservists & riggers join in for make up jump.All the PJI treated us as adults with the training; no special treatment given our age. Our time course size was 43 usually it was 50 cadets . Now I read on the NCC website that the course is limited to 20 and once a year. That time SSG Peter Lee ever commented on the motto; "Once Airborne, always airborne !" Over the years , we grew to understand the honour the wings represented and the comradineship among. Yes, times changed and the SAF wake up. wings only mah.... nothing special... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackmore 1st Gear June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 wings only mah.... nothing special... Yeah, the piece of metal itself has no meaning unless the bearer has under gone the rigours of training and the pride associated with it. Same goes with our local currencies; its just a piece of scented paper. But it represent the financial standing based on the printed value on it. Or even the State flag, despite the screwing govermental policies for the past 40 years; if your heart does not lies with the flag the land you lived on is also nothing special. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 (edited) Yeah, the piece of metal itself has no meaning unless the bearer has under gone the rigours of training and the pride associated with it. Same goes with our local currencies; its just a piece of scented paper. But it represent the financial standing based on the printed value on it. Or even the State flag, despite the screwing govermental policies for the past 40 years; if your heart does not lies with the flag the land you lived on is also nothing special. what pride? is not that hard jumping out of a plane what... like some bros mention... dun dare to jump, there are even ppl to give you a "helping hand" to help you get your wings just reach the ground alive my heart does not lie with the state,financial standing, or the flag.... it lies with the ppl who care about me... Edited June 24, 2010 by Ngck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 (edited) got wear for a while, during bmt lah then kena ocs, quickly take out... dont want to be high profile mah During my NCC days, my course warren was Tan Poh Eng, the commando who have unfortunately passed away in the recent para jump... Edited June 24, 2010 by Byond Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terras14 June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 During parachute jumping, has anyone froze at the door before? Do you pull him back in the plane or kick him out? Is it true commando reservist very senang one? Who has won more fist fights? Guards or Commandos? How did this rivalry come about? Hi usually before the actual jump, trainee would have already jump at the airborne towers many times.Since now i dun know if there still use the airborne tower. hence they are less likely to be afraid of jumping out. Also when the door of the C130 opens and turn green, from the moment you hold on to the static line to out of the plane is like less than 1 sec coz the jump master will be at the door tapping or rather pushing you and keep shouting out out out out out....till the whole team is out. once i see a regular ( i was nsf) leg neng almost sit and the door when it was his turn and the jump master just push him out. And reservist was quite siong for the first 3 years but got easier coz everyone is getting older...haha...and yes just 6 reservist and thats it. Saying bye bye to ippt since 2 years ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 Brother, I share exactly the same sentiments. What pride? My heart is also only with the people who care about me. what pride? is not that hard jumping out of a plane what... like some bros mention... dun dare to jump, there are even ppl to give you a "helping hand" to help you get your wings just reach the ground alive my heart does not lie with the state,financial standing, or the flag.... it lies with the ppl who care about me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 My JC Chemistry teacher who is a former commando told us that prior to actually doing the para jump, they had to walk around with a $2 note held tight by squeezing their two knees as close as possible. No joke, you walk around like that too (or that was what i thought) There was this guy who lived by the SAF no. 1 rule (do anything just dont get caught). He tried to feign doing this through the whole process. It was a foolhardy decision. This man died during the jump because his chute wouldn't open up properly. I was told that by squeezing both lower limbs as close together, this will allow to direct sufficient air flow and vortex to force open the main chute. My teacher had an ordeal not too nice as well. Not long after opening his main chute. The main riggings of the main chute got entangled in his right arm. It tore through his muscle and he had to have his right biceps surgically removed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 got wear for a while, during bmt lah then kena ocs, quickly take out... dont want to be high profile mah During my NCC days, my course warren was Tan Poh Eng, the commando who have unfortunately passed away in the recent para jump... hahah should be opposite. BMT low profile then OCS then high profile Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 Brother, I share exactly the same sentiments. What pride? My heart is also only with the people who care about me. Exactly. For Honour and Gory! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 Now...isn't that Sweet.......Awww... :wub: Exactly. For Honour and Gory! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 Sometime got regulars & reservists & riggers join in for make up jump.All the PJI treated us as adults with the training; no special treatment given our age. Our time course size was 43 usually it was 50 cadets . Now I read on the NCC website that the course is limited to 20 and once a year. That time SSG Peter Lee ever commented on the motto; "Once Airborne, always airborne !" Over the years , we grew to understand the honour the wings represented and the comradineship among. Yes, times changed and the SAF wake up. Actually they're thinking of holding it twice a year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 My JC Chemistry teacher who is a former commando told us that prior to actually doing the para jump, they had to walk around with a $2 note held tight by squeezing their two knees as close as possible. No joke, you walk around like that too (or that was what i thought) There was this guy who lived by the SAF no. 1 rule (do anything just dont get caught). He tried to feign doing this through the whole process. It was a foolhardy decision. This man died during the jump because his chute wouldn't open up properly. I was told that by squeezing both lower limbs as close together, this will allow to direct sufficient air flow and vortex to force open the main chute. My teacher had an ordeal not too nice as well. Not long after opening his main chute. The main riggings of the main chute got entangled in his right arm. It tore through his muscle and he had to have his right biceps surgically removed. your JC teacher regular? Free fall in movie i see ppl leg open big big leh.... no biceps just cook up some story is it? i wish the line would entangle my tummy when i jump Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 Brother, I share exactly the same sentiments. What pride? My heart is also only with the people who care about me. yeah man.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 heng i never complete OCS lol i recos and yet out of cos again hahaa BUT one good thing NS have for me is that, they gave me my driving license, class 3 FOC... kio tio lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 your JC teacher regular? Free fall in movie i see ppl leg open big big leh.... no biceps just cook up some story is it? i wish the line would entangle my tummy when i jump Smoke JC girls Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dudemobile Neutral Newbie June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 (edited) the knees together is to allow the impact force to transfer, when you do the push turn and roll over. Against all odds, Edited June 25, 2010 by Dudemobile Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dudemobile Neutral Newbie June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 swee...bu4 ta3 bu xiang shi...hehe cos the nature of the push rollover adds alot of stress to the ankles...so ya mayb some pple wil wear guard... I never knew of any ankle braces back in the 90'ties. Back then it was tighten your full leather boot laces for maximum ankle support. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...