Chrispie 5th Gear June 19, 2010 Share June 19, 2010 (edited) Hi fellow motorists, We all know stopping along a road with dbl zigzag lines carries a fine of 140 (?) and demerit pts of 4. And thats what i kena. Long ago, i was along shenton way. Lost my way, and didnt want to kena ERP coz of entering wrong road, then back and kena another ERP, i had to stop to check the street directory. I stopped behind a taxi stand taht is good for 2 taxis. I remembered that day, the taxi stand was full with a few taxi (more than 2 for sure). I am effectively a taxi in a queue if my car is painted with COmfort logo, and im on the dbl zigzag line. I was happily reading the map, and when i looked up, a scooter carrying the traffic marshal rode away after writing something on his notepad. I know im dead. bEing a good citizen, i paid the fine, took the points, and moved on. Recently, when i was back in the area again, i saw that the taxi queue along either Shenton way or Robinson road are always very long. Far more taxis are waiting in the 'just for 2 taxis' stand, and encroaching into the roads where the double zigzag lines are painted. And when a traffic marshall road past, nothing was done. In case like this, doesnt it carry double standard? How come a taxi, being on the ZZ line, is able to escape the penalty just because it is queuing? Then what is the 'For 2 Taxis only' sign for? If i was in line with the last waiting taxi, doesnt that render me immunity as well? Or does TAxi is a special group that is free from the ZZ lines rule? Puzzled, i wrote to LTA. to be continued. Edited June 19, 2010 by Chrispie ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged June 19, 2010 Share June 19, 2010 Yes, double Standard but sad to say, boy everthing is always 1+1equal 2... move on lar.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged June 19, 2010 Share June 19, 2010 more often for this case, lta will be the one taking action against the taxi driver instead Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear June 20, 2010 Share June 20, 2010 read in one of the threads... there is a number to call(for cabbies) if there is a private car parked in or near a taxi stand so in this case...could be cabbies reported you but i cant recall which thread it is... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear June 20, 2010 Author Share June 20, 2010 nah.. not really. Here is the reply from LTA: TAXI STOPPING ON DOUBLE ZIGZAG LINES FEEDBACK NUMBER: 20100615-0230 We refer to your email of 15 June 2010. Following your email, we have checked with the Traffic Police (TP) call centre and confirmed that your feedback made on taxi stopping on double zigzag lines is under TP's purview and they will look into the matter. To expedite the response, we have, by copy of this email forwarded your feedback to the TP for their attention and reply to you. LTA treats all feedback we receive seriously. For matters that LTA handles, our standard operating procedure is to provide prompt replies on straight forward issues and periodic updates if the issues raised are complex and need more time to study. For matters handled by other agencies, we forward the writer's feedback to the relevant agency directly, to expedite the response. Once again, thank you for writing in. If you have other feedback on land transport related issues, please call our 24-hour Customer Service Hotline at 1800- CALL LTA (1800- 2255582) or send a SMS to 77LTA (77582). And here is the TP's reply: I refer to your preceding email. Please be informed that your email is receiving attention from our Patrol Unit. Our officers from Patrol Unit will take your feedback into consideration when planning our operations. Thank you for bringing the matter to our attention. cc LTA - Kindly address to this issue seriously too as over-queueing of taxis at taxi stands come under your purview. So here is the ping pong again: the taxi is actually wrong queing on the zz line, so now TP will highlight to their patrol unit to enforce. But since the enforcement unit is traffic marshall (from TP or LTA?), they did not take action because they actually closed their eyes to both zz line rule and the taxi stand overcrowding rule. So now TP telling LTA that they should look into the taxi stand problem, that spilled over to the zz line prob, which is actually TP's problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 20, 2010 Share June 20, 2010 Kind of a standard copy and paste reply. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear June 20, 2010 Share June 20, 2010 On 6/20/2010 at 12:42 AM, Chrispie said: So here is the ping pong again: yah.... u dunno we are ping pong world cup champions meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged June 20, 2010 Share June 20, 2010 zig zag line is under taffic parking offence which is under TP, over queuing is under LTA. for this type of cases tp normally wont bother taking action against the taxi driving since they are just waiting for customers. you wont see them chasing taxi away from a taxi stand. lta can step in and issue them demerit points for queuing over the allocated number of taxi waiting lots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 20, 2010 Share June 20, 2010 Moral of the story, get a GPS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mingsect 5th Gear June 20, 2010 Share June 20, 2010 On 6/20/2010 at 4:50 AM, Fcw75 said: Moral of the story, get a GPS. haha. thanks a good one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear June 20, 2010 Author Share June 20, 2010 I can imagine the email to me from TP is simply a link to the Garmin website.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged June 20, 2010 Share June 20, 2010 On 6/19/2010 at 8:46 AM, Chrispie said: Hi fellow motorists, We all know stopping along a road with dbl zigzag lines carries a fine of 140 (?) and demerit pts of 4. And thats what i kena. Long ago, i was along shenton way. Lost my way, and didnt want to kena ERP coz of entering wrong road, then back and kena another ERP, i had to stop to check the street directory. I stopped behind a taxi stand taht is good for 2 taxis. I remembered that day, the taxi stand was full with a few taxi (more than 2 for sure). I am effectively a taxi in a queue if my car is painted with COmfort logo, and im on the dbl zigzag line. I was happily reading the map, and when i looked up, a scooter carrying the traffic marshal rode away after writing something on his notepad. I know im dead. bEing a good citizen, i paid the fine, took the points, and moved on. Recently, when i was back in the area again, i saw that the taxi queue along either Shenton way or Robinson road are always very long. Far more taxis are waiting in the 'just for 2 taxis' stand, and encroaching into the roads where the double zigzag lines are painted. And when a traffic marshall road past, nothing was done. In case like this, doesnt it carry double standard? How come a taxi, being on the ZZ line, is able to escape the penalty just because it is queuing? Then what is the 'For 2 Taxis only' sign for? If i was in line with the last waiting taxi, doesnt that render me immunity as well? Or does TAxi is a special group that is free from the ZZ lines rule? to be continued. I often wait there for my wife. But I remain vigilent and if I see any scooter, I will move off right away and come back later to pick up my wife. But usually I will get her to wait there for me. As for taxi, usually they are just earning a living, and the taxi turnover there is really high. live and let live. 何必赶尽杀绝. Imagine yourself working there and you can't get a taxi? What I usually do is I will wait alongside the taxi queue instead, so that if the scooter came, i can drive off immediately. Usually the won't do anything. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear June 20, 2010 Author Share June 20, 2010 ermm.. drive alongside the taxi queue? so wont u encrouch into the other lane? I can imagine driving behind you.. along side the taxi queue.. then u suddenly stopped on half of lane 2 leh.... abit dangerous leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Traser Neutral Newbie June 22, 2010 Share June 22, 2010 yalor, a bit inconvenience to driver behind u, unless you signal early & slowly move into the taxi queue, is fine with me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear June 22, 2010 Share June 22, 2010 Stop drawing attention to others who unlike you did not get fined, for whatever reasons. Stop pretending that you are on a quest for justice to find out why you were fined and taxis were not. In other words - you are a particularly ugly specimen of "Hallo, policeman, why you catch me but never catch the rest?" Your psyche is plain for all to see: Selfish prick: Thread title: Parking along the roads of private landed property estates. http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2649720 Post #156 from Kianbeng timestamped Apr 10 2010, 12:02AM Careless and arrogant: Thread title: PArking within 3M from a fire hydrant fine http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2622901 I am world best parker and want to shame poor parkers: Thread title: Inconsiderate parking - post ur pics: http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2340990 Since you want to rid the world of parking offenders, just quit your job and become Cisco parking warden, OK? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear June 22, 2010 Author Share June 22, 2010 (edited) ........... you think too much. Edited June 22, 2010 by Chrispie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear June 22, 2010 Share June 22, 2010 Is that all you can come up with? You are changing your replies to me, from "yawn try harder", to "you think too much". You are desperately trying to rebuild your credibility. What I've said is playing on your mind. So there is still hope for you. In the meantime you're the self-pawned loser, collecting demerrit points, parking fines and rubbish bins pushed up against your car. Why does sh1t keep happening to you? In this thread, did any forummer rally around your cause? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear June 22, 2010 Author Share June 22, 2010 (edited) im just relating what i encountered. You can retard retort all you want. I dont need anyone's approval. I dont expect everyone to agree with me either. Imagine a forum with everyone singing the same tune!? If you think i am a self pawned loser, i enjoy collecting demerit points and pay parking fines, and enjoy others pushing dustbins against my car, ok lor. I cant stop you from saying what you want to say. I enjoy your attention. Edited June 22, 2010 by Chrispie ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...