Iisterry 3rd Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story Jun 14, 2010 One inbox for every citizen By Andrea Ong and Zakir Hussain ALL residents will have an online mailbox to which various Government agencies will send statements and bills from tax statements to TV license renewals and service and conservancy bills. Called OneInbox, this service will be launched by 2012. It is part of a new approach to cut down on paper, make it quick and easy for people to keep track of their bills, and provide citizens with a digital 'safe deposit box' for their important documents and statements. People will also be able to track the status of their transactions with various public agencies online, just like they track registered mail. This future was painted in broad strokes by the Government's chief informaton officer James Kang on Monday in a presentation on Singapore's e-Government strategy over the next decade, without detailing the changes that will take place. He was speaking to 300 civil servants, infocomm technology (ICT) experts and delegates from 28 countries at the iGov global forum at Suntec City. It is an annual forum organised by the Finance Ministry and the Infocomm Development Authority, where Mr Kang is assistant chief executive, to exchange ideas on online government strategies. Speaking at the start of the two-day event, Civil Service Head Peter Ho noted that the popularity of social networking tools such as Facebook, Twitter and YouTube has seen 'a growing constituency of empowered citizens who do not necessarily subscribe to the notion of 'Government knows best'.' 'The same disruptive technologies that are empowering citizens can also be harnessed by the public sector to deliver efficient and effective services,' he said. ----------------------------------------------------------------- Big Brother is watching you! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 Now they can save on registered letters and presume you read your traffic fines, outstanding violations, court orders, etc.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 Oh. An official inbox. That's actually quite convenient. I'm tired of so much paper in my letter box. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 If can use my existing mail box will be best. So many e-mail accounts to manage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 But how about those older folks like my parents who know nothing about computer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 As long as they allow mail forwarding from this "gahmen" inbox to my gmail or whatever, I'm OK with it. I think all administrative and financial transactions should be carried out paperlessly. We should never have to print out a soft copy into a hard copy, just email a digitally signed pdf, hey presto. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Billyone Neutral Newbie June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 that also can mean all our privacy goes up in the air agencies can screen our mails hope this will not happened Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 billyone...don tink they will screen ur email.cos it will b only used for govt related matters. n don tink u'll use it for ur personal emails. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace Clutched June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 I rather they stick with their existing method than some 1 inbox. For me, I will ned up woth 3 inbox since i have to monitor for both my parent and also need to translate for them the email content in the inbox. Doesn't make sense to me at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 (edited) i believe we won't be using this accounts for other usage other than receiving fine, tv license, etc. from the govt and agencies. If send to other personal email accounts, we can claim lost, dump to juke mail folder, etc. now no more excuses! by the way, we will probably asked to sign in using SPass so no more password to remember. I think the mail regarding our taxes are now in the IRA portal. Edited June 15, 2010 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 Truly divine would ask.. When the gov implement policies or come up with rules, regulations or anything like this...do they consider all aspects of society, different types of ppl of all ages and racial and language backgrounds? Do they even wonder on the different level of literacy of ppl, with different backgrounds? They don't. The scholars are paid too much even to consider the reality of what goes on on the 'ground'. The implement things they like and think that is acceptable based on their own lifestyles and way of life. But when it comes to voting time, they think everyone should vote for them. Ironic? You go figure. But if the majority could have figured this out, why are they getting all these sorts of nonsense till now? You go and figure that out also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 On 6/15/2010 at 2:13 AM, Kb27 said: Now they can save on registered letters and presume you read your traffic fines, outstanding violations, court orders, etc.. Well........... if you fail to read your mails, you have to pay extra fine for overdue........ so.... they make more $$$$$ lor no waste money on papers & printing.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 they will tell you if the 80+ year old MM can, why can't other Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 On 6/15/2010 at 3:21 AM, Jman888 said: they will tell you if the 80+ year old MM can, why can't other Oh I see..then this 80+ fella would think that all 80+ fellas male and females, are like him? Oh not wait...he'll tell you, that this crazy idea of an individual mail box originate ..'NOT from his idea' but the ideas of younger peers! What a way! Same goes to losing money. Same saying like....'Not my fault but those who are running the show now' .... But when you are about to vote, he'll say...'vote becos of him and remember him as it all due to his hard work'! What a way again! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 There is a hidden agenda behind all this - I am not sure if the gahmen is all good hearted in doing this. TINSTAAFL and caveat emptor! Imagine with this they track you at a single point! They can monitor if you read your mail, and any gahmen propaganda. In the name of convenience, I think we are all tying our souls to the the devil fishing line. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 Actually no need to create new ones............. Most of us already have a CPF login account and they just tag on it and knn............. we have to login at least twice a week to cheeck our mails ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 Please laa... If you use the account strictly for it's intended purpose and not use it to like sign up for MCF forum, how they track. However, surely, this will be a beacon for Nigerian scam again. I hope it will be a systematic naming like, XXXX_sgresident.gmail.com. Surely, someone will come out with brute force name guessing mechanism to spam everyone... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 what about those poor family who does not own computer? So letter box at void deck replace with 2 PC for the resident to check their in-box?? SingPost will " right size " as no need so many postman? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...