Celicar Turbocharged September 30, 2010 Share September 30, 2010 cheater will not call up to surrender, giving details of offence and offer to pay... This, in my view, is the fundamental disconnect - there are differing views on whether OPC drivers who intentionally cheat and those who unintentionally fail to purchase the licence in time. The thing is, the current rules do not differentiate between the 2 groups and OPC drivers subscribe to the scheme knowing there is no such differentiation. Subscription to the OPC scheme in order to enjoy its benefits are made on that basis. Not happy with this one-size-fit-all? Then the solution must be to not subscribe to the OPC scheme. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CWS78 Neutral Newbie September 30, 2010 Share September 30, 2010 This, in my view, is the fundamental disconnect - there are differing views on whether OPC drivers who intentionally cheat and those who unintentionally fail to purchase the licence in time. The thing is, the current rules do not differentiate between the 2 groups and OPC drivers subscribe to the scheme knowing there is no such differentiation. Subscription to the OPC scheme in order to enjoy its benefits are made on that basis. Not happy with this one-size-fit-all? Then the solution must be to not subscribe to the OPC scheme. Finally... Thanks Celicar for the sound opinion... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doraemarc Clutched September 30, 2010 Share September 30, 2010 May? i think you are safe bro, given now is Sep, it's already 4 months. if you did not pass through any ERP gantry, i think even less chance... from forum, it seems that if caught you should received in 2 months for details of driver on date of offence... mine was 1 month ago, so engrossed in thinking about work as boss stressed more in lift down to carpark that i forget timing and left i think around 6.50pm. then just out my workplace got photo flash at traffic light junction (not red light camera). now thinking back i dun know why i'm not bother by it until now, not sure the flash is LTA officer taking my car or road side contractor taking pic nd did not check time upon flash... . nope... alr gotten e letter to submit details in jul... but for some reasons they din receive so they send another reminder juz last week... went down to report alr though... yup. was caught by ERP gantry.... think LTA officer most of the time use video cam one... esp there is a bus lane Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scorpey Neutral Newbie October 9, 2010 Share October 9, 2010 I'm opc for 6 yrs and hv no problem with this system.. Some simple rules i follow Try to buy b4 u drive.. Register for SMS purchase very convenient.. Be honest..I bot coupon even it's 15 -30mins to 7pm.. Don't take chances FYI I spoke to lta b4 moving ur cars ard carpark oso consider usage ie hv to buy coupon! Hope this helps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kevoz Clutched October 9, 2010 Share October 9, 2010 recently i appealed my case and got a $500 fine which they say is an exceptional case....i supposed this is the lowest amount lately kana another letter saying i was driving w/o an e-day licence when i was actually working....after 2wks, still no news on how they can prove it's my vehicle....along upper thomson road. i believe they have someone on the road to catch us....nbz Bro, so did u actually drive ur car ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joelwong 2nd Gear October 9, 2010 Share October 9, 2010 How long does it take for them to send the letter? Is there a way to check online or something like that whether u kennah fine anot? I just realized i forgot to pay for last friday's e day license. really no chance to appeal ar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doraemarc Clutched October 10, 2010 Share October 10, 2010 How long does it take for them to send the letter? Is there a way to check online or something like that whether u kennah fine anot? I just realized i forgot to pay for last friday's e day license. really no chance to appeal ar? based on my past experience, it's not so soon dat u'll receive letter.. normally takes 6-8 weeks to received 1st letter to request for driver's particulars... another 4-6 weeks later den u'll receive the summon u can start checking lta website under 'enquire LTA fine' portion... if u decide to appeal upon receiving the summon, it'll be another 2-3 weeks before u know e result of your appeal. dun go to LTA as they'll juz wave u away, tell u to wait for letter.... juz a point to make, if u ever passed thru an active ERP gantry on fri, it's 120% u will kena... rumours say HDB carpark with EPS also can catch u... but so far no one had come fwd to confirm it... 1st time e fine is $500 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joelwong 2nd Gear October 10, 2010 Share October 10, 2010 based on my past experience, it's not so soon dat u'll receive letter.. normally takes 6-8 weeks to received 1st letter to request for driver's particulars... another 4-6 weeks later den u'll receive the summon u can start checking lta website under 'enquire LTA fine' portion... if u decide to appeal upon receiving the summon, it'll be another 2-3 weeks before u know e result of your appeal. dun go to LTA as they'll juz wave u away, tell u to wait for letter.... juz a point to make, if u ever passed thru an active ERP gantry on fri, it's 120% u will kena... rumours say HDB carpark with EPS also can catch u... but so far no one had come fwd to confirm it... 1st time e fine is $500 thank for the info. I guessed i will have to be stressed for the next 1 -2 months Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doraemarc Clutched October 10, 2010 Share October 10, 2010 thank for the info. I guessed i will have to be stressed for the next 1 -2 months eh... dun be... juz live normally n dun make same mistake again..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged October 10, 2010 Share October 10, 2010 I converted to regular plate, just to save all these hassles..rther than to spend 20bucks or to wait 40mins at a cabstand..just drive ourselves...with a normal plate...!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doraemarc Clutched October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 I converted to regular plate, just to save all these hassles..rther than to spend 20bucks or to wait 40mins at a cabstand..just drive ourselves...with a normal plate...!! me too.... after kena few times... so rather den put my wallet at risk... somemore kena brand by LTA as a cheat, i rather spend more per month on instalment... u convert ur opc to normal plate? so like me, simply sell off n buy a normal plate car? if u convert, care to share the procedure? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xuyw Neutral Newbie October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 Hi all bro and sis, why in the 1st place you all dun want to buy normal plate car. and the road tax you also can't save much after you all kana fine due to nv pay $20. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joelwong 2nd Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Hi all bro and sis, why in the 1st place you all dun want to buy normal plate car. and the road tax you also can't save much after you all kana fine due to nv pay $20. then why in the first place the govt come out with OPC for? car price save 17k, road tax $70 per year...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheenang Neutral Newbie October 19, 2010 Share October 19, 2010 based on my past experience, it's not so soon dat u'll receive letter.. normally takes 6-8 weeks to received 1st letter to request for driver's particulars... another 4-6 weeks later den u'll receive the summon u can start checking lta website under 'enquire LTA fine' portion... if u decide to appeal upon receiving the summon, it'll be another 2-3 weeks before u know e result of your appeal. dun go to LTA as they'll juz wave u away, tell u to wait for letter.... juz a point to make, if u ever passed thru an active ERP gantry on fri, it's 120% u will kena... rumours say HDB carpark with EPS also can catch u... but so far no one had come fwd to confirm it... 1st time e fine is $500 Well, here's another variation, I forgot to buy coupon for 24th Sept and wrote in to LTA on the 26th, just received an email from them today asking for explanation. But they were quick to point out that coming forward to tell them you forgot will be taken as a self admission that you committed the offence and will be subjected to the same rule.....although I am hoping they will give chance.....will update once got news Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doraemarc Clutched October 19, 2010 Share October 19, 2010 Well, here's another variation, I forgot to buy coupon for 24th Sept and wrote in to LTA on the 26th, just received an email from them today asking for explanation. But they were quick to point out that coming forward to tell them you forgot will be taken as a self admission that you committed the offence and will be subjected to the same rule.....although I am hoping they will give chance.....will update once got news nope... they wont give chance..... cos i self admit also kena fault n fined $500.... e irony is, watever details they wrote on the offence letter, is all e details i provided them.... sianz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ooniik Neutral Newbie October 19, 2010 Share October 19, 2010 Hi anyone knows if can buy e license for 5 working days continuous for 1 whole month....20days *$20= $400? Need another car and will be using my sis's car for a whole month... Kindly advise. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doraemarc Clutched October 20, 2010 Share October 20, 2010 Hi anyone knows if can buy e license for 5 working days continuous for 1 whole month....20days *$20= $400? Need another car and will be using my sis's car for a whole month... Kindly advise. Thanks. y cannot?? government more than happy to earn ur money.... go online purchase can buy 5 at a go... axs only 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ooniik Neutral Newbie October 20, 2010 Share October 20, 2010 Haha... anything that involves money sure can.... Thanks bro.... Will check it out... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...