Silvermini Neutral Newbie June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 (edited) sometimes is the brand tat matters. for me i driving a humble little kelisa. but i use shell ultra leh. i use c-----e before but feel rough after 4000km++. or maybe the brand SHELL make me "feel" smoother and better. haha. its all about brand. don tell me u driving a ferrari it doesnt break down? Edited June 15, 2010 by Silvermini ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 if i come across lets say C@rlube at JB Giant and its cheaper, then i buy a few bottles back lah you can longpang me... but like wat others mention Malaysia more mineral oil users so fully syn not exactly cheap there... and imported stuff in MY is not cheap... if cheap than fishy liao... but will keep an eye out for good buys... No need la. Paiseh.... Thanks for the offer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 Am using C@rlube for the first time and surprisingly, it gave me better FC than M1. 40km extra, unbelievable! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 ok i just changed to redline. engine is quieter but otherwise same as my previous mobil1 gold Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 PTFE? Thats a big no no! Talking about additives, only certain additives are known to work and is really beneficial to engine. Eg. ZDDP and MoS2 additives. They have been around for decades and is known to work. Thats why I trust STP oil treatment. Its basically ZDDP + viscosity indexers to make oil thicker. Lquimoly MoS2 is also good stuff but prices are crazy here in SG. As for the rest of the additives like Prolong, Slick50 etc..... can forget about them..... ============= I learnt about PTFE the hard way long ago. Now I basically stay away from all additives except only 1. Redex fuel additive. Ive been using that for >30 years & had no bad effects at all. But I only use it once in awhile. Usually when I go on long hard drives up north or when I feel I need to clean up the fuel system & engine a bit. It is a good upper cylinder lubricant & also protects the valves when engine is pushed hard. But I prefer to use it just b4 I change my engine oil cos I feel if it gets past the rings & into the EO, it might dilute or affect the EO a little. So I use it & clear 1 tank of petrol then change EO just to b safe. So far this is the only additive I am comfortable with. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 Not true leh uncle...... it not only sounds quieter (which is a good to have thing)...... but it reduces my oil consumption leh........ ============= That is exactly the same result u wil get when using a thicker oil. So as I said, most additives wil thicken the oil to achieve the above results. Like that u might as well use a thicker oil in the 1st place. BTW yours is a turbo, right? Then u already need a thicker (50 weight) oil. If u really want to reduce your oil consumption, dont whack so much lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 where is lubezone? hehe, interested to get the engine oil 0w-50 schaeffer by the way, semi syn good enough for turbo car? ============= If your car has a turbo, u wud b better off with a good quality fully synthetic oil. 50 weight at least. Synthetic can take the high heat of the turbo so the bearing dont get fried. Synthetic oil started selling in SG about the same time that turbo engines were sold here. I think the main reason was that many engines were screwed when using mineral as the oil solidified & turned to sludge in the turbo bearing. Some installed turbo timers with some success but a good quality synthetic was the best soloution as it cud take the high heat of the turbo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 I mean Singapore, not jaybee. =============== Oh yes. CLTR I mostly get from Carrefour & Giant in SG. But only while its on offer. I was considering the 30 weight CLTR fully syn as my engine does not lose oil with the 40 weight. Backside itchy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 if i come across lets say C@rlube at JB Giant and its cheaper, then i buy a few bottles back lah you can longpang me... but like wat others mention Malaysia more mineral oil users so fully syn not exactly cheap there... and imported stuff in MY is not cheap... if cheap than fishy liao... but will keep an eye out for good buys... ============ Ya one thing I worried about buying things like engine oil in JB is imitation. Even at places like Carrefour & Giant its possible. Imitation & low quality stuff is very common there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 Am using C@rlube for the first time and surprisingly, it gave me better FC than M1. 40km extra, unbelievable! ============== U used the same viscosity for Mibil 1 & CLTR fully syn? Better FC is good for savings but not necessarily shows the oil is better. Only that it is smoother or thinner so less resistance. I used CLTR for several years already & have no problems with it at all but its a cheap & good oil. Value for money. Mobil 1 is a very good oil but quite ex only. If I can get Mobil 1 at the same price as CLTR, I wil use Mobil 1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiming 1st Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 Well, if you are comparing the FC between fresh oil (CL) and used oil (M1), I think it is obvious the fresh oil will give better results :) I believe CL is decent and it is cheap due to lack of advertising. I remember when Liqui-Moly was around SGD50 for 5L couple of yrs back. Now I think it is >SGD70? However, the only way to truly determine whether the oil is good or not is through a UOA, not butt dyno :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 =============== Oh yes. CLTR I mostly get from Carrefour & Giant in SG. But only while its on offer. I was considering the 30 weight CLTR fully syn as my engine does not lose oil with the 40 weight. Backside itchy. Actually, I seldom see the 30 weight CL oil on offer as compared to the more frequent 40 weight oil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ky13 Clutched June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 Actually, I seldom see the 30 weight CL oil on offer as compared to the more frequent 40 weight oil. The funny thing is the price of CL semi-syn is more expensive than fully syn. really fishy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 (edited) Actually, I seldom see the 30 weight CL oil on offer as compared to the more frequent 40 weight oil. ============= True. I did see it on offer abt a year back but never bought cos I got the 40weight. Lets see if I have more luck b4 my next oil change. I think I did see the 30 weight on offer a couple of months back but at NTUC Xtra. I sud have bought it that time. Price was quite reasonable. Only a bit more than the 40 weight. Selling in the 1 qt bottles not the 5 Qt bottle. Last time I happened to b at the Giant at Turf City & saw the CLTR oils on offer although they never advertised in the papers. Sometimes u just try your luck & might find it on offer although they didnt advertise. I seldom pass the Turf City nowadays. Maybe I sud just make it a point of going there more often to check it out. Edited June 15, 2010 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 The funny thing is the price of CL semi-syn is more expensive than fully syn. really fishy ============ Strange Maybe was different viscosity or the semi-syn was on offer? Anyway I always go for the fully syn as its not ex but only while on offer. Normal price I wont buy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 Maybe the fully syn is not really "fully syn". I see the price between different bottles also mind-boggling. Price changes quite often, bounce between regular price and then sale price at almost 50% different. That's one reason why I have no confidence to buy CLTR. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 Maybe the fully syn is not really "fully syn". I see the price between different bottles also mind-boggling. Price changes quite often, bounce between regular price and then sale price at almost 50% different. That's one reason why I have no confidence to buy CLTR. =============== No lah. Sometimes cud b the supermarket buy different products at different times so get different quotes for their products which cud explain the strange pricing. I just look at the prices for their fully syn 40 weight oil & if its abt $29/5 lit, then can buy lah. Now I also considering their 30 weight fully syn oil. If price is , then I wil try. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear June 15, 2010 Author Share June 15, 2010 your parents are too. i have seen enuf or your low I.Q replies... i have replied you enuf you retarded idiot... stop wasting time, put the time and place... unless you wear skirt... bo lam par... theni think you should put you head in the toilet bowl full of s--t and flush... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...