Cleanest towns in Singapore

Bystander50

FOUR towns in Singapore have been identified as the "cleanest" towns.

They are Ang Mo Kio-Yio Chu Kang, Bishan-Toa Payoh, Marine Parade and Tanjong Pagar.

This was revealed in the first Town Council Management Report (TCMR) released by the Ministry of National Development (MND).

All 16 towns in Singapore had less than four encounters of litter per block, observed by the inspectors who made their rounds during October last year to March this year.

According to the report from MND, the rate of lift breakdowns were low, with an average of less than one per 10 lift breaking down each month in most towns.

Potong Pasir town, a single-member constituency (SMC), ranked the poorest in terms of maintenance and had the highest failure rate in lift automatic rescue device per month, compared to other constituencies.

Another SMC, Hougang town and Potong Pasir had more than six per cent of total households owing management fees for more than three months.

Both towns had more than 60 per cent of service and conservancy charges (S&CC) amount overdue.

The report is compiled from inspectors who surveyed 16 town councils which manage about 900,000 HDB flats.

It covered four main areas: cleanliness, maintenance, lift performance and service and conservancy charges.

Source : http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNew...610-221362.html

Looks very political motivated - the four best town councils comes under MM, SM, PM and DPM.

And the 2 opposition TCs comes under the worst performers which I feel is a good thing for the 2 opposition MPs.

Now, they just need to buck up slightly harder and can climb up the ranking, while the 4 best performers will have a hard time trying to keep their position.

Just like someone got 100 marks, he won't be able to score 101 marks, but have to try very hard to maintain at 100 marks. On the other hand, someone with poor marks will have lots of space to improve.

I live in one of the TC and my block's lift always have problems. Hmm.....mm... Plus it quite dirty, but I guess this is not one of the item in the survey/assessment.

Oh...so cleanness is one of the thing they looked at. Maybe they didn't come see my area...and the area next to mine, and the one further down the road, etc.....

Edited by Silver_blade

Looks very political motivated - the four best town councils comes under MM, SM, PM and DPM.

Agreed. Some balls carriers or rather curry makers. ;-)

some flats in ang mo kio the void deck always dirty, because people feed the straying cats there. is this kindess ?

Erection round the corner.

Firstly, getting ready all the schools premises.

Then newspapers forum complaining about PP.

Now, saying PP & HG very dirty.

Dunno what is next.

I used to stay in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC and to be honest, the place is really clean and neat as compare to where I am staying now Jalan Besar GRC. Even my slibing who stay in Pasir Ris also comment that the surrounding area is clean.

Agreed with bystander50....

I stay in one of the 4 town council, not very clean leh... I always seen litters all around and can leave there whole day nobody clean up, after fumigation all the cockroaches i think 10000 of them all over the rubbish area and the walkway... super disgusting but nobody clean up till 24 hrs later...gross....

not so clean...

actually feel that tampines area quite clean...y not voted??

Bullsh**ting all the way...asks them come to my area - Serangoon North ...

Dirty as alway...Recycle Bins always over flow with ruubbish...

Floor sweep once a month....

Car park not clean...knn.... [rifle]

some flats in ang mo kio the void deck always dirty, because people feed the straying cats there. is this kindess ?

I thought Ang Mo Kio is the dirtiest estate in Singapore...??

This is political crap....

you pay what.. you get what is always i believe

from what i understand.. those misc. fees in that 2 town is the lowest... and never being rising esp in PP. so how can you compare?

If give me.. i rather every month lowest .. dirty abit ... lift spoil once in awhile nvm.. rather than every month pay alot.. still quite dirty...

besides.. who are taking this survey? .. how are they paid?

it depends on how they define "litter" and "lift breakdown"

it can be tweak to get the results they want

PP got no funds to upgrade the lifts of course always breakdown. Haizzz what is all these bull trying to kid... [thumbsdown]