Oil filter logic...

Ken4555

hey all...

most oil changes are done at 10k... so its correct to say an oil filter will last at least 10k...

so for someone like me who likes to change at 5k (fully syn oil)... i can still leave the filter alone and change every other oil change right?...

comments pls thanks...

Not recommended. You should change oil filter every time you change oil. Else the dirty oil from the filter will mixed with the new oil.

On 6/10/2010 at 7:15 AM, Ken4555 said:

hey all...

most oil changes are done at 10k... so its correct to say an oil filter will last at least 10k...

so for someone like me who likes to change at 5k (fully syn oil)... i can still leave the filter alone and change every other oil change right?...

comments pls thanks...

As what one bro said, it is not advisable to do so.

Anyway, oil filters are cheap. Cheaper than the engine oil we buy and servicing we pay to the workshop. Just change together with the oil on every servicing.

the thing is oil filter damn troublesome to take out myself... ^_^

anyways i was at carrefour tis morning saw a made in Singapore oil 5liters 5W/40 for only $23...

also this x-gold brand started engine oils also... same bottle shaped as the earlier mention so i guess same company... though basic range is $35 i think... and then i saw Giant hving it at discount $27...

all cheaper than c-----e n Schnell.... ^_^

as usual... backside itchy now for cheap oils... keke...

On 6/10/2010 at 7:30 AM, Mini-itx said:

Not recommended. You should change oil filter every time you change oil. Else the dirty oil from the filter will mixed with the new oil.

hmmm... but oil filter cant hv more than 200ml of oil inside... dirt 20microns n above will be IN the filter... aything less then 20microns will be suspended in the oil... which, if oil is new, will be safely going through the whole engine...

and since i'm changing at only 5k for fully syn oil... should be no problem mah... cause if i didnt change and waited till 10k... same it would still have been in the engine, with the same old oil... but now i put new oil, so its new oil with 200ml of old oil....

so, logically... it will do more good then bad mah...

right?...

On 6/10/2010 at 9:12 AM, Ken4555 said:

hmmm... but oil filter cant hv more than 200ml of oil inside... dirt 20microns n above will be IN the filter... aything less then 20microns will be suspended in the oil... which, if oil is new, will be safely going through the whole engine...

and since i'm changing at only 5k for fully syn oil... should be no problem mah... cause if i didnt change and waited till 10k... same it would still have been in the engine, with the same old oil... but now i put new oil, so its new oil with 200ml of old oil....

so, logically... it will do more good then bad mah...

right?...

I think most people would advise changing oil filter every oil change..... but, if apply the theory that a little bit dirty air filter actually filter better than a brand new air filter, then there might be some advantage leaving the oil filter there and replace it when doing 10k km oil change.

Hmmm... TS is juz like my fren. Swears by 5K oil changes with more economical oils. Mine's quite different, changes only every 10k together with gear oil change too.. But in response to your oil filter logic actually kinda make some weird sense :) But if wanna leave it to every 2 oil change then have a filter change maybe can get a magnetic drain bolt? At least can sleep eaiser knowing what your filter left out the magnet managed to get... hopefully ^_^

And here's where I "learnt" to change gear oil together with engine oil. From 3:00 onwards but it's worth watching from the start cuz of the 4th person standing at the back [laugh]

IIRC, if the oil filter is removed, some oil do flow out from that area thus it would be better to change the oil filter too.

On 6/10/2010 at 3:31 PM, Melvyn said:

Hmmm... TS is juz like my fren. Swears by 5K oil changes with more economical oils. Mine's quite different, changes only every 10k together with gear oil change too.. But in response to your oil filter logic actually kinda make some weird sense :) But if wanna leave it to every 2 oil change then have a filter change maybe can get a magnetic drain bolt? At least can sleep eaiser knowing what your filter left out the magnet managed to get... hopefully ^_^

And here's where I "learnt" to change gear oil together with engine oil. From 3:00 onwards but it's worth watching from the start cuz of the 4th person standing at the back [laugh]

i saw tis clip a couple of years back... this is where i first learnt that flushing is bad for the car..

magnetic bolts usually made or alminium and will kill the thread on the oil pan after a few changes... kanna on omy previous hondas.. [bigcry] but i believe lately i saw magnetic bolts similar material to those OEM ones... also saw and wanted to try but didnt, the simota magnetic oil filter... think abt $30... but i believe, only IMHO, that an oil should run 1st for a wile maybe 10-20km... then apply the magnet theory... and the only way to do this is the mag plates to put 'on' the oil filter... but very expensive leh for the powerful magnet...

Manual gear oil recommended change 30k by manufacturer... many mech say 80k also can... i definately would rather not...

but if i use fully syn gear oil... i guess 20k or 30k... cause a fully gear oil change abt $20-$30 per liter... my car shd be 3plus liters..

if i use mineral multigrade gear oil, i guess 10k change no problem... cause its $7.50 a liter... from castrol 80W/90...

but 5k change gear oil like too early leh... 5k for engine oil is not too early i feel cause of combustion taking plc in the engine and all the high revs... gear oil properly will have great stress only on track... again, IMHO....

anyways thanjs for sharing... :D

On 6/10/2010 at 12:39 PM, Octopus said:

I think most people would advise changing oil filter every oil change..... but, if apply the theory that a little bit dirty air filter actually filter better than a brand new air filter, then there might be some advantage leaving the oil filter there and replace it when doing 10k km oil change.

i think its ok even if i change my oil every 1k and leave the oil filter there 10times...

unless oil filter is used till 20-30k then probably will get clogged...

i'm pretty sure an oil filter will last 20k with no problems but i wouldnt wanna try it on my car... [:p]

you willing to spend more money to change oil every 5k km but save on the oil filter which is much cheaper but equally important. isnt this a case of penny wise pound foolish ?

On 6/10/2010 at 4:31 PM, Vextan said:

you willing to spend more money to change oil every 5k km but save on the oil filter which is much cheaper but equally important. isnt this a case of penny wise pound foolish ?

the fully syn oil is $23 for 5liters... 5w/40... my car uses only 2.5liters w/o oil fliter...

the logic is i understand the standard is 10km... so any change earlier than 10k is better as it will mean cleaner oil... whatever in the filter is stuff that WOULD HAVE been inside ANYWAYS till 10k...

get it?

this is not penny wise pound foolish... unsuitable use of quote lah alamak...

but main reason is the oil filter is not easy to remove myself... i need a proper jack, or 2 of those manufactuer provides jack, and special oil filter tool...

even if i use K&N oil filters with smaller nut type, angle to remove it is very constrainted...

On 6/10/2010 at 4:31 PM, Vextan said:

exactly the same thing im thinking. why change oil so often when you dun dun change the filter? and imho, u are overdoing the oil changes, no need change so often... unlike bikes, car engines run at much lower rpms and have a larger oil capacity which translates to greater capacity to contain carbon/dirt.

On 6/10/2010 at 4:42 PM, Zyrofillica said:

exactly the same thing im thinking. why change oil so often when you dun dun change the filter? and imho, u are overdoing the oil changes, no need change so often... unlike bikes, car engines run at much lower rpms and have a larger oil capacity which translates to greater capacity to contain carbon/dirt.

have replied in my previous post...

i counted that my oil change now with this $23 per 5liter oil fully syn... will cost me $11.50 per oil change...

nothing beats a drive with brand new oil... so thats why...

yeah but the oil filter will keep the new oil clean mah, it traps impurities and prevent it from re-entering into the oil, so using an old oil filter may not trap the impurities well as it is clogged. in fact, i read before somewhere that the good practise is to change oil filter every 5k km, while changing the oil itself only every 10k km.

Edited by Vextan

well if u diy then thats really saving alot of money, and if you enjoy the process then good for you. pls remember though, to dispose of the oil properly with the workshops. cant imagine how u gonna crawl under the car to do your oil changes. have to use double jacks? or use the oil removal pump from the dip stick (definitely not preferred)?