Opel17 6th Gear June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 actually, u can ask the boss to send someone to pick u up from the tolls or something. Thats what I did, told him I couldnt find him at his farm.. dunno where's his shop either. Wa special pickup service !! Can try next time. Meantime, with the gps coordinates, will also try to lookup in google maps. Somehow, maybe I abit kiasu, as organizer I need to minimize the unknown issues, in case got lost from the pickup guide. Would love to drive-up with you and the others one day. Cheers to all durian lovers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 Greeting everyone, I do not have any experience planning for group drive-up, and therefore took quite a while to finalize anything. Many apologies. Change plan and like to try another durian farm "Sim Koa Yen" in Malacca. http://www.simkoayen.com.my/eng_com_background.htm Just made a call from Genting, spoken to the Mr Yap. Our intended date 18/7 not a good durian harvest, best is 27/6 or 4/7. * no minimum pax, must call in advance. * for small group, no need to pay 30% deposit, based on mutual trust. Very tempted [craze for durians] to go for 27/6, but abit too rush for everyone. So going on 4/7/2010. Therefore, I wish to finalize my plan as follows : Event : Leisure Drive-up for Durian Buffet. Date : 4/7/2010 [sun] Meeting Time : 0800 hrs Move Out : 0815 hrs Meeting point : Petronas Petrol Station @ Gelang Patah Rest Area, Malaysia. * in case, anyone not familiar or 1st-time into Malaysia, I will meet you earlier [0715 hrs] @ Sheng Siong Jalan Bahar. Destination : Sin Koa Yen Durian Farm, Malacca, Malaysia. Est distance/time : 230km, 3 hrs. Est speed : according to post speed limits. Pricings : RM40/adult, RM20/child [<12 yrs], FOC child <5 yrs. RM5 for visitor who don't eat/buy durians. Take-away pricings : RM15~18/kg [10kg ~ 6 durians]. * do check out the above link for more information : map, landmarks, Facebook, etc.... * I do not have GPS and comms set, just rely on google map. * estimated return time @ Tuas Checkpoint ~ 1700 hrs. * hope that the above would be acceptable to those interested. Anyone keen to join ?? Nick / No. of pax / Estimated Take away Amount (in kg) 1. opel17 / 2 adult / 20kg. 2. ix0107 / 2adult / 10kg. 3. History / 2 adults / 10kg. (Might not go for buffet if it does not have MSW. Rather spend the RM40 for 2.2KG of MSW) Cheers !! OPEL This drive-up to Sin Koa Yen Durian Farm is a confirmed trip. * anyone else still interested ? I will make to confirmation [pax, take-away] to the Mr Yap on 30/6/2010, so that he can make ample preparation for us. All trip details, online briefing, pre-check, etc... is being arranged by 30/6/2010, and would be PM to those who are going. Let hope it would turn up well. Cheers !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 Wa special pickup service !! Can try next time. Meantime, with the gps coordinates, will also try to lookup in google maps. Somehow, maybe I abit kiasu, as organizer I need to minimize the unknown issues, in case got lost from the pickup guide. Would love to drive-up with you and the others one day. Cheers to all durian lovers hahaha my car still got the special perfume.. durian smell Indeed, as organiser u will have the responsiblity to ensure everyone gets there and back as well as knowing the way. Thats why I would do a recce in advance to the trip normally. Unless Im going with my friends, then we can all holland together Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ticklish8 3rd Gear June 26, 2010 Share June 26, 2010 Share with u guys where usually I bought my "KAMPONG" durian.....From the picture u can have a look at the size. Went there almost all Msian cars, I think me an another Sporean only there. This morning bought RM40 ($17) worth of durian. 3 for RM10.... Bought RM20 get 7. So bought RM got 14. heheheheheh. Just finish eating the durian with families, friends and neighbour.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wizzercool 1st Gear June 27, 2010 Share June 27, 2010 Share with u guys where usually I bought my "KAMPONG" durian.....From the picture u can have a look at the size. Went there almost all Msian cars, I think me an another Sporean only there. This morning bought RM40 ($17) worth of durian. 3 for RM10.... Bought RM20 get 7. So bought RM got 14. heheheheheh. Just finish eating the durian with families, friends and neighbour.... Post the location or GPS cordinates-lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear June 27, 2010 Share June 27, 2010 durians!!!!!!!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jefkstan Neutral Newbie June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 (edited) Hi all, just to share my experience. Last saturday, me and friends drove up north over the weekends, went to Kg Teratai durian farm before heading to Malacca for a night. #1. They charged us RM25 per head to eat as much as you can, MSW are served towards the end. #2. If you plan to drive to Kg Teratai just to eat durian and come back within a day, its too far IMO. #3. Its in the middle of nowhere, hosted in a makeshift area with tables/chairs... so make sure you have GPS... #4. Toilet is old kampong days type.... leave it to your imagination if you do not grow up in kampong...(wives will $%@#@$#@$#) #5. They are not stingy with their durians, but for MSW, you need to keep pushing for it. #6. Last but not least, our group of 9 adults & 5 kids went with full of excitement and anticipations, BUT the %^#$%#$%#$%#@#!@#! Cloud/Swarm of flies ruined it totally. Yes, the same type of 'HOR SIN' we have here. They are everywhere, in hundreds, if not thousands!!! The moment a durian is opened, they swarm on your hands, your face, your prized durian and the shells!! Even when my girls were eating, I saw flies landed on the other side of her seed... and I had to stop her... They even enter my car the moment the doors are opened ... It was a huge turn off!! My city-girl wife surrendered after 1-2 seeds... same goes to the kids... and some adults.. the remaining had to resort to eating in front of the blowing industrial fans (blow away flies), and be super-swift... open > take > eat > maintain-no-stationery-seed-else-flies-land-on-it > eat Cudos to the owner for being flexible and charge us lesser, but if they cannot manage this problem, I will never go back there again. Not trying to make them lose business, but I rather eat along road side and pay a premium than having endless supply of MSW with flies .... Is this a common problem for all farms? My 2 cents. Edited June 28, 2010 by Jefkstan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 For Pagoh farm, no such problem with flies.. but we do not have MSW @ the price of 25RM. But we are slightly nearer to Singapore than segamat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
History Neutral Newbie June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 Will Mosquito Coil be useful against Housefiles? Opel maybe we should bring some along. RM25 with MSW is cheap sia! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 Will Mosquito Coil be useful against Housefiles? Opel maybe we should bring some along. RM25 with MSW is cheap sia! Not sure whether the mosquite coil would be useful. You may bring along, but let seek the farm owner consent before using, as we are the guests. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 where is this place? and can we eat on the spot? thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 BUT the %^#$%#$%#$%#@#!@#! Cloud/Swarm of flies ruined it totally. Is this a common problem for all farms? During the walk-around tour of the Desaru Fruit Farm, we were shown a corner where they have the animal manure/dung to be used as natural fertilizers. Somehow, whenever there are dung, there are flies. During lunch, there are houseflies flying/landing on our table/food, but bearable only small qty %^, about 4~10 per table [inclusive in the buffet price ], not like %^#$%#$%#$%#@#!@#! Cloud/Swarm of flies as described in Kg Teratai. The houseflies at Desaru Farm are more well behaved, they give way to you. Let hope the houseflies in Malacca would be well behaved. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jefkstan Neutral Newbie June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 I highly doubt mosquito coils will work, else the owner would have deploy it. And its really really alot... A minibus arrived after us... they sat and waited at their table.. and we were grumbling why no flies at their end... but the moment their durians open, we saw them all charge towards the fans... a scene that appears only in Stephen Chow's movie. :p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 sounds exciting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 (edited) I'd love to join in, but I don't trust myself to drive long-distance after having stayed up till 4:30 (minimum if no extra time) for the Q-final on 4th July. Edited June 28, 2010 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 Cudos to the owner for being flexible and charge us lesser, but if they cannot manage this problem, I will never go back there again. Not trying to make them lose business, but I rather eat along road side and pay a premium than having endless supply of MSW with flies .... I've been there twice and all i can say is that these flies do know the good stuff too! [laugh] You are at the plantation itself, flies are expected. But they are delivered directly to u when they dropped from the trees nearby. For road side, you pay more cos they need trucks to deliver to the stalls, and taking in smoke at the same time. Lol I would say it's a good experience eating at the farm itself. The drive itself to there isn't that far also. About 1 hr plus...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ticklish8 3rd Gear June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 (edited) Kip Mart Tampoi: I copy the direction to Tesco Bukit Indah.... After exiting the CIQ, go the usual route where you will see the Shell station on the left, do not exit but go straight and up on the ramp where you will see the sign "Skudai". Just proceed straight ahead without turning anywhere until the end (<5 mins) where dead ahead you will have to turn right (the sign will show "danga bay"), Proceed straight from there, will bypass the usual Angsana Shopping Centre on the right, still go straight. Look out for the sign placed along the road that says "Sutera Mall".It will be another 10mins drive. Keep left when the sign shows the arrow pointing to the left, and another 500m or so, turn left into Sutera Mall FOR KIP MART TAMPOI - U dont have go to until Sutera Mall. It is after Angsana shopping centre, then u pass Giant Tampoi (both will be on your right), Then u reach the Perling intersection..... Right AFTER the intersection, keep LEFT, the first petrol station will be ESSO. Kip Mart is behind the ESSO Station. Yeah u can eat there.....They open @10am until 8pm. Edited June 28, 2010 by Ticklish8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 (edited) Hi all, I just came back from a rainforest experience. I was there on a voluntary work and had great fun. Anyway I am so keen on the durian farm but I am fully booked for whole of July so if you all are going in August, jio me ok? For those who are going to plantation might have flies and mosquitoes problem... so buy insect repellent, OFF or 3M, spray on your body and clothes, yes it can be stinky but it does repel flying creatures and not mosquito patch cos those patch ward mosquitoes but not other flying insects, bring dettol wipes to clean your hands after you apply repellent to clean hands before you eat, bring a big bottle of water to wash your hands as well :) Mosquito coil can help as well. To the brother who has the bad experience with the flies, sorry to hear of your experience, i know exactly how it feels, cos I ever went on one of those trip when i was still a kid, my whole family collectively, 8 of us: 2 adult, 3 kids and 3 old folks I think we eat in total less than 50 seeds of durian on those all you can eat trip, that works out to be less than 7 seeds per person cos those flying creatures is a nightmare... very depressing... I remember that trip very well cos we took a tour bus instead of driving and almost 20 years ago we didn't have that much variety of 7 seaters hahaha so our car couldn't fit so many.. we took a bus and went to the plantation then when we were there we were "attacked" by flies, I was only 8 hahahaa and my mum threw up after she pop one seed in her mouth due to motion sickness from the bus hahaha, thats how i remember that trip so well.... after that I think my family stick to Desaru fruit farm but now we all all grown up seldom go for this kind of makan trip... but its very fun... so do go... Anyway have a good trip and eat more durian, so sad I can't join you all but jio me if you guys are intending to go, if not so far better still :) :) Edited June 28, 2010 by Meganut ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...