M'sia Kopi $$ Tip

Osiris

How to steer clear of 'kopi money' trap

I REFER to last Tuesday's report, ''Kopi money' risk', and wish to share more than 10 years of experience driving my Malaysian wife to her hometown.

We travel on the North-South Highway via the Second Link two weekends a month. My experience is that 90 per cent of speed traps are not official operations - that is, no speeding tickets can be issued. They are typically informal set-ups focusing on stopping cars with Singapore licence plates.

Drivers from Singapore have encouraged a burgeoning cottage industry by fishing out Malaysian currency every time they are stopped. Instead of scrapping plans to drive to Malaysia, we should abandon the temptation to bribe the police.

Try this the next time you are stopped at a road block for speeding, illegal U-turns or whatever supposed reason:

Officers on a genuine police operation issue tickets immediately. Call the bluff of those who linger and hint that you might want to 'settle on the spot' - for example, RM100 (S$43) instead of RM300 - or save yourself the trouble of paying the fine at some distant location. Ask for the ticket immediately.

I no longer bother to argue that I was not speeding. Owing to the frequency of my visits to Malaysia, I regularly get stopped no matter what speed I might be doing. They invariably pretend to write down my details or simply wave me off.

I have even overheard some policemen say in Malay to let me go and focus on others (who might pay).

Over the years, I have not been issued tickets and have saved thousands simply by not bribing.

For those who do receive tickets, you do not need to go out of your way to pay the fines. Counters are occasionally opened at the Malaysian Customs. All existing fines, including those from automated speed cameras, can be conveniently settled there.

Naturally, those who want to give 'kopi money' at such or other operations are inviting arrest.

Albert Tay

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_536931.html

Don't feed the trolls. If enough of you stop feeding the trolls, they won't come out and "Get Some"

Whether this works or not, I don't know, I don't drive to Msia.

How to steer clear of 'kopi money' trap

I REFER to last Tuesday's report, ''Kopi money' risk', and wish to share more than 10 years of experience driving my Malaysian wife to her hometown.

We travel on the North-South Highway via the Second Link two weekends a month. My experience is that 90 per cent of speed traps are not official operations - that is, no speeding tickets can be issued. They are typically informal set-ups focusing on stopping cars with Singapore licence plates.

Drivers from Singapore have encouraged a burgeoning cottage industry by fishing out Malaysian currency every time they are stopped. Instead of scrapping plans to drive to Malaysia, we should abandon the temptation to bribe the police.

Try this the next time you are stopped at a road block for speeding, illegal U-turns or whatever supposed reason:

Officers on a genuine police operation issue tickets immediately. Call the bluff of those who linger and hint that you might want to 'settle on the spot' - for example, RM100 (S$43) instead of RM300 - or save yourself the trouble of paying the fine at some distant location. Ask for the ticket immediately.

I no longer bother to argue that I was not speeding. Owing to the frequency of my visits to Malaysia, I regularly get stopped no matter what speed I might be doing. They invariably pretend to write down my details or simply wave me off.

I have even overheard some policemen say in Malay to let me go and focus on others (who might pay).

Over the years, I have not been issued tickets and have saved thousands simply by not bribing.

For those who do receive tickets, you do not need to go out of your way to pay the fines. Counters are occasionally opened at the Malaysian Customs. All existing fines, including those from automated speed cameras, can be conveniently settled there.

Naturally, those who want to give 'kopi money' at such or other operations are inviting arrest.

Albert Tay

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_536931.html

Don't feed the trolls. If enough of you stop feeding the trolls, they won't come out and "Get Some"

Whether this works or not, I don't know, I don't drive to Msia.

Yes, pls stop bribing!

actually if dont pay summon what will happen?

nothing rite? might as well ... hahaha

i heard of cases where even after give kopi money also kena summon...

aiyo... just give them RM1.50 lor. enough to buy 1 cup of kopi, in fact they have change back - 20cents or 30cents [laugh]

actually, i dont intend to stop and let them chase me if they can. ha.....

just kidding. drive safe.

I never pay summons...why...cos never speed... Always drive within speed limits. Even road

block many times but was waved to drive on.

actually if dont pay summon what will happen?

nothing rite? might as well ... hahaha

i heard of cases where even after give kopi money also kena summon...

that i can vouch for. happened to my msian colleague driving a sg car.

I never pay summons...why...cos never speed... Always drive within speed limits. Even road

block many times but was waved to drive on.

Off topic abit, Hi pal remember me? Hows kimi doing? haha