Honda Lagging Behind in Technology?

Mini-itx

Seems that Honda is lagging behind in terms of engine technology. Latest buzz in engine is high compression direct injection (12:1) and variable valve lift. But Honda don't seems to be having any of these technology for its engines, not even high end ones. The FD2R still using the K20A engine which is like dunno how many years old with no VVL and no direct injection.

They are focusing on hydrid, electric and fuel-cell.

Doing something that is sustainable for the environment in the long run.

Why replace what you have when it is still a marketing asset and actually performs better or on par with all the new technology?

Have you seen rolex update their movements on a regular basis?

Why replace what you have when it is still a marketing asset and actually performs better or on par with all the new technology?

Good one !!

FYI Rolex best Chronograph movement Daytona is also manufacture by Zenith movement [smash]

Ya lor, why rabbit need to train to run faster as it's always run faster than the turtle?

now, that's what we called "stay hungry stay foolish".

if H believed that their technology can last, then i think there is a major problem.

self-improvement is the main factor we are talking about.

see what the Koreans had done.

They are focusing on hydrid, electric and fuel-cell.

Doing something that is sustainable for the environment in the long run.

you are correct.

they had changed their focus to GoGreen. :-)

Seems that Honda is lagging behind in terms of engine technology. Latest buzz in engine is high compression direct injection (12:1) and variable valve lift. But Honda don't seems to be having any of these technology for its engines, not even high end ones. The FD2R still using the K20A engine which is like dunno how many years old with no VVL and no direct injection.

high compression direct injection variable valve lift K20A no VVL and no direct injection....

So what?

Where's the picture of your car in the gallery?

You're lagging behind? [rolleyes]

lagging??

aeroplane oso have liao leh... [laugh]

http://hondajet.honda.com/

sometimes it is more of whether the market can absorb all the new technologies anot... (meaning pay for it)

but one thing for sure, Japan becos of its enclosed culture.... they had been very successful in protecting their own Intellectual Property... when launched.. can really stunned people by their inventions... :wub:

It's clever of them to get out of the rat race of F1 that really didn't do more good to the environment.

The price of crude is going to make it to a point that it's not economical to drive a purely fossil fuel powered car.

Technology advancement is towards the greener path. The only stumbling block is the world is not fully plug-in yet, infrastructure is expensive and few.

Or even better, ready for fuel cell car that emits only H2O.

There will also be a very big power shift on a global scale if reliance on fossil fuel is being reduced.

Many countries are also not ready for it yet.

But when the time arrived, the manufacturers that are not able to cater to the newer mode of transportation powered be renewable energy sources will be out of business.

Edited by Atonchia

... when launched.. can really stunned people by their inventions... :wub:

Until I see an Insight Type-R with integrated turbo assist... I won't be stunned.

I don't see any problems with the K20A engine. Still one of the best 2L NA around. i-VTEC, meaning VTC with wild cam VTEC, is still a lethal combo that breaks 100 bhp/L.

Anyway, FD2R has stopped production. So we'll see what they come up with next for their Type R's.

Edited by Vblaster_w211

I don't see any problems with the K20A engine. Still one of the best 2L NA around. i-VTEC, meaning VTC with wild cam VTEC, is still a lethal combo that breaks 100 bhp/L.

Anyway, FD2R has stopped production. So we'll see what they come up with next for their Type R's.

Insight type-r.. with integrated turbo assist. [thumbsup]

Hydrogen, petrol and electric powered [scholar]

Marketing can only bring u that far....

high compression direct injection variable valve lift K20A no VVL and no direct injection....

So what?

You're lagging behind? [rolleyes]

So what?

You're lagging behind?